Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Grand by name

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Good sized rooms which while lacking in some mod cons were quiet and comfortable. Good selection of breakfast options served in a grand dining room
Cons: Poor wifi (first world problems!) Minibar in the rooms
Location: 10 minute walk to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Palermo
Beautiful hotel a short walk from the centre of Palermo on the main road, via Roma. Spent two nights here with family in November 2016, a little outside peak season so the hotel and the town in general was pretty quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, United States of America

Pleasant stay at an old, historic hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Central location of hotel and comfort of room.
Cons: We have no complaints. We would stay at this hotel again.
Location: See review, above
The hotel is somewhat worn from age, but nevertheless has much charm. Our room was clean and sufficiently large, and we had a comfortable 3 night stay. Staff at the Hotel front desk were pleasant and helpful in providing directions and recommendations for dining. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is within easy walking distance of many of the highlights of Palermo (Cathedral of Palermo, The hotel is quite old and shows some wear and tear. Nevertheless, it retains a good deal of its art nouveau charm in areas such as the large lobby and dining/meeting rooms. Our room was large, well appointed and clean, and we had a comfortable 3-night stay. Staff at the Hotel's front desk were pleasant and helpful in proving directions and recommendations for dining in the area. The Hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of many of the highlights of central Palermo (main Cathedral of Palermo, Quattro Canti, Teatro Massimo, food markets, etc., etc.). The buffet breakfast was satisfactory although not as extensive as the other hotels at which we stayed in Sicily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Every inch of hotel requires maintenance.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Location is perfect
In my room : soiled carpet with stains spot, holes in wall panels, bathtab with black spots of missing paint or whatever it was, cracked and peeled plaster wall in bathroom, detached trim on the wall, shabby looked furniture, wood frame of in room window rotted, in room safe...the one must have to guess every number on dial pad. I will put down pictures to the every posted word. P.S. All my pictures are in jpg and Expedia except only png,gif or jpeg. I had convertet all nasty pictures of hotel to gif and Expedia review page still not taking that. Very disappointing......
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: as above
Cons: None
Location: getting local foods and all the main attractions
It is close to the city's main attractions & also to the port. It's located in a very heavy traffic street, but my room is okay because not facing the street. The staff is quite helpful. The room is kept clean everyday and breakfast is good. I enjoyed the stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large comfortable room all very grand

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Relaxing in the room and the breakfast which was quite lavish
Cons: Being able to have dinner there but that was not to be.
Location: Great location near every thing shops restaurants and lots historical landmarks
Every thing you would need i.e. Safe fridge plenty big enough and air conditioning plus the grand double bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for a first visit to Palermo. It felt very safe, welcoming and central. Very comfy bed.
Cons: The Classic Room had a view of the dirty inner well of the hotel with old pipe work, etc. Carpet badly stained, scuff marks on paintwork and walls.
Location: Great location for a short break, everything is so central. All the landmarks of the old city within easy walking distance with great places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful luxurious old style grand hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Wonderful luxurious old style grand hotel at a very reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Famous hotel slowly falling apart

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Certainly the best is the breakfast in all the glory of the beautiful room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Rooms need a bit updating,. A fresh coat of paint and new carpet would be a great start.. otherwise a charming hotel.. breakfast was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Grand old hotel desperately in need of renovation. Carpets filthy. Room not cleaned well until i complained.