Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

perfect for our visit

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely pleasant to interact with, especially the front desk staff.
Cons: Water pressure was great, plumbing could have been better.
Location: Close enough to attractions, yet far enough away to relax.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Met expectations - Free Breakfast

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast & Staff, Good AC, Clean, nice bathrooms in rooms.
Cons: Put NatGeo, History Channel, CNN on TVs in rooms, put some strips on doors to eliminate slamming
Location: Close to airport, South to town for everything
The Airai Water Paradise was overall a strong "OK". The hotel is very close to the airport which can be a plus, but it is rather removed from the rest of the happenings around the islands. The hotel features a nice pool with some water slides, wait staff will bring you drinks, etc. If you like hanging out at the hotel and looking at the jungle around you, it is pretty good. The free breakfast is a nice thing too, always good to start the day with a decent breakfast. Chinese guests will make up the majority of the people you will encounter here. If, like me, you want to spend time diving and exploring, rent a car. The staff can assist you with that. The hotel is mostly wood flooring, it is loud and echos when other guest come and go around you. The staff was always great. There are NO elevators and the stairs are steep. If you have bad knees, beware. TV channels in room are very limited and do not match the channels showing in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Great, friendly staff that will do anything for you. A free shuttle bus into town and flexible use of shuttle bus as a taxi service.
Cons: The place is in need of some renovating. Very outdated decor
Location: A long way from the town centre and dive shops. Not much to do in the local area other than the 2 water slides and massage facilities at the hotel
We thought it was much closer the the beach. You can see the water from the elevated rooms. Buffet breakfast was plentiful but definitely caters more for the Asian tourists. Staff are all so helpful and are idling to book day trips from reception. For a small fee the shuttle bus will pick up and drop off to any location at any time even though they have a free set schedule into town. Rooms are clean though sheets weren't changed everyday (though the bed was made every day). No elevated
1 out of 5
by Matt from Australia

OLD and Stinks

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Good sized rooms.
Cons: AC in foyer, tv channels and fix the awful smell in the rooms.
Location: close to the airport not close to anything else.
I booked this hotel on line, it is an older hotel of 4 floors with no lift. The hotel is old dark wood and looks quite nice inside. There is not AC in the foyer area and limited AC in the dining room, these are the only places you can get wifi. The rooms are large and have good AC they were clean if not a bit dated. There are only two channels on the tv and no movies etc. The main problem with this hotel is that the rooms stink of sewerage and after a few hours make you feel sick. When I asked for another room I was told all the rooms are the same. If they fixed this problem the hotel would be an ok place to stay. Location wise it is out of town and limited options for getting into town. I would not stay here again, staff were nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport and good for shorts stays.

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Hotel is older and going under some touch ups. I wouldn't say renovations because they are just changing a few things. The pool side bar wasn't open and the only wifi available is in the lobby. The televisions in the room get very few channels and you can often find the two couches in the lobby full of people trying to watch regular programming. The restaurant is expensive and not super great. Nothing really for vegetarians except for the cheese pizza. However, the staff was nice, they turned on the water for the water slides when the kids wanted to use them, and the free shuttle into town was great. We finally learned our lesson and would just head to town for dinner. Lots of Taiwanese tourist with their kids so it can be a bit noisy. The room was basic but clean. We were in an ocean view suite on the 2nd floor. Air conditioning in the room was cold and the bed was fine. Plenty of room to spread put our things. If you are going to be out touring or diving all day, this place is fine. If you you are looking for a luxury resort to hang out in, look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from China

Great value and excellent staff

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: The shuttle service
Cons: Nothing
Location: 5 mins away from the airport and 15 mins away from downtown
Wonderful experience at Airai. The hotel is a little old, but the service was great from the friendly and helpful staff. The location was close to the airport and away from everything, but the hotel shuttle was willing to drive us everywhere and at anytime for little or no extra charge. The drivers picked us up and sent us to the airport at 3am and 4am. The hotel is 5 mins away from the airport so it was important for us to stay here for those flights. The breakfast buffet was not bad, free of charge when booking on expedia. The hotel doesn't have its own beach, but the swimming pool was wonderful. The gift shop had some nice things for lower prices than other places. Overall, i would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff is AWESOME!

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: Steps/Maintenance/Cleanliness
Location: Close to the Aiport, and has shuttle to town and dive boats.
Can't give enough compliments to the hotel's staff. They were AWESOME! Very helpful and accommodating. They even upgraded our room for free (without us even asking) to a corner beach front room. We emailed our flight times to them ahead of time and they had someone at the airport to pick us up and he helped us arrange our snorkeling tour as well as a rental car. One word of caution about this hotel -- it does not have an elevator. There were steps to the room (on the third floor) and also steps down to the pool/water park. Nice, basic hotel -- good breakfast buffet. Internet is available in the lobby, but is slow, Hotel is older and there are some areas that could be cleaned. Bottom line, we didn't spend much time at the hotel -- we were out seeing Palau and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel to stay for late arrival on the flight.

Posted Oct 18, 2012
Staffs are very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast !!!! The room is so so .
4 out of 5
by Colin from San francisco

Great staff :)

Posted Feb 19, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: Location
Location: Not good. Nowhere near the ocean and too far from town and dive operators in Malakal Harbor
The Airai is a pretty average Hotel with one exception...the staff who were always very cheerful and eager to please. They upgraded our room with no charge and changed out our hard as concrete mattress's with brand new ones. They were very accommodating arranging free shuttles into town and even to our dive operator which was 20 minutes away. The complimentary breakfast was very good. Not a great location for town or Malakal Harbor where our dive operator was but 5 minutes to the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok, but next time I'll stay elsewhere

Posted Jan 4, 2012
There were ants in the room, used and discarded band-aids in the shower, and the carpet had a weird funky smell. Overall, the room was ok I guess, but next time I'll be staying somewhere else.