Ratings based on 4,180 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

5 great days in London

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Stayed 5 nights. Room very clean and comfortable bed. Very quiet. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Location great for us. Will definitely come back already planning it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very reasonable & great position

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The Lancaster Gate was a great stay - very convenient, spacious room, loved the bath & excellent cleaner. Even though the carpet was a bit worn everything else was great. Great value for money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Good hotel at reasonable price in Central London

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The staff were very helpful and considerate when I checked in with my son who was in a wheelchair. The room was comfortable and reasonably well equipped. Location is good, just opposite Hyde Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City, California

Highly Recommended

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The hotel is in a good location for all transportation. Buses right around the corner and underground just a few blocks away. Fair rates and quite.
Cons: Replace hair dryers I think there from the 60's. Make beds more comfortable, a little to firm for my liking.
Location: Near all transportation to all the best attractions. Hyde Park just around the corner. Some good restaurants nearby.
We arrived early around 12:00pm and got an early check in with no problems. For Europe the room was average size and the bathroom you could actually turn around in. Water pressure was amazing. Room was extremely clean as well as the hotel itself. The staff was very friendly and helpful to new comers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Clean budget hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Whilst reasonably austere in fitout, it was clean and well located near Kensington Gardens. Beds were comfortable, AC worked, shower water pressure excellent and staff responsive to requests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Good location, but dirty old hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Shower had mold, cups in bathroom had lip prints, bed was 2 twins pushed together to make a "King" but had queen size sheets that didn't fit and was similar in comfort to sleeping on a fold out couch. The only reason to stay here is close proximity to the park and 2 tube stops
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Many things- dark rooms, original room smelled of smoke- despite a non smoking room
Location: Close to tube
Just ok... booked it for the price and location. Nothing good or bad to say... just ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Looking for a hotel in London, last-minute, needed twin beds for myself and cranky teenage son ... I'm sure we were lucky to catch some kind of deal on expedia here but the Lancaster Gate was perfect for our needs ... central enough for all we wanted to do which included catching the Arsenal game on the first night of the Premier League. The hotel is nicely located with enough local character round about ... and right across the street from Hyde Park ... inside it is very nicely appointed. I'm sure I would have enjoyed a drink in the bar if I'd had one. Great stay, thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great facility

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Brought back many memories from my days living in Suffolk and trips to London when I stayed here or the nearby Columbia Club now Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very good

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Very good Location Hyde Park half block little less. Underground around 4 blocks away. Found it very clean toilets ( washrooms) were spotless.
Cons: We didn't hang out in the hotel very much we were always on the go but for location and sleeping have no complaints.
Location: Close to subways, Hyde Park half block away go through Hyde Park and then into Green Park and your at Buckingham Palace if you are a day walker.
The staff was very friendly and helped us with anything we needed directions to places and stuff. The room was very clean and bed was good. We had bottom floor only thing if you opened your window there was fan noise but it was not to loud with window closed would stay again no problem. Location was great for us two underground stations easy walking distance four blocks. Had a really good time and would stay again.