Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from japan

Centrally located hotel in Palermo

Posted Jul 18, 2017
the hotel is ideally located next to the historical center. The room are confortable but cleaning could be more thorough. Wifi is not working very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Tea making facilities in the room
Location: Walkable to all the sites. Great designer shops nearby
Great experience. Comfortable hotel, very friendly staff. Just one reservation, missed having tea making facilities in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Good Hotel; Excellent Breakfasts

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Attractiveness Breakfast Cost (but I booked very early, cost went up for later bookers)
Cons: Staff formal and very professional, but not overly friendly.
Location: Located near central Palermo. Depending on your willingness, a number of sites and plenty of eating establishments nearby.
I stayed at Grand Hotel Wagner for five nights. The facilities are excellent. It may not look like a prime hotel from the outside (by American standards), but the view from the inside is quite different. Everything is first class. The interior is clean and very attractive; the rooms are (by European standards) spacious, and they are clean and well maintained. I booked quite early and got a reasonable price. If I returned to Palermo and could again get a decent price, I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast comes with the room, and I was extremely pleased with the variety of foods available (scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, a host of pastries, cheese, fresh fruit, juices). If you insist on something not on the breakfast buffet (e.g., fried eggs) you will have to pay extra, but there are enough choices on the buffet to permit any but the most particular to fill their bellies at no additional costs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Very convenient, clean and comfortable. A bit noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa

Great renovation but still antiquated

Posted May 4, 2017
Hotel has a good history, nice architecture and management has done a good job of doing physical restoration. Some challenges don't make it 5 star yet. Most of the guests are English speaking tourists but staff is not able to adequately communicate with them. No shaver or other modern electrical outlets. Worst challenge was that air conditioning was off as it was still pumping hot air while temperature was 33 on top floors. Understandable challenge in an old building where temperatures could vary by 20 degrees between top and bottom floors, however having no solution or explanation of that by the staff is inexcusable. Wanted to leave after day one but other positives kept us there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

excellent central location

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Bedroom was quiet & very comfortable - slept very wel
Cons: Individual pots of tea and coffee would be good.
Location: Very central to old town. Visit the churches and opera house. Also a trip to Mondella, lovely seaside full of locals.
A owonderfully Italian hotel. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Palmero Is a bustling vibrant city but easy to negotiate on foot. A bit like Naples with narrow streets,but also different to main land Italy. Busses on time and cheap. Enjoyed time here and would return to drive around the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Extremely comfortable room with very high ceilings decorated in highly ornate style. The service was very good. Though they didn't have parking they drove our car to a local garage and made sure it was delivered extremely early as we had to go to the airport. They arranged for coffee more than 45 minutes before the breakfast was being served, and they came and explained our tv to us. It's location is very close to the historic center.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very Old Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: We would choose another hotel
Location: Very near the market, the Opera house, the walking street and shopping.
We were not happpy with the hotel Wagner. Our room while spacious was poorly furnished and thus uncomfortable. The bed and bathroom were nice. I think that there are better choices in hotels but the location is fabulous.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was a bit rundown, but very clean. Staff could smile a bit more.
4 out of 5
by rosanna

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, good location, the big problem, the air conditioner was not working, I had to sleep with the windows open, there was too much noise.