Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

London Family Hotel The Barry House

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location not bad and things to do nearby and within walking or short riding distance away. Central.
Completely not as described on Expedia. It was awful and uncomfortable for our family. There were no saving graces. The food looked terrible and we did not eat it. It was an uncomfortable family room and not very clean. We stayed and were out every day, but not even a place to be comfortable in in the evenings. This should not be rated as anything, and no one should stay there. Based upon the description went ahead with the booking. It was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place is nice and warm

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Barry’s House was small and a bit old, but tiny and clean. Except there is limited space for the steps going to my room (I was living in the room on the fourth floor!) I am satisfied for everything. I can get everything I need for comfortable nights -- reasonable shower facilities, a warm bed, room with simple but nice decoration and friendly staffs, you name it. I would recommend my friends to go there while traveling London with small budget. It is a nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris, France

Economical, compact, in heart of London

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Bathroom small but this is not uncharacteristic of this type of hotel
Location: Ideal location in Bayswater, close to Hyde Park with fast Underground connections to Central London
I arrived from France for a professional function. Hotel was easy to reach from Eurostar St Pancras Station; hotel close to Paddington Station, just a short stroll away. Friendly & helpful staff. A typical English breakfast included to help start the day. No drama from management for over-staying checkout time. Internet available. TV also. Clean bed linen appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Helen

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
The location is the best feature - close to Paddington Station, and with lots of interesting places within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms could be updated
Location: Paddington Station - 10 minute walk Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens - 10 minute walk Everything accessible by tube
The hotel was in a great location - right by Paddington Station, near Hyde Park, away from the city crowds. The staff was extremely nice, but the hotel is in need of updating. Our room was clean, the food (breakfast) was basic but good. As we left, the hotel manager asked how our stay was (he had just taken over the hotel a month prior). We were honest about the good (service, food) and the not so good (our room could use a new bed). He was very receptive to our comments, and is working hard to make updates to the hotel, so appreciated our honesty. If you don't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel room because you will be out sightseeing all day, this is a fine place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

short stay

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location and nice budget hotel with free breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paulo

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017
Dear Paulo Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking time to review our Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in near future. Regards
2 out of 5
by Divercov from Coventry

Family visit to London

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Basic but ok
1 out of 5
by raymond david

not good at all

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
very noisy at night building work going on very bad