Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and nice staff

Posted Oct 9, 2016
It was a wonderful experience, close to everything, I highly recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Merida, Yucatan

Great Value

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Very family friendly.
Cons: I found it odd that there were no hooks to hang bath towels to dry. Room service menu slightly limited (not enough basics).
The Maya Tulipanes is a great base for exploring the ruins at Palenque and beyond. My daughter loved the pool and the staff were friendly and responsive. It's not a luxury hotel but the beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, and the location ideal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice from far but far from nice

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Looks nice on the outside. Has secure parking. Is in an excellent location.
Cons: Better and more attentive staffing at the front desk. Greater attention and effort in maintaining proper standards of cleanliness as far as pillows, s
Location: Palenque is justly famous for being home to one of the finest Mayan ruins in existence.
Hotel Maya Tulipanes is a popular hotel near the main traffic circle in Palenque. In spite of it being so close to heavy traffic, the neighborhood is actually good and reasonably quiet and safe. There is also a large Walmart-style superstore within a short walk of the hotel, which makes the purchase of water, other groceries, and even toiletry supplies extremely easy. In spite of its fine location and undeniable convenience, I cannot fully recommend Hotel Maya Tulipanes. The main problem I had with the place was the Lack of cleanliness in the bedding. The issue was not merely the sheets which looked and smelled used but the unhygienic pillows and mildewed blanket as well. Unfortunately, the staff was neither prompt nor good about replacing the smelly and dirty bedding. After multiple visits to the front desk the bedding was finally changed. However, it seems the problem of unhygienic bedding is a widespread issue as the replacement bedding was only slightly better than what I started out with. Oddly, the room was generally clean if quite basic for a three star establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
For the cost and hotel rateing I gave the hotel five stars. Service and amenities were very nice and above par. Staff was great and pool was wonderful. Great place! We had three rooms and loved their location on a nice quiet street with a good selection of restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet hotel

Posted May 27, 2015
Cons: room with wifi
cant get wifi when you at room cant get wifi when you at room cant get wifi when you at room cant get wifi when you at room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Disappointing in every regard.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Cheap water
If your looking for noise like slamming doors, yelling and bad karoke all night long then this is your ideal place! After a sleepless night we requested help only to be relocated to an insect infested room on the third floor. No security or care. No wifi in rooms, only in outdoor common area which is home to many nasty hungry small mosquitoes. Felt so exhausted from distress after our two night stay. couldn't wait to get out of here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Very nice

Posted May 2, 2015
Very nice hotel very clean the pool was very nice room confortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A clean and simple hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
We had very good Wi-Fi. Selene on front desk was very helpful. Spotlessly clean but simple room. All we needed plus a pool to cool off!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver City, New Mexico

Excellent service, good rates

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Its location near the bus terminal, and its reasonable rates were perfect for us. The staff's outstanding work was a huge plus!
Cons: I found no flaws at all in service, amenities provided, or location.
Location: Hotel = ~6 mi./10 km from Palenque ruins. Taxi or minivan transport available as day- or multi-day-trips to other ruins, an animal park, & waterfalls
Visited 1/17-1/20/2015. Very professional, helpful & courteous staff throughout this conveniently-located hotel & its on-site restaurant. Guests receive a 10% discount at hotel's restaurant (good menu, great waiters, very efficient at handling groups of any size). Other good restaurants located within 2 blocks of hotel; Chedraui supermarket = 3 blocks away; OCC/ADO bus terminal = 2 blocks away. Hotel has off-street, lighted & gated (i.e., secured) parking. Transport to Palenque ruins as well as to other Mayan sites at Yaxchilan & Bonampak can be arranged with a variety of nearby transport/minivan companies; we used one such outfit that has an office 2 blocks from hotel, for 2 different trips & had good results both times. Hotel's rooms are spacious, comfortable, & immaculate. Bottled water provided daily in rooms. Hotel's swimming pool is very well maintained. For early risers, complimentary coffee is provided in lobby area before/until restaurant opens at 0700. Maya Tulipanes took good care of us and made our visit to Palenque that much more memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fernando Valley, Ca

Beautiful hotel, on a Beautiful area.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Great hotel, not a single problem, oh well, just a little one, i was expecting a single bed (i travel by myself this time) and i got a 2 bed, too big, it felt enormous, but maybe it was a good thing, thinking it twice. So ,maybe it was perfect.