Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay for awhile

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We liked almost everything about this inn. the dog was able to stay for free. The wine and cheese tasting in the evening was a pleasant surprise. The room was a little dated but large and everything worked. The only minor quibble I had with the room was the remote for the TV. It had about 50 buttons when I only need maybe 5. Confusing and hard to operate. The one thing that was definitely sub-par was the receptionist. As she checked us in, the young woman at the front desk never smiled or gave off a hint of cheer or welcome. It was nothing but "what's your name, fill this out, here's your key, there's your room, cheese at 6" After a long drive and a looked forward to stay we need a little bit of a welcome and some hospitality, maybe some chitchat and a have a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, I will make sure to talk to the concierge about a welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Breakfast was significantly better than average. The rooms also have fireplaces and are larger than what I was expecting. It was a good discovery and I would stay here again if I'm in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The hotel is located across the street from the Asilomar Conference Center. It's a lovely, woodsy area near the Pacific Ocean. My stay was only for one night. Accommodations were comfortable and spacious, but the linens/blanket had a slightly musty odor. The free continental breakfast offered a variety of pastries, cereal, and fruit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Close to Asilomar

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Amenities in the room
Cons: Flooring between bathroom and sink area squeaked something fierce.
Location: Only about a 5 minute drive away for downtown Pacific Grove.
My husband and I were attending a group function that was happening at Asiolmar, we did not wish to stay there and found the Pacific Gardens Inn to be a great alternative. We were close enough that we could attend functions but giving us more of a vacation feel with our stay. The rooms have real fireplaces, coffee makers, refrigerators and air poppers with popcorn to give a very homey feel. While not a fancy room the facilities were clean and comfortable. Liked the nice touches and staff helpfulness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole, UK

Great choice for Monterey

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Although only one night really enjoyed our stay. Close to the beach. Kids enjoyed the hot tub and breakfast was very good. Friendly staff. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
This was an amazing place for the price. Clean and comfortable would definitely be back
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Spacious and Dog Friendly

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous area, spacious room, pet-friendly. This place was perfect for our family of 5 and a dog. Beds were comfortable, and room was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, quiet and convenient

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: We liked it as it is convenient on Asilomar Ave, quick to the quaint downtown with a longer walk or short drive e with the car. The beach is close by.
Cons: The owner is very kind and makes sure all is to your satisfaction. No improvement necessary 😊.
Location: Downtown with the Bookworms and cafe, the Thai Restaurant, cute store The Farm Hen owned by the artist Babe, Asilomar Beach, monarch butterfly Grove.
Our stay at the Pacific Garden Inn was great. A gem, with a great breakfast, 5 pm wine and cheese, very kind staff and really clean rooms. Dog friendly and yet quiet place. With a 5 minute walk you are at the beach. Two hot tubes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable, spacious rooms, quiet, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orinda, CA

Cozy Inn by the beach

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Convenience to beach. I thought the wine and cheese tasting and continental breakfast were better than other places I have stayed in Pacific Grove.
Cons: The facility is a little dated.
Location: Great walk on Asilomar Beach next to the location.
The owner cares about the guests. The wine and cheese at 5 pm to 7 pm is a nice touch. The continental breakfast was very well done. The Inn is warm and inviting. I would definitely stay here again.