Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Friendly staff, but basic accommodation

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Decor could be updated.
Location: Pubs, curry houses etc.
Centrally placed, this is an old pub in the town, with basic accommodation as you would expect. The staff were friendly and it was an experience, a change from the standard business hotel. Give it a shot if you want something that is authentic but not new
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and cheap (and notin a good way)

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
IF you went to a traditional pubhlic school or served in the Royal Marines this hotel is 'adequate'. If not then it makes travelodges seem like the Ritz.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

God beliggenhed

Posted May 13, 2016
Location: Ligger godt for Oxford og omegn
Et noget slidt hotel,men god beliggenhed og parkering i gården.Liv og glade dage i pubben i underetagen ,men ikke larm på værelset.Man kunne vælge mellem full english breakfast :bønner,pølse,tomat,baconin. æg,toast,eller vegetar:scrambled eggs på toast(ingen bønner ell tomat)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OK

Nice hotel for a quick, mid-week stay

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, breakfast, friendly staff.
Location: Most places within walking distance shut down around midnight, but there is a Chicken Cottage not too far that is open until 2am.
I arrived late at night on a Wednesday, just before the bar/reception closed, and I got my room without any issues. The room was small, but it didn't bother me, the inn has character. I was on the ground level and the wireless internet worked well. Breakfast was good. One thing to keep in mind is that had I arrived after midnight, I'm not sure whether I would have been able to get in, but there may be a phone number somewhere on the front door.
2 out of 5
by Nicholas from Marbella

Do not recommend except location

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel very disappointing, very old, difficult to navigate stairs, heating in bathroom non existant, shower unusable due to hot cold, bed very uncomfortable. Only good thing was next to a great tapas bar !
4 out of 5
by allison from Weymouth

Welcoming and warm

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very happy with my stay. Welcoming staff, comfy, clean room, lovely breakfast. Website leads you to believe there is food other than breakfast but there isn't this was the only negative. However lots and lots of local eateries to choose from
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kleines Hotel in der studentischen City von Oxford

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Ruhe und Ungestörtheit, auch tagsüber, wenn man es wollte oder brauchte. Zimmerservice konnte vereinbart werden. Gute Busanbindung (30 m).
Cons: z. B. waren keine Zimmerschilder --> Bitte nicht stören vorhanden. Die Wassersteuerung in der Dusche ist eine Wissesch. u. schwergängig.
Location: Mitten im "Student. Zentrum" von Oxford, kleine Geschäfte, auch Supermärkte, viele Restaurants in der Nähe. Zum tourist. Zentrum nur 2 Busstationen.
Das Haus ist eigentlich ein Pub, einige Zimmer liegen darüber, und auch noch in Nebengebäuden. Ich hatte ein Einbettzimmer. Alles sehr englisch, klein, eng, verwinkelt, schief - aber mit dicken Teppichen ausgelegt. Und leidlich sauber. Das Zimmer mit einem Einbauschrank, einem Einbautisch, einem Stuhl - und eben dem Bett war sehr klein. Das danebenliegende Bad ebenso. Aber für eine Person noch ausreichend. Die Heizung im Raum ließ sich nicht regulieren - außer über das ständige Öffnen des Fensters. Ebenso im Bad, wo es aber nur einen elektrischen Handtuchheizer gab. TV-Gerät an der Wand, mit Schüssel-Anschluss und hunderten Sendern. Die Frühstückszeiten (07:30 Uhr bis 08:30 Uhr...!) ließen sich auf Bitte problemlos nach hinten verschieben (09:00 Uhr), ebenso die Zeiten des Zimmer-Service. Vor Mitternacht war manchmal schon Musik aus dem drunter liegenden Pub zu hören - nach Mitternacht war aber immer Ruhe! Das große Frühstück bestand aus Tee, Kaffee, 4 Sorten Müsli, Erdbeer -und Pfirsichmarmelade, Toast, Butter, dann dem englischen Frühstück (Bohnen, Tomaten, Spiegelei, Wurst, Schinkenspeck), sowie noch Eiergerichten (Rührei, pochiertes Ei). Apfel -und Organgensaft. Insgesamt gut und ausreichend. Wobei man das englische Frühstück nach 8 Tagen dann doch nicht mehr sehen kann... :-) Eine freundliche Bedienung/Servicekraft. Insgesamt alles eher familiär und klein gehalten, kein großer und anonymer Hotelbetrieb.
3 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would use again/ husband would not

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
We were 2 nights in Oxford visiting family. The location was just over the bridge from the city center so location was good. The Inn is a very old establishment with uneven floors, our feet were higher than our heads while in bed. Our room was spacious but was directly over the Pub, so was very loud until around midnight then was quiet. The staff was very accommodating allowing for a very early check in, 9am! They were kind enough to lend us an umbrella. Internet was undependable, weak signal. Bathroom was updated.