Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DeLeon Springs FL

Absolutely love

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Absolutely love the Oyster Bay Resort. They have everything you need right there around them. Great food, great staff, clean rooms just absolutely beautiful. Met some really great people there. Made some new friends. We will definitely be back next year again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler AZ

Wonderful resort at Dawn Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff is super friendly and kind of know us since we do own there and return frequently.Good restaurants, dawn beach location, gated parking area.
Cons: They are actually in the process of updating the decor in the rooms. They are quite nice, but starting to look a little dated.
Location: Located on the Dutch side on Dawn Beach and very convenient to the French side.Beaches, water sports, excellent restaurants - casual to fancy.
We've been going to Oyster Bay Beach Resort since we "discovered" it on a time share exchange one August about 20 years ago.Then it was a quiet little resort with a few studio suites and lobby area with some ocean or courtyard view rooms and gorgeous infinity pool. The studio suites had both Marina and Ocean views. Its grown a lot. Now there are lots more condos, the lighthouse building, expanded lobby and courtyard, more restaurants... We kind of miss the sleepy little place, but the new features are pretty nice. This trip, we were staying in the building that used to house the marina suites. Its been replaced with a higher rise building that includes studio suites, one bedroom and two bedroom suites and all have spectacular views of St. Barts across the ocean. Some also have views of the infinity pool area and dawn beach depending on location. One excellent feature of the new building is the elevator. Quite nice when arriving or departing for moving the luggage and also convenient for groceries. We own a fixed week at the resort but needed and extra night due to arrival schedule.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Excellent ocean front suite

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Ocean view, friendly staff, daily house cleaning service, beautiful pool, good restaurants, gated entry, free wi-fi.
Location: Beaches, diving, tri-sports has recommondations for lots of activities and great swims and bike rides, water sports, excellent restaurants and grocery
We are also owners at Oyster Bay and booked a studio through expedia for the night after our stay as owners. We were very fortunate in not having to move when our ownershop week ended. We had a wonderful ocean front suite and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oyster Bay Beach Resort. There was a lot of sea grass rolling up on Dawn Beach last week, but that's luck of the draw and the weather. Still a beautiful beach and we enjoyed a lunch and dinner at Mt. Busby's Beach Bar and Daniel's By the Sea - same place different name at night and just a short walk from the resort. There is a convenient grocery store on site and if you get there early enough in the morning, fresh chocolate and other croissants . They also have a nice work out room with a view of the marina. It's a short drive to Orient Bay with it's beautiful beaches and great restaurants. We also had a delicious buffet breakfast at Infinity, the restaurant in the main lobby of the resort. The grounds and the setting are beautiful. We are looking forward to returning in November.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Mixed Bag

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Cons: Make all of the staff understand the importance of Hospitality in the hospitality industry.
Overall the hotel was comfortable and clean. It was well located and many of the staff were friendly. We did however have a few issues. -The room had a coffee maker but the hotel had a problem making sure we had coffee to use. We ended up purchasing some from a convenience store that was close by, at a premium price. - Several of the staff needed to check their attitudes. A surly bartender where the 15% service charge is always included on your bill regardless of the quality of service is a definite problem. The French side of the island was very different in that respect. All in all we were happy with our holiday in Sint Maarten and would recommend others to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Average hotel but a little pricey for condition

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Location if using Voyager Ferry at Capt Olivers.
Cons: Too pricey for quick overnight - next time will stay closer to Capt Olivers and Voyager Ferry for less.
Location: Beach was covered in sea weed. Hotel stated the entire island had this problem which was not true. Simpson Bay, Grand Case, Friars Bay all fine.
Only stayed for one overnight enroute to St Barts next morning. Great location to catch Voyager Ferry - only $10 cab ride in the morning. Hotel did not inform us they coordinate transportation to Ferry departing at 815 am. Front desk called for a cab at 830 which was plenty of time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay!!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The hotel was great!! We checked into a room that had an awesome view! The staff was amazing and my time spent there was priceless. I will go back real soon!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sea weed on dawn beach terrible

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Isolated hotel. Dangerous driving with road conditioning and aggressive drivers
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty Resort but the Unit 2C needs some TLC

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
I hate to give a bad review to anyone and truly the resort itself is very pretty and well kept. The staff at the lobby is very nice and the concierge is very accommodating. There is a lot of seaweed on this beach and the waves are not conclusive to snorkeling. The unit was beautifully decorated and had some fantastic views. The cleaning ladies did a great job keeping the unit restocked. You will not need to bring any toiletries or cleaning supplies. There are plenty of spices on hand if you want to cook. The problems we encountered were: the dryer never worked and the AC went out one night. Be prepared it is very hot when there is no AC. The repairman did get the AC to work the next day thank goodness. They took the dryer away and never brought a new one. We have travel many times and know that no experience is perfect after all you are in a different county. I guess I put out that we were only offered the standard apology. A very small credit or other options would have gone a long way to keep me happy. I do expect that things work when you are paying for them. For now I can not give a good recommendation for the owners of this unit. 2C.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by RicadoPerezGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry that we did not manage your experience as you deserve. Can you please let me know what were your travel dates so I can review the information that we have on our records regarding the issues raised by you. Once again I am very sorry for the issues encountered during your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on a wonderful part of the beach!

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of good eating options. Off the beaten path, but just a few miles from Phillipsburg. Great location!
Loved the room, the view, the amenities, the wonderfully friendly staff. Nothing to complaint about!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Ricardo Perez, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed the stay with us, we hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Request the Lighthouse

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The condo we stayed in was in the Lighthouse and the unit was so spacious, well equipped and had wonderful views of the cove as well as the ocean.
Cons: The resort's beach is a little lacking, but there are plenty of beaches to get to easily.
Location: Location was great, easy to walk to restaurants and the marina for snorkeling trips. We recommend snorkeling with Captain Alan, he was wonderful!
We loved the Oyster Bay Resort, but I think that was because we had the most beautiful room in the Lighthouse. The staff was not very friendly upon check-in, so we were nervous. Once we got to our room (a 3 bedroom condo) everything changed. It was beautiful, had everything we needed, and we could not have been happier. The Lighthouse has its own fitness center, pool and hot tub, very nice! Housekeeping kept things spotless. The activities desk was helpful but actually didn't always give us the best answers we found, and the front desk was never staffed with anyone who seemed interested in being in a good mood. We will come back for sure though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Sally, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you loved your unit in the Lighthouse. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and we are very sorry to hear that we were not able to do so in all aspects of your stay. We are so sorry to hear that our Front Desk staff was not very friendly upon check in. Could you please let us know the date you checked in? I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to improve this experience. Your feedback is very valuable to us. Kind Regards