Ratings based on 1,063 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Nice hotel in a great location Restaurants and tube station very close by
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Refund despite family emergency

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Booked this hotel months ago and needed to cancel (gave plenty of notice) due to a family emergency. Totally unkind and unsympathetic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
On the plus side, the hotel is a convenient short walk from Paddington train station. The breakfast buffet, which was included with my rate, was nicely laid out and with a good selection. However, the hotel is currently undergoing extensive renovation works - which I soon found out once I arrived as it was hard to see the facade under all the scaffolding! Also, the window in the room where I was staying in the basement did not close properly, so there was a potential security issue.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Avoid at all costs

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Close to Paddington.
I stayed at this hotel for a night with my family. We were put in a basement room that stank of mould, was tatty and worn and with a non functional AC and TV. The only positives I can muster are that the WIFI was fine and the bathroom had been recently renovated. I asked to move and was told there was no availability. I would not have minded quite so much if we were being charged a low price for the room but our stay was far from cheap (I regularly use London hotels and have a decent sense of the prices).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Hotel cancelled our booking without good reason

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We booked the Shaftesbury Premier London Hotel well in advance at a decent rate, but the hotel cancelled our booking 10 days before our arrival date and we were forced to find alternate/more expensive accommodations. This despite emails from Expedia confirming our booking and explicitly stating there was no need to reconfirm. Overall our experience with this hotel was very stressful and disappointing. I complained to Expedia with no response, compounding this terrible experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Living in an overheated building site

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: friendly staff
Air CONDITIONING was totally inadequate. In basement where door configuration was a joke. Builders walking past our room from 6.30 in the morning. Couldn't leave window open during day as builders up and down fire escape all day.Like staying on a building site and certainly no privacy. Room was very disappointing and certainly well beneath what we expected without the building site aspect. It was also disappointing to read that the price we paid did not include breakfast despite the hotel's website saying so
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

hotel to avoid

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Construction on half the hotel. Tremendous noise from 7am but no notice on expedia or hotel itself about it. No light near table so you cant do any work. Very dark room and toilet is the brightest place. Toilet smells. Cheqing gum on carpet in the room. Why it is rated 4 stars is question.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

beware, they overbook rooms

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I was denied a room due to overbooking and was given no alternative solution.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Loction

Posted May 8, 2017
The location is very good because is near Paddington station so you get to see a lot of the city through the public transport. The hotel was good for a last minute reservation.It is very clean
5 out of 5
by Ronny

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Location, location, location! Great location.