Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas city

Lovely stay with attentive staff

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We had a great stay here. Nice room and very clean and quiet. Very close to the ocean, golf course and not far from Monterey. Staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were informed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcadia, CA

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We stayed 3 nights at Sunset Inn. Was our first time staying and it most definitely will not be our last! The grounds are beautifully manicured and maintained. Check in was a breeze. We were given a list of recommended restaurants in the area( we tried two of them and they were very good) Room was clean and well maintained. You could tell that owner, manager and entire staff cared about the property and guests. It's just a block and a half to beach, lighthouse and trails, too! Thank you for a lovely stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us - it sounds as though our property was ideal for your needs. I look forward to sharing your kind words with our team, and am delighted to note that you intend to stay with us again. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CA Road Trip - West Coast

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Staff was lovely on check in. Very helpful. Nice rooms.
Location: Pleasant location!
Carmel by the Sea was a lovely place to visit in the afternoon, drove up to Monteray for the evening. Went for dinner down the water and breakfast in town the next day. Great little place to sty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to be your host on your recent visit. We are happy that everything was to your liking, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town. Thank you for your review! Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Great staff, great location!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We (family of 4) came late, after 10pm. Staff was friendly, helpful and made sure we had all the info for our next day excursions. Really went out of their way to help. The Inn was easy to find and has a convenient location to explore 17-miles drive, Pacific Grove, Carmel and Monterey. Room was clean, two queen-size beds, small closet, clean bathroom and shower. All fine for a short and busy weekend. The Sunset Inn would be over-prized in most parts of the country, but this is Monterey Peninsula and the staff made up for this. Two Thumbs Up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I was truly delighted when reading your lovely comments. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back in future. Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcadia, CA

Posted Oct 8, 2017
What a wonderful find! Beautifully taken care of grounds and attention to all guests needs! Very short block from beach, lighthouse and trails. Wonderful front office(Jennifer) gave us info on best places to eat and visit. Rishi offered us each a glass of wine that we enjoyed by the fire pit before dinner. Beautiful rooms and comfortable bed. We most definitely will be back. Thank you for your hospitality!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for choosing to stay with us recently! We were happy to welcome you to our hotel, and we are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. Customer service is a key focus of ours, so it's good to hear that you were so happy with the service that our staff provided. Jennifer and I are obviously particularly pleased with your feedback, thank you! Thank you for your review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon. Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice hotel clean friendly staff. Good value. Would come back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rave review! We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to sharing your kind words with our team, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Centrsl Florida

Quaint

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Cute little hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had a nice balcony on 2nd floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased that you liked the charm and cuteness of our property! We also appreciate your kind words about our staff - this is always wonderful feedback to hear. We hope to be your hotel of choice in this area for future visits, and we appreciate your feedback, thank you. Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

One night stop over

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The gardens are beautiful and there is so much character to this hotel. Nice and peaceful.
Cons: Outside space could be offered with rooms.
My (new) husband and I stayed here while travelling through California on our honeymoon and Paso Robles was a last minute change to our itinerary, but what a pleasant stop it was. We arrived slightly early and they were able to provide us with a room, but while waiting we relaxed in the garden for 10 minutes which was so quiet and peaceful considering how close to the road this hotel is. We went to our room which was a good size and had a lovely double basin bathroom with hairdryer, miniatures, towels and all the amenities you needed. There was a coffee machine in the room, a fridge and a sink. The only negative about this room is that our neighbours could walk past and see directly into our room, therefore we needed to keep the blinds closed at all times. We spent the evening in the hotel restaurant on surf and turf night, we were a little disappointed there was no one cooking the steaks outside in the garden, but sitting an eating by the ponds as the sunset is very romantic and just the quiet night we had planned. Service was attentive, wine was good and the food even better. Lighting was an issue, as it went dark, we had to ask for some lights to be switched on, and then it was a just a glow. We slept well, beds really comfortable, rooms could be better insulated, we could hear the couple next door talking and laughing. We checked out easily in the morning and it was quick and simple, car park was right next to our rooms. All in all it was a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to go into so much detail to demonstrate how happy you were. You had the experience that we want to provide for each and every one of our guests! We are delighted to be part of your honeymoon, congratulations to you both on your marriage, we hope that you might celebrate anniversaries with us in the future! Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

In love

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Absolutely loved our stay. Amazing staff. Clean! Cute little nook. Close to all the local fun. Absolutely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We loved reading your review, thank you very much! It's really great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and that everything in and around the hotel was to your satisfaction. Thank you for your strong recommendation, we would really love to have you stay with us again when you are next in the area. Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Appreciate the honest staff

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We only needed ine night at th hotel and had already made our plans, but it was good to see that the Sunset Inn had lots of indormation and ideas about things to see and do. The room was well suited to our needs and was clean and quiet. I was especially grateful when the manager phoned me an hour or less after checkout to tell me I had left my iPod in the room, and she hoped I had not gotten too far away. (I had not.) Thank you to the honest room cleaning staff who got it back to me. We will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are always happy to hear that our guests intend to stay with us again, it is a definite sign that we are doing things right! Thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to have you stay with us, and we appreciate you acknowledging the honesty and the excellent level of service that our staff showed in getting your iPod back to you. To assist our guests to the very best of our ability is our main goal, and we are pleased to have done this so successfully for you. Best regards, Rishi Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager