Ratings based on 909 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, California

Historic and near many sites

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Location: Being on the “new” end of the city, the the main shopping street is two blocks away. They shut it down for pedestrians on the weekends. Vinnie
I picked this place because of the pictures on their website and the recommended breakfast. This was wise. The hotel has a historic charm and the breakfast dinning area is.more like a grand ball room. Rooms were modest but nice. Staff was exceptionally nice. Breakfast was one of the best in Sicily. Standard selection but high quality. Many interesting sites within walking distance. Cost was very reasonable. A good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 week couples break

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Photos are far better than actual hotel standard. It is looking run down and warn out. It must have been glorious in its prime. Rooms very clean, but our bathroom (room 127) smelled of urine. We did advise them & they sprayed with air fresh several times, but it did not solve the problem. The AC broke and the room was on full heat for two days. Had to leave windows open. Barman needs a personality injection, he’s like Egor. Doesn’t do his calculations very well either. Over charged. It’s a shame, we didn’t pay much, but it was sad it’s run down and one older male receptionist had a very “couldn’t careless” attitude. Wouldn’t stay ther again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location,helpful staff,good value

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Avoid booking admin errors
Location: It's very good ,lots to see nearby
Arrived ,checked into nice room but next morning were asked to move to another room owing to the fact that a filming session had been previously booked. The reallocated room was like a down grade so after some heated discussion we were told that we would be upgraded to a suite the following day. Well as luck would have it ,they gave us a suite ,so all worked out well in the end. BUT after a long journey these inconveniences were stressful and unwelcom. Other wise all was fine. The hotel is classical,very old ,in need of repair but had character
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Elegant hotel in need of further refurbishment.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Hotel in ideal position in Polermo, excellent breakfast, but needs further refurbishment eg carpets ingrained dirt. Staff very responsive but bar facilities need improvement. Overall recommended with reservations over internal condition of bedrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I enjoyed staying at this hotel The breakfast and the location were excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Beautiful period hotel, centrally located :)

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Location: It is central and it is an easy walk to see the old quarter with its beautiful buildings, or the newer town with all the modern shops, ask my wife!
Because of our flight, we were booking in at 11pm and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The foyer is beautiful and populated by marble statues and many plants around the seating areas. Our room was quite large and well appointed, the furniture old fashioned and suited the period of the hotel, and the aircon was a real bonus! Plenty of wardrobe space and a built in safe, could have used a few more coathangers, but that's probably because we travel with too many outfits. A lovely large en-suite with lashings of hot water on demand. The buffet breakfast catered for all tastes..... as far as I could tell, and serving staff were always helpful. The breakfast room itself was again in period for the hotel and beautifully decorated with very ornate decoration to wall and ceilings, worth a few photographs to take home. All in all it was a wonderful 6 nights at the hotel and we were sad to leave and go back to our nice modern home in England...... maybe her in doors will want me to decorate in a new style now lol We would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A hotel that seems to be going down hill fast

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable - the best thing about staying in the hotel. The location is also good.
Cons: See above - the hotel needs to be completely renovated, and they need to recruit higher quality staff.
In its heyday, this would have been an impressive hotel. Sadly however, things have changed and it is in poor condition. We were apparently upgraded to a superior room, but it did not feel that way for a supposedly excellent hotel. The room was small, the walls covered in scuff marks, the windows did not close properly, the bath tap ran brown water, and the TV was one of those old-fashioned ones. The were no drinks facilities in the room, and the general state of repair was poor. Downstairs, many of the staff appeared not to speak English (not a problem per se, but not what you'd expect at a top hotel). We speak some Italian, and it was amusing to overhear the staff at breakfast trying to work out what the guests were asking for. But not a great sign. The breakfast itself was poor. A self-service buffet for hot food is acceptable in a Travelodge, but not a first class hotel. There were virtually no options for vegans, though vegetarians would fare better. The fruit juice obviously came from tetrapak cartoons, and it would have been better to leave it in them, rather than pouring into plastic jugs. The level of service was also poor for this level of hotel. For example, on check out I handed the slip saying what we had taken from the minibar to the receptionist. He took it, put it down and then asked me if I had taken anything from the minibar. This complete inattention to detail was not expected. However, the bar staff were great, and they make a fantastic negroni.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from providence, ri

Hotel canceled our reservation by mistake.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Did not stay in this hotel.
Hotel made an error and did not have our reservation. However they helped us to replace the room for the close by hotel with the same standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice old charm hotel in city center

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Easy reachable by car; valet service; walking distance to old city, shopping and restaurants. Nice spacious rooms, old charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price performance was excellent.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The ambiance and price.
Location: All the important sights are within walking distance, or the staff will let you know which bus to catch
Swanning around in this old hotel was like being in a bygone era. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and reading about the history of the hotel. Breakfast was a treat. Position excellent, to eateries and sights. I would certainly recommend it to my friends.