Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jianzhi from London

Affordable and comfortable in Palermo

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
If you need a cheap hotel in Palermo with central location, then it's the perfect choice. Maybe not the most romantic or the most high standard, but it's a decent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Ancient Sicilian palace - amazing!!!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Homely atmosphere, fantastic beautiful ancient building.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Near station for trains and buses, near shops and markets.
As above, that says it all! Loved the environment, the ancient palace, the busy streets outside, and the quiet nights.
4 out of 5
by Yu Cheong from Hong Kong

Very basic and old but comfortable

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived around 7pm and got stuck at the gate. The old lady who answered the bell did not understand English. We got in following another resident. At the reception, again the lady could not find our reservation and so we had to wait till her daughter,the lady in charge, came back. Anyway we got our room at last. The bathroom is outside the room and is quite clean and tidy. The room is comfortable too. At this price we had no complaint at all.
5 out of 5
by Malcolm

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Clean and welcoming

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly and helpful
Cons: The light in the bathroom is on a sensor, it goes off when you are in the shower and you have to open and close the shower door to turn it on again.
Location: Not the best area but close to station and shopping areas. Food market at the back of the hotel. Walking distance to many of the important sights.
Palermo is very busy and noisy, this hotel was quiet and peaceful. The room was basic but comfortable and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was varied and good. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sic passit gloria mundi.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: It was unique, full of atmosphere and quintessentially Sicilian
Location: The areas around most city stations tend to be a bit rough and tacky and unfortunately the hotel is in that area.
We only had one night in this ancient palazzo which must have been one of the wealthiest and most beautiful when it was built. The fact that its exterior is crumbling and forsaken does nothing to diminish the grandeur of a courtyard of arcaded pillars, marble staircases and a magnificent building. The bedrooms and bathrooms provided everything needed.
4 out of 5
by Leigh from Hamilton

A great value hotel in an old palazzo

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels
We book this room based on price and its location in the heart of Palermo. The hotel is on part of a floor of an old run-down palazzo. The marble stairs up to the hotel, which is located on the second floor, are impressive. The hotel's breakfast room has retained the high ceilings and painted frescoes of bygone days. Our room was very basic, and the breakfast was extremely utilitarian, but for the price and location, this hotel can't be beat. We ended up staying an extra night here.
3 out of 5
by Maja from London

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
The only positive thing about Hotel Orientale is the location as it is near the train station and that our room was clean and just fine for one night stay. The reception staff was terrible , unhelpful and we had the impression that we were bothering her. All in all for that money and one night was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Give it a try

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Its quirky. Never stayed in a royal palace before. Its past its best but what do you expect for the money. Its clean, central, plenty to eat
Cons: More lighting in the courtyard might have been helpful
Location: Its within 10 minutes walk of the train station. In the middle of the historic city and close to the best market.
Its an interesting experience. The staff were really helpful when our flight got cancelled.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie from London

Great experience

Posted Jun 10, 2013 on Hotels
We booked this as it was a convenient location for the station. We arrived to find a huge old door with no obvious way in and no bell. Fortunately someone came out so we entered and found ourselves in the courtyard of an old palace. The hotel is a floor on the palace and although it has no modern features, we loved it. It has original ceiling painting in the breakfast room, and friendly hosts. Definitely a one off experience and perfect for an overnight stay near the station.