Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great price for the location. As you can see from other reviews, this is not a luxury hotel but is a good value for the cost. Friendly staff as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Kind regards, Griffin House Team
2 out of 5
by Antony

Not for me

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel quite tired. Carpets need replacing, room a box no wardrobe but bed sheets clean. Quiet enough. Didn't hang around for breakfast. This is 2 star max! Only 10min walk from Hyde Park -bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your stay did meet your expectations. Kind regards, Griffin House Team.
2 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Area is perfect if you need to be near Hyde park like us. However the room needs a Serious revamp. We stayed in room 7. It's a box - as expected in london, however the wallpaper is coming off the walls due to damp, the walls are dirty, there were old cobwebs in the corner & some of the electric sockets didn't work. Why would you keep using a room with half the wallpaper behind the bed hanging off? Door is directly on the staircase so you can hear everyone & everything coming & going. We arrived late at night & spent zero time there due to a wedding, so just got in with it otherwise we'd have demanded a refund & stayed elsewhere. On the plus side, bed sheets / towels were new & clean - hence we just slept & left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We appreciate your specific feedback, which will be shared with the proprietor. Kind regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Absolutely terrible. I wouldn't even call it a hotel. The person who checked us in didn't offer any help with the luggage. I'm traveling with a 61 year old woman and he didn't offer her any help. We were in room 1, bottom level. There were a stack of chairs and a vacuum cleaner in front of our door and at the bottom of the stairs. Trying to get our baggage around that was not fun. The room is terrible!!!!!!!! The bathroom is tiny, you can barely move in it. There is a pump in the toilet, so every 10 mins it goes off. EVEN DURING THE NIGHT!! The shower tiles and shower head were mouldy. There is no sound insulation. So you can hear everything. We were right next to the breakfast room and laundry. So every morning we were woken by the staff cleaning and getting breakfast ready. They were also talking very loud. No courtesy for anyone. As the desk is staffed 24 hrs and our room was directly below the front door, desk and hallway. We heard everything. Every person that walked in. Every time the desk person moved their chair. Every time the desk person got up. Everytime someone walked down the hallway. On our last night the night shift person took it upon himself to have a really loud conversation with some of his mates at midnight right next to our room window. He didn't stop until my husband opened our window and told him to stop! Last day we had an early flight, made way to breakfast to grab and go, they didn't allow us to grab anything even though it was all set up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you were not satified with your stay with us. A number of issues you have raised - no help with luggage, night receptionist talking loud on the phone, not able to have breakfast on the go - are clearly against our internal staff guidelines. We would appreciate it if you could get in touch with us so we can feed this back to the staff member(s) concerned. Kind regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Room 13

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean room.
Cons: Breakfast before 7.30, please. Maybe 7.00?
Location: Tesco Metro not far down the road, plenty of restaurants. US Embassy is 15 minutes walk down the road.
The hotel is actually really nice with the exemption of Room 13, barring superstitious jokes, it could really do with one significant change; the toilet. Room 13's toilet is situated outside of the room itself, under the stairs going to the next floor of accommodations. if you want to get up in the middle of the night to do your 'thing' then you have to go to Harry Potters' bedroom under the stairs. A huge inconvenience made even bigger by the fact that it's a really small room and if you're 6ft like me then it's amazing how the owner of the hotel thought this arrangement was a good idea. The funny thing is that this is completely avoidable. I noticed that the shower cubicle in Room 13 has plenty of space for expansion and it could expand all the way to the old door frame which would increase the shower space by almost double! This leaves plenty of room to move Harry Ploppers' thrown to the back-wall of the cubicle and still leave plenty of standing room for the shower. Remove a square of carpet from in front of the in-room sink and put bathroom tiles down to avoid moldy carpet situations then you have a much more improved facility for this particular room. I hope this suggestion gets read by the hotel manager and takes it into serious consideration. Thanks, N.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your helpful feedback, which we will certainly take into consideration. We are also pleased to hear that, despite the issues raised, you valued our location and customer service. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel is ok for the price but not particularly a nice hotel. I can only judge the accommodations I was offered during my stay. My room was on the top floor, with no AC just a small fan. Heat rises and it's summer. Next time I will make sure the hotel I choose has AC. During my stay I was wishing I had chosen to stay in the hostel I have previously used. The staff was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shenzhen

Nice budget hotel in a central location in London

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Orbitz
This was a decent budget hotel, very centrally located close to Marble Arch underground station, Hyde Park, Oxford Street/West End. Breakfast included, not luxury but functional. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for budget accommodation.
3 out of 5
by MESHARI

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Thank u for servies The resption was good We hope 2 see u next year with AC.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Needs Cleaning

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: This hotel should be gutted and remodeled.
Do yourself a favor and don't stay at this hotel. If you are on the top floor as I was, it's unbearably hot, even if it's not very hot outside. The top floor is up 5 flights of steep stairs, and there is NO ELEVATOR. There is NO AIR CONDITIONING. The toilet for my room was down the hall with a separate key, which I did not realize at the time of booking. If you have allergies you will have a hard time here as it is extremely dusty. My room had the slight, but permanent, odor of feet and wet dog. Also, the shower in my room was broken. It would only output extremely hot water, which is exactly what you DON'T WANT after walking up 5 flights of stairs to a hot room. I urge everyone to AVOID THIS HOTEL!
1 out of 5
by Aaron

Definitely not worth the money at all...

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
My stay here was terrible. Very poor indeed. I think I only managed to get about 1 and a half hours of sleep through the night due to the amount of noise that was being made throughout the corridors and reception area (I should note my room was on the ground floor next to a set of stairs and very near to the reception). No plugs in the walls except for one extension lead which already had some things plugged into it. The bed was uncomfortable and creaked every time I moved. Dirty room with marks on the walls and poor lighting. Bathroom was okay but the shower only has 2 settings, icy cold or blazing hot - there is no in-between which was inconvenient. Only thing good about it was the location not far from Marble Arch tube station which made it easy to get to places. Overall a terrible stay. 2/10. Absolutely would not recommend and won't be back there again. Not worth the money at all.