Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Christina from Colorado

You can do better

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Staff and hotel operation were extremely disorganized. They tried hard to accommodate but wore me out in the process. I had the sense that they are struggling to remain viable. My stay was during the week and the occupancy rate was almost non existent . The staff assured me that on the week-ends the hotel would be at full occupancy.The online photos give the appearance of a resort. My experience was a pool that I would not use as it was green tinged on bottom and sides indicating lack of proper maintenance. The restaurant was uninviting with the lunch menu being prepared an hour before service thus eliminating my ability to compare it with other options. The purpose of my stay was a one night layover at each end of my trip to recover from and prepare for international travel. This hotel fulfilled that purpose in a minimal manner. I however, would not stay there again nor will I recommend it. There are several better options in the area within the similar price range. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town plaza with shops and restaurants. An approximately 33 American Dollar cab fare to airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There Must Be Better Choices Near the Airport

Posted Oct 29, 2011 on Hotels
Hotel location is NOT near the airport. It will cost at least $50 each way for a cab, which we learned the hard way. Hotel rooms were not clean. There were used towels in our bathroom. Food was below average, and there is no place else to go nearby. The surrounding neighborhood is not pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced dump

Posted Oct 28, 2011
I read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking this hotel. It was worse than I thought. We are seasoned travelers and were astonished at how overpriced and disgusting this hotel is. In addition, it is way overpriced. The only good things are its location to the airport and the staff. Plus, our 'dinner' which was nothing more than one step above 'conference' food was way overpriced. Best option is to stay in a decent hotel in Palermo and pony up the extra money for a taxi to the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern ireland

An efficient hotel with helpful staff. The Breakfast was not really up to standard.

Posted Apr 14, 2011
The hotel was lovely, well sited and everyone was very helpful. There were few staying overnight. The breakfast was poor really. My wife suffers fro a wheat allergy so it would have been good to be able to have a cooked breakfast. I would use the Hotel again under similar circumstances.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Unexpected rudeness and lack of cleanliness

Posted Oct 27, 2010
Staff were rude, mold in showers, rooms could have been cleaner, when time for breakfast, acted like we were imposing. Not helpful at all regarding questions or directions. Hotel is way out of the way and not easy to get to town without a taxi which is quite expensive. Out of all our experiences with our Italy and Sicily tour this sad to say was the worst, on our return trip we certainly will not use this hotel or recommend it to others. I strongly suggest Expedia remove them from their listing, it does not live up to the quality of their other hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from torino

hotel calarossa

Posted Aug 26, 2010
Hotel carino ma fuori paese molto pulite le camere, giardini maltenuti ma tutto sommato non male ma la pecca è il personale assolutamente maleducato (neanche ti salutano alla reception) alla colazione molto mediocre tavoli sempre sporchi e personale maleducatissimo. Veramente un peccato perchè con i turisti bisognerebbe essere molto cortesi invece sembra quasi che gli dai fastidio. Le uniche persone gentili ed educate sono le ragazze delle pulizie delle camere. Mi hanno fatto vergognare di essere italiano e siciliano per come trattano i turisti stranieri (pochi e saranno sempre meno ovviamente) Una vergogna non ci andate non si meritano i vostri soldi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Les Adrets

Hôtel à éviter absolument

Posted May 27, 2010
Cet hôtel a du être très bien il y a 15 ans, mais n'a manifestement pas été entretenu. Moquette, mobilier et salle de bain de notre chambre dans un état déplorable, et surtout, un bruit de ventilation permanent impossible à couper. de plus, l'hôtel est situé dans un quartier résidentiel pas vraiment charmant, avec des monceaux de poubelles aux alentours... Si jamais vous choisisser d'y séjourner (le seul avantage est la proximité de l'aeroport, à 10mn), refusez les chambres 100 à 110: elles sont situées au dessus de la cuisine, et on y entend les cris des cuisiniers et de très puissantes souffleries jusqu'à 23h....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Granby, CT

Hotel Cala Rossa - Beautiful spot near to airport

Posted May 17, 2010 on Hotels
We stayed at the Cala Rossa for our last night in Sicily. It is very conveniently located near the airport (15 min car ride) and avoids the congestion of Palermo. The hotel is clean and modern with a beautiful pool and tennis courts. The staff was helpful and friendly. They even prepared a bag breakfast for our early morning flight. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the hotel restaurant and recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from napoli - italia

hotel cala rossa

Posted Dec 18, 2009
Ottimo hotel. Personale gentile e disponibile. Ineccepibile il servizio e l'accoglienza. In bassa stagione ideale per relax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Not impressed

Posted Sep 24, 2009 on Hotels
This hotel was clearly built with better things in mind than it has become. The pool was one of its attractions but was closed "for cleaning". The carpets in the corridor were worn and the radiator grilles broken. The dining area was in the basement and very impersonal. The dinner was not of the standards we encountered in the rest of Sicily - edible but not special at all. Its only plus is being near the airport (about 15 mins). We booked half board so did not try local restaurants. Beware if using Tomtom as it takes you down dead ends from the motorway. Go into Terrasini and then head south either along the coast road or one of the two parallel ones where Cala Rossa is signposted