Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Quiet hotel but very old!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
This hotel was very old and in need of renovations. It was very expensive for the quality. It's not very close to the main sites however public transportation is easily accessible. Breakfast is not included! Pastries and coffee are offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Dear Marianne, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. We are truly excited about our complete refresh and update starting in November - yes, our Inn has been lovingly used by visitors like you and is beginning to show it's need for some tlc. We wish to bring the property up to the level you should expect when visiting and will include complete bath upgrades and airconditioning throughout the property. We eagerly look forward to unwrap the updated product in the spring and look forward to another opportunity to create a wonderful guest service experience when you wish to explore our quaint San Francisco neighborhood again. A wonderful restaurant is located directly across the street for a full American Breakfast with fresh baked breads; as a small Inn we offer fresh pastries in the morning and lemonade and cookies baked on the premises each afternoon. Our cocktail club offers smaller bar bites and signature cocktails to enjoy before strolling to nearby restaurants or after a long day of sight-seeing using the spiderweb of public transportation directly out the door. Thank you for you visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip Off

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Great location, helpful staff, and the cleaning crew did what they could, but room quality was poor. Would have expected about half the price for the room. Poorly finished and constructed. No bathtub. $300. REALLY?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience. We are thrilled to know our staff helped create a wonderful and welcoming experience for you. Yes, our cleaning staff is doing a phenomenal job maintaining our beloved, yet aging product; we truly wish to things right and have delayed a renovation to be able to add both air-conditioning and complete updates to our bath rooms. We look forward to share about the refreshed product when you return to continue exploring our jewel of a neighborhood. We feel confident the updates will meet even the most distinguished traveler and create a wonderful value to all guests. Thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Nice to stay. I recommend it to most of my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing about your visit! We truly appreciate your recommendation to your family and friends - we look forward to welcome you back when you travel to our area! Thank you for your visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
If you are looking for a quiet, clean and friendly hotel, this one is for you. Super nice staff, who was happy to answer questions. The room was clean and spacious. They provide yummy fresh baked treats morning and afternoon. Centrally located with parking. We would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Dear Pat - Thank you for sharing about your visit! We hope to welcome you back often when you wish to explore further all the restaurants, cafes and boutiques in our quaint neighborhood. I look forward to share with the team how their friendly service helped create a wonderful and relaxing visit for you. We are glad you enjoyed our fresh morning pastries to get you off to a great day of exploring the city sights. Parking is always a challenge in our compact city, so we are grateful to be able to offer on-site spaces with in- and out- privileges at much lower fees than down-town; or you may also choose from a wide range of convenient public transportation to reach all corners of our beatiful city by the bay! Thank you again for your visit; we hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Location: Great location in the neighborhoods of California and Sacramento. Close to great shops.
The small hotel was perfect for our short stay in SF. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean and quiet. Had a wonderful sleep and woke to coffee and muffins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
The smell of fresh-brewed coffee and warm pastry is also one of my favorite memories of many an enjoyable travel experience; we are thrilled to have added to your special memories with friendly service and a comfortable, quiet and clean guest room. We look forward to welcome you back again soon when you wish to continue exploring our quaint neighborhood! Thank you for taking the time to share about your visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Check in was very abrupt and unfriendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you did not receive the welcoming experience you should expect when choosing to stay with us; I appreciate the opportunity this presents to review our guest service standards as this is clearly disappointing to know we failed to get the visit off on the right foot for you. Thank you for taking the time to write!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It wasn't right for me.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The gentleman at the front desk, Joe Oo was incredibly helpful and nice, The breakfast rolls and the "kitchen" staff also very nice.
Cons: To get the bar next door to enlarge their food offering.
There is not much in the area, especially in the evening. This makes it nice and quiet, but one evening we were left to eat some packaged bologna, crackers and american cheese for dinner found in the only open "grocery" store.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feed back and your kind words about of team members who made you feel cared for. We appreciate your suggestion about increasing the offering at our cocktail lounge for late dining, after a late arrival or a full day of sight-seeing - we hope you will enjoy the new line of offerings being rolled out in the late summer - other dining options are currently available for delivery, as the late night dining may be a little bit limited in our otherwise, restaurant rich, quaint neighborhood. We hope to welcome you back when you return to explore San Francisco!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location and the staff care about you!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Staff, location and comfortable beds.
Location: I use public transit a lot so there are Muni bus stops close by and can quickly get to Presidio and Lafayette Park.
Initially, there was a problem with my room and as an extensive traveler, this will happen from time to time. The key is how the hotel handles it with you. The staff were genuinely concerned about my comfort and immediately transferred me to a new room. They were also available to me whenever I needed something and so gracious during every encounter with me. I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for sharing such a positive note; I am genuinely sorry your visit with us got off on the wrong foot, but truly proud to hear how the team responded with personalized care. We appreciate knowing we were able to turn around your experience around and hope to welcome you to our quaint neighborhood, for a restful night's sleep, whenever you travel back to the city. Thank you again for sharing about your experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It all comes down to the staff.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Staff was awesome!
Cons: Maybe give the place a little more shine, although it is really quite nice!
Location: Head across the street to the Jewish Community Center for a great breakfast!
While I can complain about the cost of the hotel, one needs to be realistic when staying in San Francisco. Their rates are in keeping with the city for what they offer. The hotel is centrally located in a great area, and the services and condition of the hotel are a solid 4... a 5 is hard to get, and we can always improve, correct? Where they really shine is the fantastic help the INCREDIBLE WOMAN at the front desk provided. They communicated with me, and Expedia in a friendly, professional, and helpful manner to adjust my last minute reservation without inconveniencing me, and by that, I mean saving me money. The front desk woman also helped us park our oversize vehicle, and made checkin fast and convenient... super helpful with a young child. She also gave me Drink coupons for their awesome lounge! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback about how our team created such a warm and caring visit for you; we truly make every effort to be of a good value to all visitors and hope your will return to experience our refreshed and upgraded product - as you mentioned, there is always room for improvement and we are excited to give our beloved neighborhood gem a little added sparkle with a complete refresh starting this autumn. We can't wait to welcome you and your family back again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Lovely Holiday

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The staff at Laurel Inn and Swank next door are so helpful and very friendly. The elevator is super cute and has a lot of charm. The candy in the lobby is delicious and their are muffins in the morning and cookies every afternoon. The room had a nice layout with chairs, two beds, makeup table and little kitchenettes. Being a short walk to target is so handy for grabbing groceries to stock the fridge during our stay. Nice to stay in a calmer area after being in touristy areas all day.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Operations Manager, Laurel Inn, Hotel Management
Dear K - We are thrilled to learn the team helped create a wonderful visit so you enjoyed a 'lovely holiday' away from the hustle and bustle, though still within easy convenience of a broad offering of boutiques, cafes and restaurants, after a busy day exploring our beautiful city! We often receive positive notes about the bakery delivering our morning pastries and are pleased you made it back in the afternoons to enjoy our fresh-baked cookies & lemonade. We hope to welcome you back on your next holiday!