Ratings based on 3,722 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Perfect place

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Awesome location near Paddington Station; plenty of sites to see within walking distance or catch a bus tour; all staff very friendly and helpful; amazingly good Thai restaurant on premises; rooms have been recently remodeled and are modern and clean (although small in size); and it was very QUIET! This is probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA Florida

Absolutely Wonderful Location exquisite views!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The staff at the lancaster is absolutely amazing extremely helpful and considerate and the place has absolutely beautiful views of Hyde Park and the skyline of London and easy access to any tube to get you to the city. The lancaster staff is amazing I've stayed here several times when I come to London and I will continue to do so I love this place and I love London
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel under renovation

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The ground floor and reception area are a construction zone, half of the elevators are being renovated, and there is construction activity and painting all day throughout the hotel. We had one of the newly renovated rooms, and it was very nice--much improved over what was there before. All in all, our stay was fine, even considering the construction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Under construction but very nice hotel. Room was nice and a wonderful view. Five mins walk to paddington station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Major Refurbishment

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Despite the major construction going on around us, this hotel is amazing. The thoughtfulness that has gone into the refurbishment, the well trained staff and the luxurious accommodations made our stay first class yet again. If you don't book here for your London trip you are missing out. One plea to the Royal Lancaster, please don't raise your rates too high once the work is completed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but under renovation

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Rooms were beautiful! Extremely comfortable. Loved the amenities in the rooms including the ability to use US plugs without an adapter! Shower was luxurious! The one downside about the hotel were the renovations going on. We booked the high tea and instead of being in a restaurant we were in a makeshift conference room. The food was great but kind of wrecked the ambiance! Also the tube was located right behind the hotel but none of the staff informed us of that piece of important information at check-in so we stumbled upon it on our last day! The hotel was located much further away from the London sites than we imagined but probably if we knew the Tube was so close that would have mitigated that problem!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Loved everything about the hotel, i.e Location, cleanliness, polite staff. Renovations were going on but since our room was on 11th floor, we were not disturbed by it. Would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beautiful room with views.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Really great hotel if you are able to overlook the fact it's having major construction work being done. I needed to sleep during the day and couldn't really get a minute sleep with construction noise. Would try again when work is complete, great service and great views of London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Sixties treasure given new life

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Design and location.
Cons: Too early to say because the refurbishment is ongoing.
Location: Very, very central! Major London rail terminus (Paddington) within walking distance and a tube station round the corner.
This sixties classic was being refurbished (June 2017) so I stayed on a discount. It's a wonderful location, next to Hyde Park and within walking distance of Paddington station. My 12th floor room had panoramic views of the London skyline but was well-insulated and quiet. The room had been re-fitted in a clean, unfussy style that is contemporary but with a sense of mid-century modern in keeping with the building. Many of the public rooms were out of use when I stayed but their height and huge windows means that they will be impressive. Breakfast was excellent and there was diverse and considered stock in the minibar. The staff were helpful and professional. There are two in-house restaurants but I did not try them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Newly renovated hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
New but slightly small as there's no space for luggage. Do not move the things in mini fridge as there's sensor to capture products missing even though you didn't consume it. I need to explain myself for moving the stuffs in the fridge to make space for my cheese when the hotel statement delivered to my room.