Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Nice hotel on the coast

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: It was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Location: The Treaty Grounds are a must-see. Also there were many different water tours/activities.
This was a really comfortable hotel right near all of the area's attractions and amenities. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. It was very clean and had everything we needed for a good stay. We appreciated the comfortable bed and pillows. We would certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane.

great location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great location, only a short walk to wharf, restaurants and main town. Staff were very friendly- great suggestions on places to eat. Rooms well maintained but mattress on fold out bed/sofa was awful, no support or padding between self and springs. Would happily stay here again despite uncomfortable mattress on sofa bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paihia 's prize

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient location and helpful team.
Cons: The sofa bed was not as comfortable as the bed in the main bedroom.
Location: Close walk to the ferry and local cafes and restaurant, say an 8 minute walk. Very convenient!
A fantastic place to stay. Just a short walk to the ferry where we enjoyed a great afternoon in Russell and another great day out to the Hole in the Rock. Equally a short walk to local cafes and restaurants. Had a great dinner at Greens! All our adventures were recommended by Lorraine who was exceptionally helpful in providing suggestions and advice as to getting around. Wonderful room, good layout, super clean! Well done Sea Spray!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Had an ok stay, room was nice and clean, hotel staff were awesome and very helpful recommending places to eat ect. However the bed/couch was horrible to sleep in and the tv in the bedroom did not work for us. The rest of our stay was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei, NZ

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice and clean with good faclitiies. Manager really friendly and good location can walk into Paihia
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Dear Nic, Thank you for the 5 star review. We are delighted you found our facilities well appointed. Thank you for the personal acknowledgement too and hope to welcome you back one day. Warm Regards from Lorraine & the Heritage Sea Spray Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warning! Thieving maids!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I was enjoying my stay here (short walk to the town, clean room)...however this was promptly ruined by the fact that when I returned from a day sightseeing, my belongings had been moved and gone through and $40 had been taken from my bag!! I would not recommend staying here for this reason.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
To whom it may concern, thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback received whether complimentary or constructive as it allows us to us to understand our guests’ needs and to better deliver exceptional service. Regarding your claim of missing money, I can confirm that an investigation was conducted and all relevant staff were spoken to about this incident. Our staff are very loyal and trustworthy and based on this no further action was taken by us. We suggested to you to make an official police report which you declined therefore find it disappointing that you have chosen online forums to discuss instead. Warm Regards, Lorraine Marsh - Assistant Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Somewhere special for a special occasion

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms, stylish furnishings, modern look, comfortable, high standard of cleanliness, genuinely friendly staff, private, quiet.
Cons: Only the length of our stay! Everything else is wonderful!
Location: Away from traffic noise, close to everything, Sea Spray Suites is ideally situated. Excellent food choices, KeriKeri market. Mission House.
The Bay of Islands has always been a special place for us and we've stayed in many different places here. I wanted somewhere extra nice for a special birthday and chose Sea Spray Suites for the first time from the pictures featured. I chose well! During the weekend I talked with three different staff and found each one to be particularly friendly. .Chocolates we've had before - though not often - but the extra touch with them we haven't experienced elsewhere was the handwritten card of welcome and the assurance that staff would be happy to help with anything to make our stay more enjoyable. Our Deluxe Room was spacious, light, very modern and stylish and beautifully clean. I wish we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Lorraine Marsh - Assistant Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anna, thank you for taking the time to place a wonderful review on your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated our location and amenities. We hope to welcome you back again next time you visit Paihia. Warm Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Well placed for Waitangi Treaty Grounds

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Good value for money
Location: Well placed for Waitangi Treaty Grounds
1; bed room apartment very cosy and warm, especially as the weather was extremely cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Lorraine at front desk was amazing, great location half way to everywhere you want to go and a short walk away
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

It was nice

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Wotif
Was a good stay only thing that was a pain is parking, very tight and hard to get a park
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. Warm Regards from Lorraine & The Sea Spray Team