Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Patti from Canada

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very secluded and luxurious. The grounds are beautiful and there are paths to walk to the water and Sea Salt museum. This is a great get away and there are two excellent restaurants in the close vicinity.
5 out of 5
by Youseung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by DEIVARAS from Lithuania

Romantic getaway from city routine

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is not poshy, but has everything what is needed. The biggest advantage that it is very cosy. I would say its suitable for 1 to max 3 days city getaway holidays or for car travelers to have longer rest. The breakfast was just fine - basically Italian style, but also fresh natural orange juice and seasonal and usual fruits were available. Before the trip I saw some negative comments about staff, but I must say that personnel was very polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice room, not sure about the restaurant

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Hotel fine. Facilities as described. We were told where the restaurant was when we checked in, but not that we would need to book a table. They did give a table outside, which we took. It was a little late in the year for an outside table at a restaurant on the coast. Food was OK, but the poorest we have had during our stay in Sicily. Restaurant service was also poor. There is better to be had in Trapani. Only one meat dish on the menu. Stay in the hotel, but eat elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by VCTinItaly from Rome

we got what we wanted

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
The idea was to not be in the city among the busy streets of the port of Trapani. Perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by Monica, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank You for kind review that, in very few words, points out the strenghts of Relais Antiche Saline. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by G & G from Exeter, UK

Nice hotel in an unusual but attractive setting

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Very enjoyable, pleasant gardens and pool, very friendly and helpful staff.
Location: Location is unusual, set in the middle of the ancient, but still working, salt flats. Very atmospheric, few people around. A restaurant 200m away.
We had a really good week. Trapani is a 10 minute drive away. There are lots of restaurants and things to do in the town but we liked being able to get away from the crowds. There is the restaurant down the lane which is good and convenient if you don't want to go far.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxation in Sicily

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels
The name says it all. Very relaxing hotel. The area feels very country. Would not recommend the restaurant next door for dinner. The food was just so so. Breakfast in the morning was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Milnathort, Perth and Kinross KY13, UK

A man's best friend

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Pros: Hotel animal escort service!
Cons: no view
Location: a bit out of the way
Expensive. Staff friendly and breakfast good. Room had no view with high level windows which made it a bit dark and cell like. The hotel has a wonderful Alsatian dog which escorted me to the restaurant at the Museum of Salt, appeared to wait outside and escorted me back to the hotel along a dark unlit track.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London

Fascinating location bit lacking 4 star features.

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Fascinating location in the salt pans.
Cons: No tea-making facility, no drinking glasses, no electricity sockets (without unplugging the TV) and no view from the high ground floor windows.
First, the good things. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. The location is wonderful; right in the middle of the salt pans. It is fascinating to watch them producing the salt, and the area is a gift for photographers. The 'guard dog', Jeanne-Paul is a poppet! The not so good things: Amazingly there are no electric sockets in the room. You have to unplug the TV to use a socket! The ground floor rooms have a barred window that is so high up the wall that you can't see out. The upgraded rooms on the first floor have larger windows (with a view). Since they have eradicated much of the old farmhouse in the conversion into a hotel they could easily have inserted large ground floor windows. There were no drinking glasses in the room, just a couple of flimsy plastic cups. We had to ask for wine glasses. There are no tea-making facilities. The shower, in the ground floor bathrooms at least, is small and cramped. Overall, the hotel is pleasant, clean and friendly. Although in a fairly remote spot (a car is essential), it has a fascinating hinterland. I would hesitate to give it 4 stars though. A good three is more appropriate.
4 out of 5
by gneotel

Very nice with some thing to improve

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels
The place is very nice but our room could have used some more power plugs and the shower drain was really slow. The saline are an amazing place ti visit at sunset.