Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ausstattung vollkommen okay/ Infrastructure okay

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: - Freundliches Personal (friendly staff) - Ausgestattet wie Hotel Zimmer (Equipped like hotel room - TV, bathroom, Tea/Coffee Maker)
Location: - Oxford City Center ca. 1km/ 15min zu Fuss (15min to walk) - Duke of Monmouth ca. 50m/ 1min zu Fuss (1min to walk) - Great Food
Gebucht für eine Nacht in der Woche für 2 Personen. Kosten 80 Pfund. Lage: Direkt an der Strasse Abingdon Road, die direkt in das Stadtzentrum führt. Unser Zimmer war auch zur Strasse raus, allerdings überraschenderweise sehr ruhig. Ausstattung: Zimmer Nr. 2, Doppelbett, mit TV, mit Wasserkocher, Tee und Kaffee (plus Milch und Zucker), eigenes Bad mit Toilette, Waschbecken und Dusche, Handtücher, frei Parken, WLAN, ohne Frühstück gebucht. Positiv: Die Matratze war sehr gemütlich, es gab genug Kissen, es gab Handtücher, Das Bett wirkte sauber und wir wurden freundlich empfangen. Der Kontakt via Email um Fragen zu klären war sehr unkompliziert und Kundenfreundlich. Negativ: Im Bad waren schon einige Schimmelflecken in den Fugen an der Toilette, dem Waschbecken und der Dusche. Für diejenigen, die es sehr genau haben wollen: Die Gardinen und auch die Handtücher wirkten was älter, genau wie die Wände und die Ausstattung. Allerdings wirkte es nicht dreckig.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Andrews, NC

You get what you pay for or do you?

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Our biggest grief was the en suite. The sink wouldn't drain & when we reported it nothing was done. The toilet took 3 flushes and we still have paper debris floating. Oh, and the mold in the corners. The towels were clean but rough as canvas and ripped. What I find curious is that the concept of a "face cloth" doesn't exist. The breakfast was traditional but it was nuked so not very tasty. The proprietor was very friendly and personable but unable to fix the issues with the en suite. I have to say the picture of our room was accurate, no Photoshop there. I can't say I would recommend this establishment to a friend.
3 out of 5
by Pirjo from Vantaa

Lähellä keskustaa, hyvät kulkuyhteydet

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Ihan kiva B&B, sopii hyvin perusmajoitukseen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Cons: The mattress.
George, the staff member, was very efficient and helpful. Our only disappointment was the bed, not at all comfortable. Location good, a fair walk into town. Breakfast and service was really good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: the helpfulness of the individual who showed up on the bicycle.
The person who rode up on the bicycle to help me check in early could not find my reservation nor could the person he called on the phone. They were able to get me a room in another B&B down the street. This B&B only had 8 parking spots for 14+ rooms and offered no options for parking. Parking was not available on the street any where close to the B&B.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Stay away - not a hotel!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Not clean! Shower doesn't work properly, one old grey towel per person that is bent in a swan shape can be found on top of the bed. The restroom that will make you cringe is on a different floor. The house smells like mildew. The on-line pictures are very deceiving. We ran for the heels after the first night there. © 2016 Microsoft Terms Privacy & cookies Developers English (United States)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Okay hotel, only just clean, adequate breakfast and okay facilities. Not sure would stay again
2 out of 5
by Philip from Kent

Don't go for the cooked breakfast!

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Nice owner. Room ok. Breakfast was absolutely awful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice enough B&B for a short stay

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: location, parking
Location: easy walking distance (15 minutes) to the city centre and everything Oxford has to offer.
We only stayed one night in Oxford and needed somewhere reasonably priced, and within walking distance to the city centre that also had parking. This place fit the bill. Overall the room was clean but not spotless. The space was a little tight, but typical of a English bedroom size. We had a small ensuite that we were very happy with and enjoyed that privacy. Our room was on the front of the house and it is on quite a busy road so we did have to close our windows at night as it was too loud to sleep. We had a nice breakfast in the morning, and the host was usually around to answer any questions we had. We arrived early and were allowed to leave our luggage in the house and use the bathroom before checking in.
1 out of 5
by Sally L from London

Avoid The Ridings

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is not worthy of the name "hotel". The description and pictures are very misleading. The room I was shown to had a very bad smell; it was dirty - stains on the cushions and chairs; the rugs looked like they hadn't been washed in years. Worst of all, the bed linen did not smell fresh. It was so disgusting that I did not stay there (despite having paid for it in advance). Admittedly, it is a cheap deal, but they are charging the same price as a proper hotel nearby (closer to the city centre) which is clean, fresh and modern. Do not book The Ridings unless it is your last hope.