Ratings based on 1,338 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxnard, ca

Embassy suites Mandalay

Posted Nov 23, 2017
The hotel was very nice and the staff was accommodating. When I checked into the hotel my room wasn’t ready. It was late by 45 minutes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Wonderful hotel to stay at

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: the view and having 2 bathrooms!
Cons: only complaint was that we could hear the people above us too well
Location: Oxnard, California
We had a great time at this hotel. Had a beautiful view of the ocean. Room was clean enough and spacious. 2 bathrooms were a great idea on their part! Staff was friendly and accommodating. Enjoyed free, delicious breakfast every morning. Too cold to swim but pool area looked very nice. Had great massage by Alicia in Spa!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno,ca

Surprisingly disappointing

Posted Nov 13, 2017
We've stayed here before and had some great times. This trip not so much. The entire room smelled of mustiness and mold. Old, crappy furniture and carpeting. In serious need of updating. We will be very careful and think twice about ever staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Rip off

Posted Nov 12, 2017
This hotel is more like a motel. I paid extra for premium suite and it came with 2 tiny bags of chips, Kuerig coffee maker with 1 Kuerig coffee cup, refrigerator empty-no soda as advertised. I paid for 4 people in room. They only gave me breakfast tickets for 2. The sofa bed was so tiny, outdated and uncomfortable my kids couldn't sleep. No view. Check in line 30 min. long. Parking a extra 22.00 after paying 350. forroom!!? Elevator old , tacky. Hallway carpet old dirty and room moldy smelling. At breakfast there were no plates or forks, no muffins, no pancakes, oatmeal was hard as a rock. You had to wander around in circles looking for where plates might be, everything like the condiments cold cereal, milk were all in different rooms. All the tables around us had 2 peppers-no salt. Evening reception was long lines for a drink, crowded area to get only tortilla chips, carrots and celery. At restaurant we paid 17.00 for 2 tiny pieces (1"x4") of toast with chopped avocado, 19.00 for 2 small fish tacos no sides. Ordered side of waffle fries but waitress never returned so we could get ketchup and again only pepper-no salt. Waitress never came back-we finally went up to pay ourselves. Stay was on my birthday-but nothing special offered or said. Never Again!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not have room ready even after check-in time

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Cons: Cleaning rooms on time; better pool side service with food/drinks
Had to wait several hours before room was ready. Was ready after dinner around 7pm then had to check out at 10a.m.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego,CA

Fabulous hotel right on beach

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Huge rooms, very comfortable there were 5 of us and it was perfect. Beautiful view of the ocean. Pool was warm and hot tubs wonderful for the evening. We brought friends with us this trip, we have stayed at the resort before and weren’t disappointed. We will be back. Any additional items we needed were brought up to the room very quickly. We even saw dolphins on our last day close to the shore!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Definitely not a 4 star hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: Maintenance and hotel staff
Location: Everything
Needs maintenance . We had some issues for some reason nobody would answer any of the extensions
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Renovation Please

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Renovate the rooms. Get more staff that are happy to work there. Management needs to step in.
Location: Beautiful location and close to the Channel Islands ferry.
Location is great. Facilities are old and tired. Needs renovation to seem cleaner. Really noisy people upstairs. We had to call 4 times to the front desk. Left a message for the manager. No response. Pounding feet all night. Hard to sleep. Staff seemed overloaded and unable or not willing to help us, when 2 sets of keys wouldn't work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seal Beach,ca

Checkin is a nightmare

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We came about 3pm for a one night stay. They said our room was not ready and was being cleaned. Checked again at 4:15pm after the registraion time listed and it still was not ready. Checcked again at 5:30pm and the room was still not ready. Decided to go out to dinner and when we got back at 7:00pm were told that someone tried to text us but we never received any text. Positive I gave correct number multiple times. Nice hotel, not well managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Great hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable in all respects
Room was clean and spacious. Dining facility was very good. Excellent breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful.