Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Placida, Florida

Posted Jan 27, 2019
What did we like? We loved everything about Moon Shadow! We loved the spacious two bedroom unit that was impeccable clean, totally equipped, and beautifully decorated. The patio offered a perfect place to have a glass of wine, enjoy an amazing view of the harbor, and have a wonderful place to end a busy day and begin our evening. We fell in love with the view of the harbor complete with sailboats coming and going. Most of all we appreciated our wonderful hosts, Beat and Gerry, who made us feel part of their home. They were there when we needed advice and needed to be pointed in the right direction. They were so very kind and helpful yet not intrusive. The breakfasts they served were just right! The restaurant they recommended gave us the best table and a delicious meal, the best of our trip. Moon Shadow is simply perfect in all respects! How lucky we were to have our time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2019 by Gerry and Beat, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your very kind review; we so much appreciate your nice comments, and enjoy looking after nice and interesting people, it makes our efforts so much worth while. Thank you for staying with us! Warm regards Gerry and Beat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing!!!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Gerry and Beat are the most amazing hosts, they made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The views are unbelievable from the accomodation and are complimented by the amazing service provided by the hosts. We would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends and look forward to staying here again in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Gerry and Beat, Hotel Management
Thank you so much John for your kind review, we really appreciate it, and are so happy that we could make your stay so unforgettable. Best wishes to you both, and we hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Fabulous

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
Just go, it will exceed your expectations
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Gerry and Beat, Hotel Management
Thank you Philip for your kind response, we really appreciate it when our guests value our efforts. With our very best wishes to you both, and hoping to see you again sometime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best B&B anywhere.

Posted Dec 17, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing in every way. The best of everything and more. Fabulous hosts, accommodation, and view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review, much appreciated! So pleased that you enjoyed our corner of the world so much too. Gerry and Beat
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is what you look for - but hardly ever find!

Posted Jan 9, 2019 on Hotels
Moon Shadow is really a unique luxury B&B, situated on a hill side overlooking the Bay of Islands area at Paihia - a spectacular view! (see pic) We spend four days there and enjoyed it so much. The hosts Gerry and Beat are so nice, friendly, helpful and caring about your wellbeing, while you're there. The breakfast is high class (see pic) and they even arranged specials meeting the food intolerance issue, we have in the family. Gerrys home baked croissants are just wonderful. An absolute amazing place. The Bay of Islands area is a pearl. Ask Gerry and Beat for advice and they will guide you to some very good experiences. We had dinner at Zane Greys and Charlott's, both at the pier. And we tried out The Duke in Russell. All three very good, but our favourite was The Glasshouse in Paihia, where they serve the dishes as 'shared food' - really recommendable. We also visited Omata Vineyard and Kitchen - that's a 'must do'. Enjoy the surroundings, order one of their thin crust pizza's together with a glass of Pinot Gris and you will understand why this is must do (see pic) Best advise: go there while you have the chance
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2019 by Gerry and Beat, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Lars for this wonderful review! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and it is so rewarding to read your review, because we really enjoyed spoiling you and your family a bit. You have all been so receptive and grateful for what we offered, and that makes is for us such a pleasure. We hope that you enjoy your trip further South as much, and really do hope to see you and your family again sometime. Thank you again very much for staying with us, for guests like yourselves, nothing is too much trouble! Take good care, have fun and stay healthy! Gerry and Beat
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Posted Jan 5, 2019
Perfekte Gastgeber. Seht engagiert. Zimmer ist geräumig und sehr gut ausgestattet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2019 by Gerry and Beat, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind review. It is always gratifying when our guests appreciate our efforts.