Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and cheap (and notin a good way)

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
IF you went to a traditional pubhlic school or served in the Royal Marines this hotel is 'adequate'. If not then it makes travelodges seem like the Ritz.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OK

Nice hotel for a quick, mid-week stay

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, breakfast, friendly staff.
Location: Most places within walking distance shut down around midnight, but there is a Chicken Cottage not too far that is open until 2am.
I arrived late at night on a Wednesday, just before the bar/reception closed, and I got my room without any issues. The room was small, but it didn't bother me, the inn has character. I was on the ground level and the wireless internet worked well. Breakfast was good. One thing to keep in mind is that had I arrived after midnight, I'm not sure whether I would have been able to get in, but there may be a phone number somewhere on the front door.
2 out of 5
by Nicholas from Marbella

Do not recommend except location

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel very disappointing, very old, difficult to navigate stairs, heating in bathroom non existant, shower unusable due to hot cold, bed very uncomfortable. Only good thing was next to a great tapas bar !
4 out of 5
by allison from Weymouth

Welcoming and warm

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very happy with my stay. Welcoming staff, comfy, clean room, lovely breakfast. Website leads you to believe there is food other than breakfast but there isn't this was the only negative. However lots and lots of local eateries to choose from
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would use again/ husband would not

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
We were 2 nights in Oxford visiting family. The location was just over the bridge from the city center so location was good. The Inn is a very old establishment with uneven floors, our feet were higher than our heads while in bed. Our room was spacious but was directly over the Pub, so was very loud until around midnight then was quiet. The staff was very accommodating allowing for a very early check in, 9am! They were kind enough to lend us an umbrella. Internet was undependable, weak signal. Bathroom was updated.
3 out of 5
by Ameenah

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
"Quaint" at best - small room with creaky floors. Extremely low ceilings without warning signs - my six-foot husband bumped his head on door frames in hallways. Free parking. Easy walking distance to St. Hilda's and main streets with numerous restaurants and shopping.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst stay in the UK

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
This was the worst stay in the UK. Terrible atmosphere. Run by rude loud mafioso style owners. The ceiling is about 6ft high. No lights, the ones they had weren't working. It really didn't feel clean at all. If you're not afraid of rats the extremely loud pub will ruin your sleep anyway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Small homey hotel could do with fire alarm repair

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Location: Easy walking to everywhere. Excellent express buses to Heathrow, Gatwick, London leave from stop 100 yards from hotel. Oxford small, easily navigate
Arrived 11 am very sleep deprived from prior activities. Was able to leave my bags, then check in promptly at 2 pm and nap easily. Owner Pete was very nice. Room was adequate. Floor had irregular surface occasional depressions under the carpet. No light at desk. Seemed clean. I would stay here again if they improved/replaced the fire alarm system. Awakened at 12:15 AM by fire alarm, had to evacuate building for 20 min. Seemed as if no hotel staff actually slept on premises-had to wait for someone to drive from another part of town to shut off the false alarm. I was told the alarm had gone off once or twice earlier in day. About 1 am, at a time when I was deeply asleep again, alarm went off briefly 2 more times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
No hot water. No wifion top floor.