Ratings based on 1,284 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Was a very nice hotel very clean and safe I would return again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la crescenta, ca

Great location, nice rooms, fun happy hour.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
We had a great time, everything was perfect. It was nice having beach access and the happy hour was fun. The rooms were nice, both size and comfort. With that said, I would reccomend one change. For the price, I think that wifi should be free for all guests. Charging extra is cheesy when valet is $26 a day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Clerks

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I gave the Mandalay a second try this summer. Again, after spending a lot of money on a hotel stay the in room coffee maker didn't work and had no supplies. Calli g the front desk took until the next day to get a new coffee maker and NO SUPPLIES. Calling the front desk caused an argument when the clerk said IT HASN'T BEEN AN HOUR. I asked to speak to the general manager who, of course, was never in. Whn I left a message of doets any proper minded manager would have sought ne out. I think they have a dummy answering machine they refer all complaints to. Because no one cars about anything but reminding you to tip. I tipprd big and was didappointed big
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great famliy hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Spectacular view of ocean. Room decor is very dated but spacious.
Cons: Room decor
Location: Ocean ocean ocean.
Spectacular view of ocean. Room decor is very dated but spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive but on the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location was good, bed comfortable, grounds nice, great breakfasts
Cons: Restaurant okay- needs more options and better service. When fraudulent charges to our room reported- took too long to correct this.
Location: On the beach, with easy access. Park and Ventura Village nearby.
Pros: On the beach and can hear and see the surf; in a quiet community ( though not close to much else) ; Room size/ suites are big with 2 bathrooms; Bed very comfortable; Grounds are beautiful with several spas and a big pool and lots of water features; breakfast was very good and included an omelette station. Cons: On-site restaurant has limited menu and took too long; billed our meal to our room and got 2 more fraudulent charges billed to our room as well- reported this immediately but it took management days and numerous requests to remove those charges; Little things like having no Kleenex and only 1 soap in the bathrooms; had an ironing board and no iron- took awhile to get it delivered; Artwork stained in several rooms; parking fee (per day) higher than posted online (was only given a partial discount upon dispute of their charges)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, CA

Great location - subpar service

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Beautiful location. Large, spacious suites. Comfortable and fairly clean but some maintenance issues (no window screens/doors difficult to open, etc. The biggest issues is lack of service. We paid ~ $400 per. Night for an ocean view room. Room was poorly stocked amd front desk was difficult to reach. Hotel is also understaffed. As an example, they advertise a complimentary "made to order" breakfast. On labor day weekend, they only had one cook making omelettes for a sold out facility. There was a line 40+ people deep waiting for food (1 hour +) If a decent level of service is not important to you, the location is very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent hotel on beach.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The spacious suites and amazing landscaping. Also location on the beach.
Cons: Housekeeping definitely and cafe menu could be enlarged
Location: Good location near both Oxnard and Ventura harbors
Overall hotel was very pleasant. The buffet breakfast was nice if you got there early. Later it was rather messy and some dishes needed to be replinished. Housekeeping was very lax. Sometimes I had to request Kleenex and toilet paper because they were not replaced. Mirrors and glass doors were not cleaned and there were stains on sofa and some areas of carpet. Balcony was never cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family vac visiting daughter in Navy

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Location within 1/2 hr to hr of many places you may want to visit. Child friendly, at least 1/4 of guests were under 7yrs. Breakfast that's included is good but go early as gets mobbed after 8am. The bartenders were very friendly, a plus😊 If you get a room with a pull out couch they are Not comfortable. They did not come when we advised the tub was not draining well. Some of the food at restaurant was too salty like dry rub wings & lobster Mac. Love the patio area. Free open bar 5:30-7:30 gets crowded & they do a good pour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great multi- weekday stay with extended family! The rooms were very nice ( foldout sofa beds could use a better mattress though) and the staff was very accommodating! Breakfast was great as was happy hour!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Mandalay Bay

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view
Cons: Need more people to clean rooms and answer phone.
Room had an beautiful ocean view, But the beautiful balcony was marred by the bird poop and the constant overhead flying of the seagulls. Hotel does nothing to stop guest from feeding birds. One day one room was not cleaned until calling for housekeeping three times. Had to use my cell phone to call hotel, since calls to front desk, housekeeping, manager went unanswered. The when room was cleaned (on all 3 days) it was poorly done. This was not worth the money