Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corfu, NY

Beautiful location -- disappointing room

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Dampness and mold smell
Location: HITS Saugerties 15 minutes away
This could have been a great place to stay. The grounds are very pretty, and it was fairly close to HITS Saugerties. Our room, however; was very damp and moldy smelling. The sheets had a damp feel to them. The continental breakfast was pre-packaged pastries. Given the simplicity, I think they should be available daily and not only on weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016 by Al, Hotel Management
Since there is no HITS in February and the final horse shows were back in September, we believe you must've been here earlier. We are happy to report the rooms were renovated last November.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palenville, NY

Nice hotel close to Hunter Mountain

Posted Feb 16, 2016
The host was very nice and courteous. There was a game room for the children to play in. The fireplace in the living room was warm and cozy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016 by Al, Hotel Management
Thank you. We appreciate your patronage.
4 out of 5
by michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Cons: electric heater, loud
only drawback was electric heater, loud when kicks on, otherwise place was nice
1 out of 5
by Rachel

If you're desperate...

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
This place is bizarre and very old and shabby. There were several things that really stood out as negative. Firstly, there was black stuff in the grout of the tiles in the shower, it was either mold or mildew, either way, gross. There were also a number of teeny tiny flies in the room. There wasn't a real solid door either, the front of the room was all windows and a glass door! There was a curtain that you could pull across. I have never ever seen something like that before and it didn't make for a very secure feeling staying there. You won't see it in those photos, but if you see the full length 'windows' covered by those long curtains? THAT'S THE DOOR to the room. The curtains aren't light blocking, so if you need a dark room to get a good night's sleep, forget about it here. All the outside lights illuminate the room even with those curtains pulled. It was really bright. The hot water fluctuated a lot in the shower and it ran out when my wife was taking her shower. The toilet took a long time to flush and it periodically ran. The remote control to the TV did't work and one light in the bathroom was burned out. When the housekeepers came in while we were out they left the curtains over the door wide open! Leaving our belongings in the room open for anyone to look in at while walking by. Really unimpressed by that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Al, Hotel Management
We tried but could not help this guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, noisy, uncomfortable

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Tear it down, start over
I could hear every car that went by on the road, the lights on the walkways kept the room bright even with the curtains drawn, and I heard something scurrying in the walls. When I finally managed to fall asleep, the ancient mattress assured that I woke up sore in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2015 by Al, Hotel Management
Thanks for noting the Lodge is clean. That is important to us and our guests. We are always improving and this week installed new carpeting in all rooms in the building mentioned in this review. Blackout curtains were previously added to half the rooms this Summer. The rest are slated for new curtains before this ski season.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great weather, fun time, terrible stay

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
The front desk owner told us our reservations were cancelled - my daughter and her husband's were cancelled, not my husband and mine. Then she said she had a room for us, 137, and we stayed for 3 nights. On second day I got an email from her saying she was charging me for my daughter's room as a no show. I said I thought both our rooms were cancelled. She charged my room immediately when I checked in - now hotels.com needs my receipt to verify my stay because she will NOT. She is rude, told me I was riduculous, called my house WHILE I was staying at her place. The internet does NOT work at all, no cell service here, and after our email exchange while I was sightseeing the staff did NOT even clean our room. Will NEVER stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Al, Hotel Management
Sorry your stay was not what it should've been Anonymous. There were several problems with your reservation as it had changed several times. However, the free wireless Internet works fine, as does the Hot Spot. Also, we have free unlimited local and long distance calling from our rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NICE LOCATION.

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Location, food and music
Cons: Updating everything, mattress, televisions, paint peeling on ceiling and wall, toilet bowl cover cracked.
Location: Hunter Mountain, Tannersville and antique shops, beautiful pictures of fall follage. Plenty of places to eat nearby.
Location was wonderful. Owners were very accommodating. Rooms were very outdated. Air conditioner was very noisy sounded like a freight train (non stop noise). Mattress was old. televisions old as well. The Room was clean, however when we arrived. My main complaint was houskeeping. I asked for a pet friendly room. The carpet was a dark color. My dog has light hair and does shed. I asked the owners for a broom or vacuum, so I could ensure there wouldn't be any shedding on the carpet. I was told, not to worry its houskeeping's job to vacuum. We went to lunch, when we returned, the bed had been partially made with the sheet and blankets hanging off the sides of the bed. One end was tucked in and the other end not tucked in. The extra blanket we used on one bed was still left in a ball on the middle of the bed. Clean towels were left, but garbage not emptied, and the carpet was not cleaned whatsoever. We only stayed for two days The restaurant, on the other hand was excellent. We stayed on a friday and saturday night. There was a jazz band which was very good, the food and waitress was excellent as well. If the rooms were updated and houskeeping better, we would consider coming back. If they could improve .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2015 by Al, Hotel Management
Thank you. We appreciate your input and assure you we are always improving the Lodge. For example, the new carpeting in that pet friendly room (and all rooms in that building) is a pale gray.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from asheville, nc

Peaceful and quiet

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Rooms are old where we were put. Bed hard as a rock. Wifi and cell service scanty to nonexistent. Food good at the restaurant on premises. Staff very nice when you can find them. Had to wait 20 minutes just to check in because no one was there.
3 out of 5
by ISAAK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels