Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by New Orleans couple

Quiet, Out of the way B & B

Posted May 30, 2013 on Orbitz
We had some trouble finding the place mainly because the travel docuiments listed the B & B as in Castel Florintino. We called them directly only to discover we had traveled quite a ways out of the area. They are actually located in Palaia. My husband knew how to get there traveling the back roads and it was an amazing scenic drive we totally enjoyed. Just as we'd hoped it was in the countryside and Ornella our host showed us to our room. We had to climb some concrete steps to the uppermost floor that could prove inconvenient for older guests, but was not a problem for us. The room was rather sparse and there were no toiletries, so it's a good thing we had our own. We had the entire floor to ourselves and appreciated the privacy. Once we figured out how to get the water warm in the shower the pressure was not that good, but at least the water was warm. The views were amazing and unbeatable and so was Ornella's freshly baked apricot pastry which she served to us with a cappucino shortly after our arrival! Yum! She recommended a great place to eat in the nearby village and after browsing at several of the shops in the village we returned to the B & B. We slept soundly through the night, but was awakened by two cats on the premises who apparently accidentally slept inside our building and made a lot of noise early in the morning. We later found out they were trying to get out of the house. Once freed all was calm again. I made some instant coffee while waiting for breakfast and discovered there was no milk or sugar in our space. There was a kitchen available but we did not use it with the exception of the coffee. Great place overall and we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Paul G

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Orchedia - not your average B & B. It's better.

Posted Jun 6, 2011 on Hotels
Amazing. If you enjoy beautiful surroudings, complete relaxation and friendly people - stay here. The view from every window in this large, charming villa is breathtaking. The staff are wonderful (good idea to brush up on your Italian first!) and friendly. Eat breakfast in the garden while enjoying toast with homemade jam. A wonderful Bed & Breakfast location with your own private area. Great for long stays and children. I would highly reccomend this B&B. The lovely owner will welcome you with open arms and remind you why Tuscany is still the best place to visit. Location close by to Voltarre, Pisa and Siena. Toronto, Canada June, 2011
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

nice and quiet place with the

Posted Aug 11, 2009 on RatesToGo
nice and quiet place with the touch of local hospitality. can only recommend. with the good quality swiming pool you feel you could stay there for weeks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vanessa

Gorgeous location, beautiful a

Posted Jun 8, 2009 on RatesToGo
Gorgeous location, beautiful accomodation+swimmingpool. Lovely mother and daughter who run the place and even give the breakfast/ dinner a very special touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

A typical Toscan country-house

Posted May 5, 2009 on RatesToGo
A typical Toscan country-house in a beautiful location - on top of a hill. Nice view, nice rooms and neighbourhood. Breakfast room was another funny suprise - a separate little building (probably an ex-flowerhouse?). I wish we could spend there much more time, to enjoy the pool, the peace, the view...(but we went for exploring the tourist attractions, instead, which was not bad either). Maybe, next time. I would definitely recommend it. (However, you should know that it is not very close to Pisa, I think Voltera or San Gimignano is closer a bit - but there are several nice little villages in the neighbourhood - which worth to have a look as well, Palaia is the closest).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Landhaus in toller Umgebung

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Unser Aufenthalt im Orchidea war sehr schön. Ein wunderschönes Landhaus mitten in der einzigartigen Landschaft der Toskana. Durch die ruhige, abgelegene Lage war es der ideale Ort für uns zum erholen. Trotzdem erreicht man die größeren Städte Florenz und Pisa in einer Stunde. Vor Ort kann man den großen Pool und die zahlreichen Liegen nutzen. Sehr nette Gastgeberin! Tipp: Man sollte an Mückenspray denken. Und man sollte sich bewusst sein, dass nachts viele Eidechsen im Schlafzimmer unterwegs sind. Alles in allem aber sehr empfehlenswert!
5 out of 5
by Ludovic from pont noyelles

decouverte de la toscane

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
découverte de l’Italie très belle region.tres bon séjour dans l'etablissement.peut etre un petit point sur la salle de bain commune(le reste est magnifique et tres bon accueil.
4 out of 5
by Monica from Norway

Great Hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed at Orchidea in an apartment with my husband and two children, age 10 and 13 for a night in July 2014. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so don't expect to buy food or to get something to eat easily upon arrival. But if you remember to take a quick stop at any supermarket before reaching Palaia, and get some bread and juice, you'll do more than great. Standard is a Bed and breakfast +, in my opinion, but the Hotel is placed very secluded, private and almost "romantically" alone up in the hills. The pool is perhaps the best, with it's really, really nice and great view, approx a 1 min walk from the Hotel. I myself is obsessed with great and fancy hotels, but this one did really get to my heart a little, and I'd love to return one day. Might be a little dull for many days, as the only near sentrum is Palaia (wich is a very local and small town), but it's absolutely perfect for a Tuscany - wine - secluded - read-a-good-book and romance-all-alone kinda place :-) I think we were basically almost the only guests as well :-) Friendly staff and spacious rooms also a plus. Family apartments had two separate bedrooms with two queensize beds, a small kitchen with refrigiator and a bathroom. All in a wooden, kinda old style, but I liked it :-) Shower wasn't very cooperative, but Usable :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schöne toskanische Landschaft

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Cons: Das Frühstück
Wunderbare Landschaft, absolute Ruhe, super Pool, gute Restaurants und Märkte in der Nähe.