Ratings based on 1,381 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Hueneme, CA

Great location, but ...

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Location, ok breakfast in the morning and a reception in the evening included.
Cons: Maintenance! Staff!
This property is in a perfect location, but instead of a resort, it’s more like a Motel. I think 3 people work in the entire hotel. Bad, uncomfortable furniture, bird poop all over the patio and the furniture. No bubbles in the jacuzzi. Broken window in the bedroom. Front desk doesn’t answer the phone. Go somewhere else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Nice hotel, but very expensive. Parking fee is separate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

GREAT VIEW

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Cons: $22.00 a day for parking was never mentioned The Grill and the Splash room
Nice hotel, staff was helpful, had a great ocean view, even though my reservation said garden view. The grill leaves a lot to be desired. OK for lunch but not a nice dinner place. Breakfast is good, the omelet chef, works hard and fast he could have used some extra hands on Christmas day. The little Splash lounge is OK for a kids hang-out, but really unsuitable for an adult cocktail hour. Overall a nice stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Hotel was great, beds were comfy and free happy hour was excellent!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Covina, California

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Awesome Embassy Suit with great rooms with free breakfast to order and free evening drinks and snacks. Right on a beautiful private beach
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Very Bad Hotel Experience

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: See above
Parking not included; self park is $22, valet is $26. I went with valet because I had some fishing equipment and luggage to drag around. I asked about a luggage cart and was told I could go to the elevators around the corner, go to the lower level and get a cart if I needed one. I figured it would be easier to just carry my bags to my room. I walked through a bar and a pool area to get to my room. The pool area had spilled beverages on the path to my room, chairs tipped over, and was in disarray. I got to the room and the key didn't work. I called the front desk and was re routed twice through the automated phone system. When the receptionist did answer, I was greeted with "please hold". I walked back to the front desk with my gear in tow, and explained to the receptionist that my key did not work She didn't seem to believe me but issued a new key and said, "if this key doesn't work, call and I will send the valet with a new one". I chuckled inside and went on my way. This key did in fact work but the room had someone else's luggage inside. I called again, was re routed three times through the phone system. The receptionist sent a valet who gave me a key and directed me to a new building. In the room, the tissues in the bathroom were damp, and the noise from outside and surrounding rooms woke me several times. Breakfast was described as cooked to order, but was a buffet. When I went to get my car the valet said, "sorry, I cant drive stick, you will have to get your car".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
EXCELLENT!!! Will definitely be returning to the Mandalay resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxnard,ca

Relaxing hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
When we got here we ordered the 2 queen bed but they gave us the king bed and if we want to change it they will charge us additional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burbank

The Best Cali Vacation Ever

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Central to everything
Cons: one thing, a trail way at least half way to the shore outside of the back gate that lead to the pool area, it would make it easier for older people.
Location: Bike riding to the other beach(silver stand) Watching all the boats come into the harbor, mexican food at Burrito Express, Sunday Farmer Market
First, the rooms are roomy, the breakfast buffet was one of the best included with our room, the pool large and water temp perfect for all bodies, Jacuzzi large enough with and extra one near Building 8, just so much to do, PLUS the ocean, which was so much fun especial at low tide, no rocky bottom, the sand so soft on the toes, heavenly. We love this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The close proximity to the beach.
Cons: Extended the breakfast buffet to at least 10:30.
Location: We did not find a variety of restaurants nearby.
Good experience with hotel staff, especially Jasmine who waited on us in the patio near the pool.