Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
It was really near Paddington Station which is convenient. I had to lug my bag up 5 narrow flights of stairs in the hotel extension across the street. The water stopped running mid shower and the owner seemed unhappy I had booked online and not called. Good wifi and TV and breakfast though an sgheh let me leave my luggage in the lobby after checkout which is helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Feels like sharing a room with the whole building

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Location was fine. The tube was easy to access and I had no trouble getting I am out. But the room was terrible. I could hear every noise around me. I heard a couple come into the room just above and then listened to someone snore for about an hour. My bed was lumpy and the sheets were very scratchy (and I am not sure they were clean). One of the major reasons I would never stay here again is because the door doesn't lock from the inside. So, anyone with a key could come in at any time! I did not feel secure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Inexpensive hotel close to Paddington

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Accessible to all London sites via train and tube.
We had a lovely stay. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Bed bugs -- still recovering and hot!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Breakfast - location and staff - Excellent.
Cons: They need to get rid of the bed bugs.. after my problem I did a search and saw I was not the only person affected who took time to write (I hesitated)
Location: Location is amazing with Paddington Station and great shops in the block.
We stayed in the Balmoral House Hotel London 157 Sussex -- the unit across the street from the main check in "157 -- Room was the very top Floor looking to the main office at 156 Sussex. Upon opening the door and seeing the white sheet - I found a bug on the bed - I thought bed bug - oh??? But then thought maybe it came in through the open window. It was record hot (not hotel's fault) and windows were wide-open. Went to bed and woke with itching feet next morning -- not sure what the cause and after second night was eaten all the way to my waist and arms. too late, I have since found reviews online confirming others in these rooms have had bed bugs. In every way a great place -- but the bed bugs are a complete deal breaker - I am still recovering under the care of a dermatologist back home in the states. What a pain and messed up the rest of my week trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Family of Five

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location to the tube station.
Cons: Breakfast room is really small, but offerings were good
Great location to the Paddington tube station. Lots of restaurants near by. Comfortable room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was nice, but breakfast room is small, so arrive fairly early. Only here 2 nights, but would recommend for anyone who doesn't want to pay the high prices of chain hotels and wants a less commercial and more personal experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful hotel, great location--somewhat cramped

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, comfortable, clean, close to Paddington station.
Cons: I wished that they had an elevator. The room was cramped and the price was high.
Location: Easy to get to the tube and mainline trains.
Family of 4, one night stay...we walked with our lugguge from Paddington easily, but there were lots of stairs in the hotel. It's beautiful in an old building with classy decor. We were warm and comfortable and the beds were great. The room and bathroom were very clean, although they are very, very small. For one night it was fine. The price is more than I would normally pay, especially since it was so small, but everything in that neighbourhood is pricey. The breakfast was included and was delicious. I would stay there again and my whole family agreed. I wished that they had an elevator, and it was a little strange to have the dining room and 'front desk' in a separate building across the street. We should have left more time to get to St. Pancras in the morning, since we missed our train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

A fine hotel for a reasonable price.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Having stayed in many hotels in London over the years, the Balmoral House was better than most in all respects except as noted.
Cons: There are no hooks from which to hang clothes.
Location: The hotel is a short and easy walk from Paddington Station. There is a wide variety of restaurants, pubs and newsagents between the station and hotel.
The hotel is clean, the price is low (for London), the breakfast was good in both quality and quantity, and the staff were cheerful and helpful. Rooms are all above ground-level and are reached by narrow and steep stairs. Fortunately, a staff member was willing to hoist my heavy suitcase onto his shoulders and carry it to my third floor room. Had I asked, he would have carried it down when I left. My single room was just that, a room for one person only, and that is all that I required. The narrow stairway was a challenge, but a staff member will carry your suitcase up and down if asked.
5 out of 5
by E J

Great Paddington boutique hotel.

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Small very clean room, nice staff, great location, delicious breakfast, good fast internet.
5 out of 5
by anthony

Definitely recommend

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
I will be recommending this place to friends and family in the future. Very close to the Underground Train. Breakfast was very good. Very good price. Have absolutely no complaints. Thanks to an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
by Andrea

Clean and friendly

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, rang to let know we would be late arriving, very accommodating. Hair dryer broke in the morning but a replacement was brought to our room immediately. Very efficient breakfast service. Would definitely recommend.