Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business turns into pleasue.

Posted Dec 9, 2012
Beautiful location. Ideal location - 10 mins from centre of Oxford. Service fantastic. Food great. Will definitely be returning in 2013 with Rochdale Hornets RLFC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay near Oxford.

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Super. we chose wisely. Close to oxford. Good food. Good coffee. Nice proprietors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from UK

Fantastic pub. restuarant, B&B at a great rate

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: Staff and buildings
Cons: Nothing, it was all good
Location: Village location in the countryside but only a few minutes away from Oxford.
Highly recommended if are having a weekend break in the Oxford viscinity or need somewhere really nice to stay during the week. Our room was lovely, the dinner we had in the restuarant was excellent and all the staff really friendly, chatty and helpful. It is within easy driving distance of the city centre and even closer is one of the park and rides where you can leave the car all day for the price of a £2.50 per person return trip into Oxford on the bus. We would stay again and be very confident in recommending it to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Suffolk, UK

Inn to talk about

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Pros: The ability to sit outside your room and have a drink on a sunny day.
Cons: Bathroom needs a bit of tlc
Location: Ideal for visiting Oxford and Blenheim Palac, they are quite close by.
A superb country inn. Oak beams, thatch roof, oldy worldy and full of character pub. A breakfast to die for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dank and poor quality

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Dank and poorly upkept bathroom with low quality housing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Loughborough, Leicestershire, UK

Good and Bad

Posted Apr 4, 2012
Pros: Good location, superb food, lovely surroundings in the hotel it's self
Cons: The rooms are awful
Location: Really handy for visiting Oxford, with the centre only a few miles away
The hotel it's self was was excellent with a lovely olde worlde feel to the place, exposed beams everywhere, the food in the evening was absolutely superb, the staff were very friendly....the bar well stocked. Unfortunately, the room we stayed in was disappointing, it was very small and very basic and to be honest felt more like a low grade chalet, which is such a shame as it soured the whole experience. Upgrade the accommodation and you would be on to a winner, but as it is, very middle of the road and you could find much better for your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by rob from St Albans Herts

Oxford visit

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Beautiful building and VERY cosy room
Location: Great location for visiting Oxford
Beautiful hotel,beautiful village great great place to be in only wished we stayed for longer !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire, UK

A wonderful overnight stay in the country.

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: The location, the friendly staff and the delicious food.
Cons: The service took a long time however this was due to staff illness and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.
Location: Stunning location, just a short drive from Oxford centre.
A lovely overnight stay. Staffing was limited due to sickness but the few staff that were on made every attempt to make us feel welcome and at home. The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom could maybe do with updating but it certainly wasn't bad. The area was beautiful and only a short drive to central Oxford. The food was absolutely delicious. I would definitely recommend the hotel- in fact we'd text our families to recommend it to them within an hour or so of checking in ourselves!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from München, Bayern

Stilvoll mit viel Flair!

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Sehr schönes, gepflegtes Hotel und Restaurant mit viel Flair. Gut zu finden und großer Parkplatz gegenüber. Die Angestellten waren sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Einziger Nachteil war, dass das Zimmer sehr hellhörig war und wir oft die Badlüftung des Nachbarzimmers hörten. Viel Platz war nicht im Zimmer und ein helleres Licht wäre schön gewesen. Das Bad war sehr geräumig und auch hier war alles sehr liebevoll hergerichtet. Der Restaurantbereich ist sehr schön dekoriert, das Essen war sehr gut und auch mit dem Frühstück waren wir sehr zufrieden!