Ratings based on 683 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach, Florida

Affordable, great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
1 night stay, would recommend as a good value alternative to anyone visiting the Carmel or Monterey area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value for the price

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We paid $200 a night for a cheap, dirty-feeling motel-type room, and I've actually stayed in motel rooms better than this. The rooms, furniture, carpet, bathrooms were extremely old / outdated, looked like they haven't change a thing since the 70s, the screens in the windows were falling off, everything felt somewhat dirty. The couches in the common area were stained. There wasn't even the usual hot water boiler / coffee / tea and mini-fridge that you find in an average hotel room, given what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Decent hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Location and surroundings
Cons: Remodel the rooms
Location: Beach, 17 mile drive
I just spent 3 days/2 nights at this hotel for business. The room was fine as I used it only to sleep. The rooms need to be remodeled to be nicer. The bathroom has tile from 1960 which could be original from construction. The faucet are from the same era so everything looks dated which is ok since everything works. The beds were updated and pretty comfortable. The best feature was that the room was clean: the sheets were nice and fresh, the bathroom looked old but was clean. The lighting was not great in the room but ok. No tv in the room but the wifi was really working well. The surroundings are beautiful and a quick walk takes you to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

An Oasis of Calm

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Peaceful and beautiful
Cons: Room privacy & repair
Location: hiking, beach, aquarium, shopping, sightseeing
I have been to conferences at Asilomar in the past. It was great to be a guest on vacation, and not as part of an event. While I missed the buzz and camaraderie of those times, the place itself offers and oasis of calm. Just getting out of the car, hearing the ocean, smelling the woodsmoke, seeing the trees and the old buildings is worth every penny! Because of the conferences, , I have stayed in and visited many rooms. The rooms are older, and thus have typically thin walls. So it's not the most private experience, and your neighbors can make or break your stay. But if you like Julia Morgan's Craftsman aesthetic, or mid-century modern architecture, there are rooms for you! Lots of wood, lots of glass, and lots of nature. Consider this spot if you want to stay with family (lots of rooms on the grounds), want a room away from the bustle of tourists, or just want a nice, mid-price lodging.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orangevale, CA

uncomfortable

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The grounds and staff were nice and the ocean was with in walking distance. The view at the ocean was spectacular with many hiking trails and we saw several dear that seem pretty comfortable around people. However, the room was bare bones still from the 50's and not real clean. The bed and pillows felt the same way, back and neck pain in the morning. There were many other rooms which I am sure were great because the hotel seemed full. But they must not want repeat business because of the room they put us in we won't going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Premium location for a very affordable price.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
The concept is different from any expected hotel. However,not having TV in the room or the social hall make it a special place for
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles, Ca.

Wonderful Outdoor Setting

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Near the ocean and beautiful setting
Location: Both Pacific Grove and Monterey ave alot of sites to see and nature to enjoy. The Aquarium is wonderful. Restaurants are also exceptional.
I have always loved Asilomar. Staff is friendly and helpful. Accommodations are wonderful. Setting is beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Beautiful surroundings 💛

Posted May 31, 2017
Love the view, the coffee shop, music Friday night. I will visit again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Outdated room and building

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Location and campus landscape, even with deer in sight.
Cons: Room, building, service. barely called a full service hotel.
Location: Excellent location. Next to sunset beach, blocks to 17 miles drive, close to Monterrey pier and cannery row.
It's located in a wonderful place, closed to sunset beach and 17 miles drive. however, the hotel rooms are out dated and not well maintained, so as buildings. No TV in room, no coffee machine in room, some rooms are a little newer and some are older. All buildings are same outdated, not well maintained exterior. The campus is nice, a lot trails and even deer in sight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis CA

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Quiet, restful and nice size room, the bathroom was very large.
Cons: We had to ask for a coffee pot and a hair dryer, but they were prompt in accommodating our request.
Location: We were there for a wedding.
The Hotel is in a very Nature like setting, lots of property, great walking paths and a beach. The parking is not super close to your room but they have unloading zones which helped. We saw lots of families with younger kids.