Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Brad

Beautiful but beach is not at facility. No coffee

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful facility but it does not have a beach. You can access the Mondello beach but it is a full 15 minute walk and you have to rent chairs and umbrellas, very crowded and loud. Big pool but many Unwatched children while we stayed. Direct access to Meditterean but will not be able to touch bottom. You must be a strong swimmer, lots of currents, wonderful if you are a good swimmer.
3 out of 5
by Antonietta

Good and bad of not so splendid hotel la Torre.

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a bit run dow and needs care. My lamps needed new bulbs, the fridge did not work and the drapes and carpets have seen better days as did the launges and umbrellas by the pool. The mattress was uncomfortable. The streets outside are dirty but mondello and views are beautiful and people friedly,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very helpful, English speaking staff.

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Water side rooms offer beautiful views of the Mediterranean and the numerous vessels that ply their trade upon her. The rooms are exceptionally quiet
Cons: Put coffee makers in the rooms. Get the City of Palermo to enact or enforce some littering laws that apply to the people who use the beach.
Location: Directly on the water adjacent to the beach. Numerous small cafe's, shops, churches etc.
The hotel is showing her age but her seaside location and very good staff more than make up for the worn carpets in the halls. If I were to make any suggestions to make it a more attractive stay I would recommend some kind of coffee maker in the rooms. At present there is not even a kettle.
5 out of 5
by Lauren

Our favourite hotel in Sicily

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour around Sicily for our honeymoon. We loved this hotel. We had a room with a sea view, which was definitely worth paying a little bit extra for. The views were amazing! It's a few miles out of Palermo, we did a day trip to Palermo by bus from Mondello which was only about 3 euros each. Mondello is a much nicer place to stay than Palermo- much more easy going and I felt safer there in the evening. It has nice restaurants in easy walking distance from the hotel. Most of the staff we spoke to didn't speak very good English but they were all very nice. Room was very clean and spacious. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the coast

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This hotel is situated on the point of Mondello. The coastline is absolutely magnificent. The grounds, pool and rooms are well maintained and the staff is welcoming, friendly and very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel right by the sea

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: It was right on the sea and the staff's was very helpful.
Cons: Rooms are tired, single beds are very narrow, no wi-fi in room (only when sitting on the toilet). More attention should be given to maintenance.
Location: Not much to do in the area except to go into Palermo. Tours are mainly all day around the island and not terribly exciting. Sun and sea. That's it.
It's supposed to be a 4 star hotel, but it's more like a lower 3 star. The rooms are tired, most tiles are cracked around the swimming pool and the area is VERY slippery around the sunbeds and the bar. The sunbeds are not very comfortable and needed constant adjustment from the poolman. Most of the umbrellas were tattered and half-broken. There is no wi-fi in the room, only when sitting on the toilet and there is only one English channel on the TV (BBC Global). The whole place is shabby and in need of attention. However, the location is great, right by the sea, steps down to the rocks to a little platform to enter the sea. Lots of restaurants nearby, though not terribly good. Mondello itself is also dirty and shabby. Palermo can be reached in 30 minutes by local bus, but one day there is plenty. There is not very much to do, apart from all day tours starting from Palermo at the crack of dawn, no hotel pickup. Once we get over the shock of the shabbiness of a 4 star hotel and Mondello itself, we had a good time. The staff was very helpful. In the first room we had the aircon did not work, so we left the windows open and the mosquitoes ate us alive plus small boats went by at dawn and they were EXTREMELY loud. Maintenance was sent twice and we were told again and again that the aircon was working. It was not... Eventually they moved us to a better room and things looked up after that. Overall we enjoyed our time there as we went to relax and we could certainly do that.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed one night in this beautiful hotel, perfectly locate on the sea with magnificent view of Mondello. The structure itself would need some restoration as rooms are not quite modern. Staff was very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

4 star hotel on ocean front with great views.

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: There is nothing not to like. This hotel provides a great value in a 4 star property.
Cons: Breakfast wasn't included and that should have been noted as the additional fee for adding a breakfast at check-in is a bit high.
Location: Stroll along the beach front and around the harbor. There are many little pizzarias and "gelato" stands.
This is a great find in the Palermo area. It is a mid-large facility with free on-site gated parking and a great restaurant. The location provides for great strolling on the busy public beaches with great views across the bay. The large lobby has ample seating for relaxing or socializing with larger groups and the view is romantic. I would opt to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Pool & vista
Cons: carpets need refresh
Location: convenient to walk to cafes and beach
Good location once you get there! Staff were professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from germany/usa

At one time the hotel was nice...

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: The lady manager that worked three of our days........the young lady that worked the breakfast check in
Years ago the hotel was nice, but needs a lot of upgrades and repairs inside and outside.....