Ratings based on 1,070 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to Paddington Station

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Staff attitude, cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general.
Cons: Room layouts
Location: Safe location a few minutes walk away from Heathrow Express, National Rail and Tube services.
Reception and hotel staff, courteous, helpful and obliging. Room (515) in beautiful condition with all facilities but miniscule with a poor layout - furniture arranged in what could be described as a slightly wide corridor, the single bed against the wall with a desk at the bottom along the wall, then a cupboard near the window. Restaurant and bar closed to due to hotel renovations but plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafes around the corner and at the refurbished Paddington Station, a few minutes away. Bathroom tiny but worked well. Fresh flowers in the hallways, fruit in bowls at reception show that management are making the best of a difficult situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Small, friendly, individual hotel
Location: Excellent location close to bars, restaurants, local shops, station
Room was small but very clean and comfortable. Had a small balcony which was a pleasant bonus. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Due to current refurbishment programme I am not able to comment on the restaurant. Location of the hotel is great, close to Paddington station for quick and easy access to the rest of London. I would definitely return and would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Nice hotel in a great location Restaurants and tube station very close by
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Refund despite family emergency

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Booked this hotel months ago and needed to cancel (gave plenty of notice) due to a family emergency. Totally unkind and unsympathetic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
On the plus side, the hotel is a convenient short walk from Paddington train station. The breakfast buffet, which was included with my rate, was nicely laid out and with a good selection. However, the hotel is currently undergoing extensive renovation works - which I soon found out once I arrived as it was hard to see the facade under all the scaffolding! Also, the window in the room where I was staying in the basement did not close properly, so there was a potential security issue.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Avoid at all costs

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Close to Paddington.
I stayed at this hotel for a night with my family. We were put in a basement room that stank of mould, was tatty and worn and with a non functional AC and TV. The only positives I can muster are that the WIFI was fine and the bathroom had been recently renovated. I asked to move and was told there was no availability. I would not have minded quite so much if we were being charged a low price for the room but our stay was far from cheap (I regularly use London hotels and have a decent sense of the prices).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Hotel cancelled our booking without good reason

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We booked the Shaftesbury Premier London Hotel well in advance at a decent rate, but the hotel cancelled our booking 10 days before our arrival date and we were forced to find alternate/more expensive accommodations. This despite emails from Expedia confirming our booking and explicitly stating there was no need to reconfirm. Overall our experience with this hotel was very stressful and disappointing. I complained to Expedia with no response, compounding this terrible experience.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Good location for Paddington Station and Hyde Park

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and comfortable and the room had air conditioning. Its a two minute stroll to Paddington station/underground and a 15 minute stroll to Hyde Park. Perfect for a base if your going to a concert in Hyde Park. The room I had was a little small but it was clean and the bathroom was also clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good Value and close to Paddington Station

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Good price and value, clean and stylish, great breakfast, friendly staff.
Cons: Specify accurate bed size.
Location: Paddington station is near by, and you can get to the city center in 15-20 minutes.
Nice small hotel located on the adorable street with clean and comfortable rooms, although their queen beds are actually double beds. This is the reason i reserved this hotel because we had 3 adult people and needed two queen beds, that turned out to be kind of small. If you sleep alone on this bed it is very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with large variety of hot food, pastries and fruit. If you are planning to take Heathrow Express and have a lot of luggage, there is a bit of a walk to the station. The staff were very friendly and helpful with providing directions.