Ratings based on 1,086 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Hotel with an inflated rating?

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: One of the staff obtained an extra chair for the room.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: One reason we chose this hotel was its proximity to Paddington Station, towards departure to Bath, but there are also other hotels there.
It took some doing to find this hotel, as there is another on the path of arrival with a near-identical name (commonly owned?). The lobby looked contemporary, but the corridor was in distress - the floor occasionally heaving and the carpet in mixed condition and poorly installed. This was a good introduction to the room itself. Although narrow it did have a minimal amount of space, by use of a folding built-in desk and clothes cabinet - the latter open despite an attempt to GLUE it shut at the defective latch. But nothing prepared us for the 4'x5' bathroom, which really was a shower behind the rotted door with the toilet and sink built in - so if you took a shower first you'd be standing in water afterwards. The wall tile was occasionally mildewed and the floor more so - resealed by crude application of clear sealant. Needless to say we only walked on towels, and took no shower that night! All this calls into question whether the room itself was very clean, and why did this hotel get a four-star rating from others?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

unsatisfied

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: nothing
not a good experience. The rooms have much to be desired. Need to invest some money in rooms and particularly bathroom. overpriced in my opinion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Notts England

Hyde Park Concert

Posted Sep 12, 2017
A very comfortable clean & modern hotel, close by to Hyde Park !A good base if you wast to be this end of London , easy walking distance to tube station !Went with friends to the gig & all had a fab weekend .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Excellent and helpful staff with well appointed rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel at good location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The hotel is located at good location and about 4 blocks off from Paddington station. It has Good Restaurents near by and "Flavors of India" Restaurent we enjoyed very much. The hotel staff are friendly and nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Disappointing

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good.
Cons: Upgrades to the rooms.
Location: Good location, pleasant area, near enough to shops, tube and Hyde Park/ Kensington Gardens.
It was my first trip to the capital in over 20 years. The hotel was in a good location, within Paddington ( 15 mins walk to tube, shops and Hyde Park ). The staff were friendly enough, but the language barrier got in the way with me, I had a little trouble understanding certain staff members. ( on reception) The room we booked was a Deluxe Queen room. I can honestly say in all my hotel stays ( quite a few ) I have never stayed in such a tiny room. It was literally a bed with tiny bed side cabinets and a 'drop leaf' make shift desk, which came from the wall. No drawers or a wardrobe to hang clothes. There was a strange 'secret' door built into the wall above the bed, which I couldn't access ( I'm only 5'4" ) to hang maybe a couple of shirts. No mirror in bedroom, except a small one on the back of the door on unit which I couldn't reach. No dressing table/desk....Dear knows what the standard rooms were like ! The ensuite shower was okay but could do with an upgrade, again small. Good enough for a bloke staying over for a conference etc but if your'e after something a little more relaxing to rest in between sight seeing, shopping etc I would go somewhere else ! We had air con which was a plus....Not sure why its a 4 star, I think a 3 is more appropriate. Good breakfast though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basement Rooms with opaque windows

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Basement Room without proper window.
Cons: A better description of the room before booking.
Basement Rooms with opaque windows. One can get better rooms for the same price elsewhere or nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Staff were excellent
Staff were very friendly and gave us an upgrade to a club room free of charge Breakfast was very good, short walk to Paddington train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Weekend in London town

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Disappointed in size of the room but other than that had no complaints. Modern, clean, really friendly staff. Plenty of transport options. Loved that it was so near Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing like the pictures they posted online

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Bigger room, or more realistic pictures, do not false advertising.
Location: Paddington station
The only good thing about this hotel is that it is really close to the Paddington station, I only chose this hotel for this reason. The room is tiny, the entire room is pretty much the size of a king size bed, and tiny washroom with open-tyle shower that which wets the entire washroom floor once you take a shower; the shower is so tiny that I couldnt even turn around (I am 6feet 1). In short, if you are planning on getting a single room, do not come to this hotel unless you reall have no other options.