Ratings based on 1,101 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Good location for Hyde Park and Paddington Station

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Hyde Park, Paddington Station, restaurants and mini markets. Staff were polite and helpful. Good bathroom.
Cons: Bed and bedding
Location: As mentioned above
1) Paid for a deluxe twin room with two single beds. Instead I was given a compact room with one double bed. Was a double mattress on a queen frame. Not safe along the sides. I think I deserve a compensation from Expedia. 2) Pillows were not anywhere near plush as claimed, were very uncomfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Room was clean but too hot. The mirror in the bathroom was heated and made everything hot. To dry my hair I had to sit on the bed and open a cupboard door. The bathroom's shower curtain didn't reach the floor so everything was wet. Okay hotel but wouldn't stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

What to expect from this hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Basically every aspect of the stay-- room, service, etc.
Location: London is of course wonderful, but this hotel really puts a damper on one's stay.
As you can see from the pictures, our first room was tiny and filthy. It was located down a hallway off the main corridor next to the service rooms (doors opening and closing regularly). There was hair in the bed; upon closer inspection we found what appeared to be a giant blood stain on the mattress. The second room smelled of mould. The only available ventilation required us to open windows without screens, which allowed insects to enter and fly around. This was not a cheap stay and we are shocked that such poor accommodation is acceptable. To be avoided for certain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Good location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Rooms not as advertised very small and old needs updating if your goin to charge top dollar expensive for the size and breakfast not included disappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Too expensive for value.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location good - shopping, Kensington Park, tube. Some staff exceptional. Buffet breakfast good. Nice neighborhood.
Cons: Dinners and dining room inadequate and pedestrian at best. Overpriced for ambiance.
Location: Walk to tube, wonderful access to Kensington Park, shopping available, nice neighborhood.
Staff great; room ok, location good but with hundreds of accommodations in neighborhood this one is overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Hotel with an inflated rating?

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: One of the staff obtained an extra chair for the room.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: One reason we chose this hotel was its proximity to Paddington Station, towards departure to Bath, but there are also other hotels there.
It took some doing to find this hotel, as there is another on the path of arrival with a near-identical name (commonly owned?). The lobby looked contemporary, but the corridor was in distress - the floor occasionally heaving and the carpet in mixed condition and poorly installed. This was a good introduction to the room itself. Although narrow it did have a minimal amount of space, by use of a folding built-in desk and clothes cabinet - the latter open despite an attempt to GLUE it shut at the defective latch. But nothing prepared us for the 4'x5' bathroom, which really was a shower behind the rotted door with the toilet and sink built in - so if you took a shower first you'd be standing in water afterwards. The wall tile was occasionally mildewed and the floor more so - resealed by crude application of clear sealant. Needless to say we only walked on towels, and took no shower that night! All this calls into question whether the room itself was very clean, and why did this hotel get a four-star rating from others?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

unsatisfied

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: nothing
not a good experience. The rooms have much to be desired. Need to invest some money in rooms and particularly bathroom. overpriced in my opinion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Notts England

Hyde Park Concert

Posted Sep 12, 2017
A very comfortable clean & modern hotel, close by to Hyde Park !A good base if you wast to be this end of London , easy walking distance to tube station !Went with friends to the gig & all had a fab weekend .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Excellent and helpful staff with well appointed rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel at good location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The hotel is located at good location and about 4 blocks off from Paddington station. It has Good Restaurents near by and "Flavors of India" Restaurent we enjoyed very much. The hotel staff are friendly and nice