Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omapere northland new zealand

Close to town and the beach is within a few mins w

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Proximity to town.
Location: Close to resturants bars and shops as well as the jetty for the ferry to Russell.
Staff were very helpful room clean bed comfy, Plenty of coffee and tea
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Thank you for feedback, we would love to have you stay with us again some time. Merry Christmas from Maureen and Phil and all the staff at the Swiss Chalet Motel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Good location, close to all the amenities. It had undercover parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Maureen and Phil, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope you are able to come back to stay with us another time. Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangapararoa

Last stop heading home after a motorcycle event

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The staff were super helpful, on arriving after checking in, one of the group went to start his bike, there was a loud bang, like a gun going off. Then no matter what we tried, we couldn’t restart it. The man who checked us in was helping with pushing the bike up and down the carpark. Then he brought out a battery charger, a tester, tools etc. we stripped the bike down and found it was a dead battery. Anyhow, we tracked one down at Repcos in Kerikeri and an hour later, the bike was back to life. The help was awesome. The rooms are in pristine condition, only a minutes walk to the beach and a couple more to cafe’s and shops, where I upgraded my old jandals before relaxing at a local bar with a cold one. A ferry trip to Russell for dinner over the mirrored water and Dinner at the waterfront watching the sun set. The next morning, the toggle in my zip broke on my bike jacket as I did it up. I knew when we stopped I would melt in my jacket if I couldn’t get it off, this time, it was the other proprietor, his wife I believe, she managed to get a paper clip through it and saved the day. Some of the rooms have awesome water views. And are big enough for a family. With lots of space. Next time I’m heading up that way, this place will be my first choice. Thankyou.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Maureen and Phil, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are always happy that we are able to help our guests. Maybe you will stay with us again some time when you are on another road trip. Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor,England

Lovely hotel,close to all amenities

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable and spacious room,bed very comfortable,room clean
Location: Walking distance to restaurants and activities, ie boat trips round the Bay
Very congenial host,was very welcoming,lovely man,very informative and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Phil and Maureen, Hotel Management
Hi Mary Thank you for your great review. We always try to look after our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards
5 out of 5
by Darren

Awesome place so close to town and beach

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
We absolutely loved staying here. The rooms were clean, very comfi bed, quiet and very close to town. Would highly recommend staying here :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017
Hi Darren Thank you for your awesome review. It was lovely to have you stay with us and perhas you will come back agin some day
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Our stay in Pahia

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and the area were lovely. The staff were really nice and very helpful, particularly when my wife became ill. They were great. The hotel is very convenient for all the local attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Hi kevin, thank you for your feedback. It is always a worry to us when our guests are not well and we do try to help where possible. Hopefully you are enjoying the remainder of your holiday. Regards Maureen and Phil
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel close to the town centre and beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very nice and friendly staff, had a great time here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to shops and attractions

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Ease of access, location
Location: Paihia is a great location to see all there is on offer in the Bay Of Islands. Waitangai Treaty Grounds tour is excellent and well worth a visit
Owners very friendly, just like family. Central location within easy reach of shops, attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice hotel close to town centre

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Owner Maureen was excellent. She certainly made you feel welcome and went out of her way to help us explore the Bay of Islands. She made dinner reservations for us at the Duke on Russell Island and for a couple other adventure trips. Had it been really hot, AC would have been nice but we did not need it with patio door open. Wonderful way to end our 6 weeks in NZ!
5 out of 5
by Damon from Orlando, Florida. USA

Great experience

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Swiss Chalet Lodge. The room was spacious, well furnished and the owners were fantastic.