Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scottsdale-az

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Great view from our balcony . Enjoyed our time in Sicily.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Hotels with its own beach

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Mainly locals in the hotel, staff were really helpful, peaceful location
Cons: The whole hotel could do with an update, although very clean its also very tired!
Location: The resort itself was very small with nothing to do other than relax which for the week we were there suited just fine. There are only 2 local restaur
Hotel was nice enough although looking tired in places. Staff were very friendly and had no real issues. The room we were in was OK, cleaned daily but the shower head was broken. We were the only English there which we actually liked. The resort itself was very small with nothing to do other than relax which for the week we were there suited just fine. There are only 2 local restaurants which luckily both were very good and we ate well at both of them. If its a relaxing holiday you're after then this will suit fine but don't expect anything else that that. As much as qwe like to relax one week is enough in such a small place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel but limited facilities.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Hotel has small beach and pool but is about mile and a half from town ( which is inland), there are 2 decent restaurants and 2 bars close by - nothing else. Shop only sells tobacco and magazines. Breakfast reasonable but nothing available after that - bar wasn't open while I was there. Couldn't even get a cup of coffee without going out. Hotel is only 10 minutes from station so it was a good base , trains are cheap and there is an hourly service to Palermo. Staff were pleasant and helpful, but very limited English .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aice from NYC

Nice deal for the price

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: View
Cons: Take away restriction on outside food and drink in room.
This was a nice hotel with a beautiful view of the sea, but I really don't understand about the restriction for "outside" food and drink in my room. I need hydration! I could understand it if this were a fully functioning resort, but it is not. The staff was nice and we stayed even stayed an extra night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dying hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: Noisy guests
Location: Great
The hotel is short of visitors.we were disturbed by 1 overnight group and 1 day group who were VERY NOISY. Staff are trying but t he hotel is dying.lovely setting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, New York

Find some place else

Posted Nov 5, 2011 on Hotels
The picture of the beach in their listing must have been from when the hotel was first built because the beach is now covered in gross brown stuff and garbage. It was unusable. The room was nice, and the balcony opened onto a view of the ocean, but the mini fridge was empty and the shower sprayed all over the floor. The rental services, etc. that they offer were not in service. This could be because we stayed there in October, but then the advert should have been updated. Also, the hotel held a function every night we were there that took up many of the hotel resources and were loud. The breakfast was pitiful, just pitiful. Throw in that it is a 20 minute train ride to Palermo and I'd suggest you find somewhere else (try finding something in Cefalu, it was lovely!)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

The Solunto mare

Posted Aug 16, 2011 on Hotels
Shabby hotel reception,unfriendly,tired looking staff,bar near reception could do with snacks,instead of only soft drinks and ice-creams.The private beach was lovely,but in need of some TLC,the hotel management should look after it and have it cleaned regularly. Basic breakfast,but,amazingly,l would go back!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Beware of Student Field Trips

Posted Apr 15, 2011
Our first night at the hotel was very pleasant though we found the lack of an internet connection unusual. Then the bus arrived with the students! I will say that the hotel staff did respond quickly when I had to complain about the noise that they were making. However, there were occasional outbursts of song and laughter well above normal acceptable standards. The hotel is right on the Med and there is a wonderful view at sunrise over the water. We were there early in the year so the pool was closed and there was no using the beach, but both would be available later in the year. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and while the cappacino was machine mad, it was still good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middle Village, NY

Posted Mar 28, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice. It is located in a small town about 15 minutes outside Palermo. The staff was helpful but spoke very little English. It is listed as beachfront hotel 'guests at this property have access to a private beach', the beach is more of a small cove. There was a reception desk but not a real concierge desk. The hotel was very clean, except for the in-room refrigerator which was not usable. We were guests there during the off-season so it was very quiet, the bar wasn't open and there was no shuttle running. All in all the hotel was very pleasant. Right next door there is a great restaurant, Cafe 113, with fabulous food, exceptional staff and great ambiance. .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Esher, Surrey

Casteldaccia, a beautiful place!

Posted Nov 2, 2010 on Hotels
This Hotel is everything you need. It has nice big, clean rooms, friendly staff that can speak english (just ;0) and with a pool, private beach area and restaurant, happy days. As it was Octooober, the weather wasn't ideal to make use of the pool, or beach, and the Hotel was pretty empty. Situated in the best part of Casteldaccia (Casseta Bianca - Beach Front) Views from the balcony are amazing. Breakfast left a lot to be desired, machined coffee, and a continental offering of bread, cheese, ham, Jams, cakes and croissants.... but to be fair, with all the other amazing food we were eating in Sicily, a basic breakfast was not an issue. A/C in the rooms didn't seem to work properly, but again, the time of year did not require it, and maybe the Hotel had turned it off? TV in rooms only offers Italian TV, and there are no safes in the rooms. On the whole, a young couple like us, needed nothing more. A friendly, clean place, and for the money, a bargain! From sonmeone that knows the lovely place Casteldaccia well, there really isn't much better choice than Hotel Solunto Mare