Ratings based on 734 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic accommodations, right at the dunes/ocean.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We stayed in a twin room in one of the original dorms (Scripps) built by Julia Morgan. Everything is redwood! Narrow room with two twin (single size) head to head. However, there is a common room in each dorm, with comfortable chairs and lighting for reading. No TV, so no distraction. Decent coffee shop/snacks in Hearst Hall, which is a short walk from anyway at Asilomar. Also has a fireplace stocked every morning. I would be more selective next time about the room, probably getting one in the newer dorms with queen bed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Grounds were historic and beautiful but very hilly. Try to get a room in the newer sections.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Historic hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Beautiful grounds and walking areas to beach. Parts are extremely old and musty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Thin walls meant that we could hear everything going on in the rooms next to and above us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anaheim ca

Superb cool

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Not fancy but this place is super cool! Old architecture and a beautiful location. Clean and comfy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from modesto ca

Close to the beach but outdated

Posted Sep 25, 2017
My room had no heater the first night. The room had at least two walls made of cedar which I was allergic too. And staff seems very upset that I asked for a discount on my room for the first night. I had to stay for a friends wedding on site
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RenNV

Quiet time at the beach.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The towels! What a luxury! The amenities. The food in the cafe. The staff, the grounds, the boardwalk to the beach. The quiet, the deer.
Location: Asilomar State Beach is the focus of this location; if you're looking for the beach, as you remember as a child, this is it!
We specifically chose this property due to location and the desire to get away from everyday noise. We were rewarded with just that; no tv, no radios blaring, just quiet serenity as we walked the grounds, swam, enjoyed the sunsets. The cafe is a lovely addition to the property as we were able to put together a meal for the patio with wine, and great coffee and breakfast pastries for early morning. The 'great' room fireplace was blazing early, one could sit and reflect in the warmth of the morning or play a game of pool in the afternoon/evening. We can hardly wait to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Peaceful and serene.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Expect a room with views of trees, a sea breeze, with sounds of waves. We appreciated the lack of a TV, the buzz of a fridge, the missing roar of an AC, and a lack of cars zipping by. Run by the State park, this is luxury camping at best. Clean shower, a soft bed, plumbing, with plenty of outlets, in a large room, with an even better window than any flat screen could ever offer. Unplug, unwind, rest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

IMPROVE

Posted Sep 10, 2017
BEDS AND FLOOR CLEAN ENOUGH BUT WINDOWS, BATHROOM AND SHOWER AREA NEED ATTENTION. SHOWER AND TOILET OUTDATED AND NOT FUNCTIONING WELL AT ALL IN BOTH ROOMS.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Going back in time

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Nice location near the ocean. Wonderful thirties architecture.
Cons: Up grade their beds at the very least. Sound proofing the rooms.
Location: Great beach area with many attractions.
One could hear when anyone entered nearby rooms or used their bathrooms. Thirties single wall construction The bed was a horror. They were selling a location as a conference center. A state park facility run by a contractor. For the cost of the room we could have stayed at a local B&B with an ocean view. This facility is only acceptable for people going there for a conference or a similar venue.