Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

the only good about the hotel is its location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: upgrade your room please, everything is falling apart
Location: near to bus stop
location is the only good thing about the hotel. everything else was just terrible. Their staff are friendly and informative too. but the lousiness of the room does not justify the rate they are charging. We were there during winter time and can you imagine not having hot water for shower / bath??? it was really a bad experience for us. the room was cramp and the housekeeping staff was just lazy, barely tidy up the room. i would not recommend this room during winter. oh ya, only one plug / wall socket was working in the room, so i had to wait if my wife wants to use the plug for hair dryer or chargeing the phone / camera or even boil the water?!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Management
Dear MD, Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us here in London. It is very disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with your room and I am truly sorry that you felt it to be below your level of expectation. Please rest assured that we are aware of the room you were allocated and are investigating each issue raised, and shall ensure that the appropriate restorative actions are taken. We are undergoing a full hotel audit over the coming weeks and your feedback shall be used to help with this, and for that we are grateful. Regarding the water in your bathroom, we did experience an unexpected and exceptional situation where our hot water supply was interrupted but this was resolved by our Maintenance team swiftly; nevertheless I am sorry for the impact this had on your stay. I truly hope that you will try us again in the future as your experiences on this stay are definitely an exception. Our location clearly worked for you and I am certain that you will have a more enjoyable stay on the next occasion. Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay.

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay and didnt drive anywhere once. The room was a bit hot at night but would definitley recommend still.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review of your stay, and for making our hotel your London home-from-home. It was an absolute delight to read your glowing review and to see that you would recommend us. I am very glad that you were able to make use of our excellent transport links, and I really hope that you got to enjoy all of the sights and attractions that London has to offer! I do apologise for the issue with the warm room; as we are in the winter months we have indeed turned up our heating to match the outside conditions, but I am sorry if this was too much for you. I am heartened by the fact that this did not impact too heavily on your stay, and we shall take your feedback on board. We truly hope you back in the new year, for another enjoyable stay! Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here in London. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and that you found the hotel satisfactory. However, we are always striving to achieve 100% and I am sorry that we did not make it on this occasion. We hope that you will come back to try us again in the future; I am sure you will have an even more enjoyable stay the next time around. Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Central location

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms updated
Location: Winter wonderland - Hyde park
Great location, just what we needed. Room was a little dated and bathroom had seen better days. However comfy beds, nice heavy curtains so no light coming through, plenty of room for the two of us. Nice friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear TG, Thank you very much for taking the time to share feeback from your recent stay with us here at the Thistle Hyde Park. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found many aspects of our hotel to have worked for you. We are indeed very lucky to have an unbeatable location, with so many easy transport links and Hyde Park a stone's throw away, as well as a fantastic team who do whatever they can to make sure our guests have the best stay possible. I am also grateful for your comments regarding our blackout curtains; perfect if you are a light sleeper. We are also grateful for your constructive comments regarding the bedroom and bathroom, though I do hope that you were not too inconvenienced by these areas; while we try our best to maintain the classical styling as befits the hotel's Victorian roots, this should never come across as dated and I shall be looking into the room you were in with our Housekeeping Manager. I truly hope that we will see you in 2017, for another enjoyable stay; the team look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very comfortable

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great size room and service with a smile
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for this lovely and positive review of your stay with us here at the Thistle Hyde Park. We are all thrilled that you found our hotel so comfortable, and that you appreciated your room. I am also delighted that you found the service to be so positive; we are lucky to have a highly dedicated and enthusiastic team who work tirelessly to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible, and I will definitely be congratulating them on their success as well as sharing your review at our next staff meeting. I hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back very soon, for another fantastic time in London! Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely Shabby & Run down

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
This Hotel is dreadfully Shabby! & run down... Extremely disappointed even the carpets have not been cleaned for years.. Absolutely Filthy! I've stayed in 2 star hotel that were far Superior...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am incredibly disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay in our hotel, and am truly sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Clearly there were many aspects of your visit that you were not happy with, and I must apologise for any issues that affected you during your time with us. Please rest assured that we hoover all rooms and public areas on a daily basis but if we did not match your level of expectation, again, I am truly sorry. I truly feel that your experiences were exceptional, as we are frequently praised on our attention to detail and our cleanliness. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future, to prove that this is the case. Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Weekend Getaway

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us, and for making our hotel your London getaway's base of operations. I am absolutely delighted that you found our hotel excellent, and that you enjoyed your time with us. The team are as pleased as I am to know that you were satisfied, and we all really look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, charming staff, great value

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were fantastic and so helpful especially with taxi directions. Really friendly. The room was quirky - steps up to bedroom and down again to bathroom, but great size twin, and fab location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, First off I would like to thank you for making our hotel your London base of operations, and also for taking the time to share such lovely feedback from your visit. I am absolutely thrilled that you found our hotel, its location and our team so fantastic; to know that you appreciated one of hotel's unique bedrooms, with its larger size and unusual features, is particularly delightful! I am looking forward to sharing your kind words regarding our staff during our next hotel meeting, and I am sure the team will be as delighted as I was to hear of your satisfaction with their hard work. I really hope that we will be getting the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future; the team looks forward to ensuring another fantastic visit. Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed on our recent visit to London, our second visit and second stay at Thistle. Staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms tastefully decorated and super comfy. We will definitely stay again on our next UK holiday
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you ever so much for the lovely review of your recent stay with us here in London! I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and am really pleased to know that you would recommend us. We are lucky to have such a dedicated, customer-focused team who work tirelessly to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible, and I am very much looking forward to sharing this kind feedback with them on our next staff meeting. I really hope that your next UK holiday is not too far away, and that we will be your home from home when you can make it over. We all look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Good Position - Poor Standard of Room

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The breakfast and surroundings were very enjoyable.
Cons: Our room and bathroom which was falling apart in places, a lot of road noise throughout the night.
Location: Excellent central location for a stroll through Hyde Park.
The Thistle Hyde Park is definitely positioned well for visiting London, however our room, particularly the bathroom was in desperate need of an upgrade, as well we were unable to view the television from our bed and being beside a busy road made for a lot of noise day and night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Clare Rasmussen, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. I was most disappointed to read that you were not totally satisfied with your stay, and am truly sorry that you faced issues with your room. I have made an investigation of your room by our Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers a key priority, and any deficiencies that are found shall be rectified at the nearest possible time. We do our very best to maintain our historic property, but I must apologise if you did not find the room to your level of expectation. We do face challenges in London when it comes to noise, as with any major city. As a listed property we are limited in the structural works we can carry out especially with our windows; nevertheless I am sorry for any disturbance you may have faced. I am pleased that you found our breakfast and location to be redeeming features of the hotel. Our restaurant team work very hard, ensuring that our customers have the very best experience, and I shall be passing on your kind feedback to them later today. I really hope that you will give us the chance to "wow!" you in the future; I am sure your next stay will be far more enjoyable, and we shall most certainly look after you. Kind regards,