Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooms, not the best neighborhood

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
We had 2 rooms here. Both were really spacious, clean, very charming. It is a good location for walking to markets and other sights but the neighborhood was not great, though we felt safe in our small group. Parking is a mess, get instructions or figure it out before you arrive. I would use the train next time because driving is just nuts, worse than Florence
5 out of 5
by Perry from Laguna Beach

Love Ai Cartari, hate Palermo

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
The interior of the B & B is absolutely beautiful. The room has a large sitting room besides a nice bedroom. The owner lives there and breakfast is served in a gorgeous living/dining room in her home. The breakfast was good, but mainly sweet, no cheese, meat or eggs. Parking in Palmero is very difficult, traffic is horrendous, and to follow directions and find street signs is next to impossible. GPS is absolutely necessary and even with it, it's a nightmare. Personally, I would avoid Palermo at all costs but if you must go there Ai Cartari is a great place.
5 out of 5
by Meghann from Rome

Amazing stay

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing place. You get your own entry and it's a huge space. Owner is delightful and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

cozy, well located bed and breakfast.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Very roomy, a good location and a wonderful breakfast. The price was very reasonable.
Location: Right off two major streets with buses easily accessible. We walked down one bustling street, and eventually came within sight of the harbor.
The Ai Cartari is located on a narrow street which at first seems to be in a warren of narrow streets but is actually very close to two main vias. The room was on the backside of the building with its own private entrance. The room was huge and divided into three areas, the bedroom, a central sitting area, and another sitting area and the bathroom. the room contains a refrigerator. There is a cafe and a large restaurant very close by. Breakfast was delicious, pastries. jams and fruit with good Italian coffee. The owner was very helpful. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Donna and Philip from Nottingham

Home from home

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
We were really surprised when we arrived at Ai Cartari. We had the run of a basement flat with loads of space and the offer of support when we needed it so we felt independent but had back up if needed. Rosalinda was extremely helpful when she discovered my dietary requirements and I was really grateful and touched that she baked cakes etc. specially for me. We really appreciated her help with advice on transport for Trapani also. Overall, a great base from which to explore a great city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Beautiful and unusual building in the centre of Palermo, on small square with church, cafe and restaurant, and within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to see. The rooms were huge, clean and beautifully furnished, breakfast was delicious and substantial, and the owner could not have been more helpful. She directed us to parking places in a nearby square, where the car was fine for a couple of days. Palermo was wonderful. I thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Beautiful, comfortable and well located.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The size of the accommodations was very comfortable, actually luxuriously so. Also there was a private entrance/exit. Breakfast was ample/delicious.
Cons: Bit warm at late afternoon but cools down quickly.
Location: Located on a narrow street and the room exits onto a alley courtyard. Seems isolated but actually is right off two main streets.
Ai Cartari is a beautifully furnished B&B and the owner was very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. There is a good restaurant across the street and a good cafe on the corner. The room itself was very comfortable. The only downside was that the air conditioning was minimal and the room was warm during the later afternoon-early evening hours cooling down with the night air.
5 out of 5
by Amy Modzel from From SC, we stayed at the Ai Cartari in Palermo

The Ai Cartari in Palermo, Sicily

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels
Wow!!! A+. It's a perfect fit for the lovely city. This bed & breakfast offered a massive sized room to include a kitchen, 2 levels, 2 air units, classy operating french-style casement windows and a large bathroom area. We were immediately greeted upon arrival with a tour through the home. Just lovely. We received a quick check-in along with advice on site locations for which to visit. Perfect location... we walked from train station & it's a straight line. We we centrally located for all attractions and walked everywhere except for the one bus ride to Monreale. Great great place & location!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely building,

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: lovely building
Cons: breakfast, building signage
Location: very central, near to restaurants and cafe's. unable to park in the square attached to the building as it was full but there is parking nearby.
Difficult to find and we arrived late, we did phone ahead to notify the owner, whom we never met. Someone was sent over to give us a door key. Rooms reasonably clean, unusual building. Literature in the room for guests states that breakfast is served at 'home'. When nothing arrived the following morning we phoned the owner, who said we had to go to the cafe across the street. The owner of the cafe advised we could have 3 euros each towards breakfast, which barely covered coffee and a croissant, we had to pay for the rest. When the owner phoned us back again to clarify payment details and we raised the issue, we were advised this was part of the deal. At no time were we advised we would have to go out for breakfast or pay for most of it ourselves. i would not have booked the B&B had i known this, very disappointed with the service.. Palermo lovely.
4 out of 5
by Ixchel from Usa

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
Liked it, very friendlt, thenonly thing missing was a convinient space to park the car....