Ratings based on 1,502 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Perfect location for Hyde Park

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: Location!
Cons: The breakfast wasn't very good.
We were very pleased with the location of the hotel - right next to the underground station! The room was dated, but clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast wasn't very good, but the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Feb 14, 2018
It's a lovely hotel. Definitely value for money. Not a five star grade but it's pretty much got it's own ambience and feel. Great location too. I loved it. Lovely staff as well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cairo

hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: The two rooms I lived in we’re fine but the bathrooms need a total refurbishment
Location: The location is excellent
The location is perfect, the rooms need upgrading. The first room was on the ground floor, I asked to be moved because of the noise. I was moved to the 3rd floor which was acceptable but the bathroom was in a poor state and definitely need upgrading. The hotel WiFi was poor. The staff were very nice and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, not so lovely hotel;

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: TV Coffee Tea and MILK bath, shower
Location: Locatrion was very good, straight over the road from a Tube Station and bus stop right outside the front door. Hyde park just over the road
The TV was there, but no access to any stations. All it had was an old aerial lead which appeared to be dead. So no TV ! The coffee and tea making facsilities consisted of a kettle and 2 cups, which was great for 2 of us, but only 2 of those tiny milk thimbles. Unusable. The shower above batrh was loose and had no spray on it. The bath plug leaked Bath had previous occupiers hairs in it The toilet door hinges creeked very very noisely and did not close without being banged, lock was a mixture of 2 tower bolts, Round into a square that did not fit correctly and missing screws made it awkward. Every single wall fitting had only one screw out of 3 screw holes for some reason. The 3 bulb light unit above the bathroom mirror was home to 3 completely different shaped, size, style, wattage bulbs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Close but no cigar

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Looks promising from outside but inside furnitre is a little dated. My first room was in the basement and paint was coming off the wall. Second room was better although a litrle tight for a twin bed. Service is excellent and everyone was very kind. Holiday Inn had what seemed a better room for less money although this hotel is well located right acreoss from Hyde park and jus around the corner from Lancaster train station. Both rooms I had were very noisy in the morning. Maybe a higher floor room would have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna

Great location great character

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Stayed 3 days and it was as expected for an old hotel. Lots of character and friendly staff. Free breakfast was decent but not a full breakfast. the coffee was quite good. Room was small and dated. And the bed I think had a broken spring on one side so I was ok by myself on the other side 😁. Temperature was good and it wasn’t overly noisy despite the room facing the street.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Sucks mad D. My room had 3 single beds. No hot water. Staff ignored me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Sweet old fashioned. Clean, friendly staff. Close to the Tube and parks. Harrod's and Victoria Albert museum.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid At All Costs

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The location.
Cons: False advertising, zero communication between "day" and "night" staff, blatant incompetence, and lying.
From start to finish, my worst hotel experience. I've stayed in many better managed hostels. First, we were supposed to have A/C in our room - this was not provided in the middle of a summer heat wave, we were told it was not available despite the guarantee on the hotel profile page.This was the case for multiple days. Then we were told that our bags would be moved while we were out to a room with A/C (this contradicts what another manager had just told us about it being unavailable). We come back for the night, and our bags were not moved (despite us taking the time to repack everything for the move) and somehow whoever had last entered engaged the physical lock from the outside. The night manager knew nothing of the promises made during the day, and then stood there basically saying nothing could be done. After 20 minutes he agreed to call a locksmith, and in those 20 minutes we got the door open ourselves with a folded pamphlet. At the end of our stay, we were promised a partial refund and profuse communication following our departure by the property manager, none of which happened in any shape or form. Beyond disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: New elevator?
Location: paddington area is close by and there are many pubs and restaurants
London is a very old city, and so is this hotel. I'm pretty sure I'm wrong about this, but it feels like this hotel was built in the 1800s. there's only 1 elevator that fits 3 person at most, the room floor is carpeted but squeak every time I step on it. There isn't much selection for breakfast, boiled eggs, ham, yogurt, croissant, etc. Sometimes they didn't refill the food because they ran out :0 Good location however, 2 minute walk to the Lancaster station. I probably wouldn't stay there again though.