Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jesse from Arizona

Relaxation

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
beautiful place to stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great yoga getaway

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
This was a yoga retreat for me so you cannot compare this hotel with the amenities you have at other high end hotels but in terms of yoga retreat, this place is excellent!! Excellent clean room surrounded by nature, amazing food, coffee & fresh juices everyday!!! Great walks to do everyday & yoga schedule & activities!!
5 out of 5
by Michael from Fort Collins, CO

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Great place with a view of the ocean.
4 out of 5
by Melissa from Honolulu

Well Needed Place of Relaxation

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Kalani is beautiful. Reception is a bit relaxed and the contemporary Buddhist mentality and peaceful nature of the ʻāina is present there. If you have a fear of bugs this place may not be ideal as it is very tropical.Everything was lovely.
3 out of 5
by Melissa

Utopia

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
Initially the room looked clean hundreds and hundreds of bug/beetle crept out of every corner of the room at night. The bugs were flying around getting into my bags,clothes, shoes, landing on my body as well as causing painful sores. Room service was requested multiple times and eventually I was offered to move rooms.After the bug incident, I'm not sure if their staff is just not paying attention during work but they charged me $100 more to switch rooms after I had paid $89.95 for the accommodation via. expedia. They insisted on paying a $50 membership fee which was asked to donate every single time my card was run. The retreat center would allow random visitors off the street to visit and use accommodations.I would have preferred more strict method for outside guests. Excellent food, grounds,massage therapy, and yoga were great. The yoga classes were the best I have ever taken although I was charged an extra $5.00 fee for every class when outsiders could take the classes for $10 and not necessarily residents of Hawaii.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheat Neck, WV

Quite and relaxing!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and quite.
Comfortable and quite, rural slow paced atmosphere! Nice area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, Sk.

Beautiful land and rooms. Naked people too.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Enjoyed and would recommend. Nice grounds, loved the bungalow. Sleep to the sounds of jungle. Pool and hits tubs. Food available 3 times a day.
5 out of 5
by Alfredo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coffs Harbour

Serenity

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Quiet and peaceful in the evening. Bungalows are spread out so noise doesn't carry. Didn't use the pool but it looked pretty good.
Location: Absolutely nothing nearby. You pretty much must have a car unless you want to try hitching. Pahoa is about 9 miles away where there are eateries.
We booked at the Kalani Retreat because of its location, rather than for the lifestyle services and classes offered. We’re just travellers on a budget and were slightly concerned we may be treated as outsiders but needn’t have worried. On arrival we were checked-in without hassle, quickly and efficiently but with a friendly smile and were soon on our way to our bungalow. First sight was one of the few nasty surprises during our stay – the bungalows are semi’s with a party stud wall down the middle. I had wrongly assumed them to be single occupancy. There are also no glass windows – just insect screens, which wasn’t a problem, apart from a few coughs and footsteps during the night we didn’t hear a peep from next door. The bungalow isn’t huge, but is big enough to be comfortable. The bathroom is small but well fitted, clean and functional with toiletries provided. We planned to spend most of our time during the stay visiting the Volcanoes National Park (1 hour drive) and viewing live lava flows in Pahoa. The live lava flows didn’t co-operate and had been closed off during our visit, but Kalani isn’t a bad base to drive to the National Park, even though Kalani is a bit further south than we’d thought. Kalani is pretty isolated. You do need a hire car to get around and need to have meal options sorted as the nearest supermarket/restaurant is in Pahoa 9 miles away. The bungalow has a fridge, but keeping any food outside the fridge is not encouraged because of insect life. Kalani