Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DeLeon Springs FL

Absolutely love

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Absolutely love the Oyster Bay Resort. They have everything you need right there around them. Great food, great staff, clean rooms just absolutely beautiful. Met some really great people there. Made some new friends. We will definitely be back next year again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Excellent ocean front suite

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Ocean view, friendly staff, daily house cleaning service, beautiful pool, good restaurants, gated entry, free wi-fi.
Location: Beaches, diving, tri-sports has recommondations for lots of activities and great swims and bike rides, water sports, excellent restaurants and grocery
We are also owners at Oyster Bay and booked a studio through expedia for the night after our stay as owners. We were very fortunate in not having to move when our ownershop week ended. We had a wonderful ocean front suite and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oyster Bay Beach Resort. There was a lot of sea grass rolling up on Dawn Beach last week, but that's luck of the draw and the weather. Still a beautiful beach and we enjoyed a lunch and dinner at Mt. Busby's Beach Bar and Daniel's By the Sea - same place different name at night and just a short walk from the resort. There is a convenient grocery store on site and if you get there early enough in the morning, fresh chocolate and other croissants . They also have a nice work out room with a view of the marina. It's a short drive to Orient Bay with it's beautiful beaches and great restaurants. We also had a delicious buffet breakfast at Infinity, the restaurant in the main lobby of the resort. The grounds and the setting are beautiful. We are looking forward to returning in November.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Mixed Bag

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Cons: Make all of the staff understand the importance of Hospitality in the hospitality industry.
Overall the hotel was comfortable and clean. It was well located and many of the staff were friendly. We did however have a few issues. -The room had a coffee maker but the hotel had a problem making sure we had coffee to use. We ended up purchasing some from a convenience store that was close by, at a premium price. - Several of the staff needed to check their attitudes. A surly bartender where the 15% service charge is always included on your bill regardless of the quality of service is a definite problem. The French side of the island was very different in that respect. All in all we were happy with our holiday in Sint Maarten and would recommend others to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Average hotel but a little pricey for condition

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location if using Voyager Ferry at Capt Olivers.
Cons: Too pricey for quick overnight - next time will stay closer to Capt Olivers and Voyager Ferry for less.
Location: Beach was covered in sea weed. Hotel stated the entire island had this problem which was not true. Simpson Bay, Grand Case, Friars Bay all fine.
Only stayed for one overnight enroute to St Barts next morning. Great location to catch Voyager Ferry - only $10 cab ride in the morning. Hotel did not inform us they coordinate transportation to Ferry departing at 815 am. Front desk called for a cab at 830 which was plenty of time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay!!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The hotel was great!! We checked into a room that had an awesome view! The staff was amazing and my time spent there was priceless. I will go back real soon!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sea weed on dawn beach terrible

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Isolated hotel. Dangerous driving with road conditioning and aggressive drivers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on a wonderful part of the beach!

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of good eating options. Off the beaten path, but just a few miles from Phillipsburg. Great location!
Loved the room, the view, the amenities, the wonderfully friendly staff. Nothing to complaint about!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ricardo Perez, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed the stay with us, we hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Request the Lighthouse

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The condo we stayed in was in the Lighthouse and the unit was so spacious, well equipped and had wonderful views of the cove as well as the ocean.
Cons: The resort's beach is a little lacking, but there are plenty of beaches to get to easily.
Location: Location was great, easy to walk to restaurants and the marina for snorkeling trips. We recommend snorkeling with Captain Alan, he was wonderful!
We loved the Oyster Bay Resort, but I think that was because we had the most beautiful room in the Lighthouse. The staff was not very friendly upon check-in, so we were nervous. Once we got to our room (a 3 bedroom condo) everything changed. It was beautiful, had everything we needed, and we could not have been happier. The Lighthouse has its own fitness center, pool and hot tub, very nice! Housekeeping kept things spotless. The activities desk was helpful but actually didn't always give us the best answers we found, and the front desk was never staffed with anyone who seemed interested in being in a good mood. We will come back for sure though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Sally, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you loved your unit in the Lighthouse. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and we are very sorry to hear that we were not able to do so in all aspects of your stay. We are so sorry to hear that our Front Desk staff was not very friendly upon check in. Could you please let us know the date you checked in? I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to improve this experience. Your feedback is very valuable to us. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The ambience, view from pool area, and staff made this hotel very enjoyable
We just returned from a 6 night stay at OBBR. The hotel, grounds and pool areas are all very clean and well kept. We had a courtyard room with ocean view which was very nice and as advertised. Our room was on the second floor above the bar area which made coming and going very convenient. There was karaoke one night which was so loud it felt like were actually in the bar, but they wrapped it up around 10:00pm so it was not a bother at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the maid service was excellent. The hotel set up was very unique and had the feeling of a small boutique resort. The marina and houses on the hill added to the overall charm. We did not eat in the restaurants as we rented a car with the intention of enjoying the many many dining choices on both the dutch and french sides. The only downside I would caution is that this resort is somewhat remote and off the beaten path. There are good restaurants close by (Mr. Busbees for breakfast was awesome, Canoa for a nice evening meal); however, unless you plan on staying in the resort almost all of the time, you would definitely want a car and need to plan on a bit of travel to get to Simpson Bay, Phillipsburg, Marigot or Grand Case.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ricardo Perez, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the cuisine of the island. Hopefully on your next visit you will also have the opportunity to try our restaurants, you will not be disappointed. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frenchtown NJ

birthday celebration

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The quietness and sanctuary feeling it gave me. The staff was super friendly !
Cons: Put a solid door in the bathroom instead of the slatted one.
We stayed for 6 nights with our BFFs to celebrate my husband's 50th. As it turned out it was also a much needed vaction for me because I just finished chemo for breast cancer. This resort was in a quieter area of St Maarten which made it feel like a sanctuary to me. It is located near a beautiful marina. There are 4 to 5 restaurants within a 3 minute walk, also a store for gifts/souveniers and also a store with groceries and personal needs. The rooms were a little small but the décor was beautiful. Our room was spotless. Usually you find a straggler hair that the cleaning staff left behind but there weren't any. The resort has a nice bar and open courtyard, nice pool and hot tub. We didn't swim in the nearby Dawn Beach because there was an abundance of sea weed, but enjoyed Mullet Bay, Maho Beach and Cupecoy. I recommend renting a car, we had a jeep which was great because some of the roads are bumpy. The jeep took us to the top of Pic Paradis, breathtaking views of the island. We drove to Marigot and took the ferry to Anguilla for a day trip. Marigot and Grand Case and Phillipsburg and SimpsonBay are all within a 15 to 20 minute drive from Oyster Bay. I loved the resort and would definitely book it again if we return to St. Maarten.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Ricardo Perez, GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us hope to see you back soon.