Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

An ok base just don't spend any real time there

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The room was clean and comfortable but that's the end of the accolades. No ironing board in room Mini bar not cold Gym just in an open room with no AC in 30C+ heat. These 3 things are basic in my view and should preclude this being a 4*. The place was 'fine' but I wouldn't return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel was very nice and clean. Air conditioning was cold. Bathrooms very clean. Parking is a little tight as far as finding the right spot, but all went well. Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was fantastic, food was excellent and again staff was very friendly. Would stay here again anytime.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here...

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Reserved 2 rooms-turned out to be different prices. One came with breakfast, and the more expensive room didn't. Don't know why?? When brought to the attention of front desk woman, she got angry and started yelling at me for asking such a question, and said that all reservations are not equal. Needless to say, we stopped eating breakfast there, even though one would have been free.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not a 4 star hotel!!!!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
This hotel is in desperate need of safety precautions and renovation! The room (113) I stayed in, apparently was broken into as the side panel of the doorway where it locks was filed down . When brought to the attention of front desk, the woman started yelling at me, saying it was safe. Good thing I had family to stay with the next 2 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel, but a bit noisy

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: 1. The staff were amazing - very helpful and happy. 2. The breakfast was out of this world.
Cons: Milk in the rooms. Better fitting balcony doors. Bathroom extras replaced daily.
Location: Hotel was on a main road, about ½ mile from town centre and very close to bus stops. A beautiful park right opposite, but few restaurants.
The staff at this hotel were almost as good as they could get. The room was very comfortable, with good adjustable air conditioning. The breakfast was to die for - they couldn't have been anything they had left out. It wasn't cheap ... but it was well worth the price. The foyer was welcoming, with beautiful flower arrangements. There was a gym with exercise equipment (though we didn't use it!). Good restaurant, but rather expensive. Food choice could be wider. There were only three things I would criticise: 1. Our room was on the main road, and there was no double glazing. There were double doors to the balcony, but they didn't fit tightly, and at 5am every morning the birds in the tree outside started, and at 6am the noisy buses stopped at the bus stop opposite. 2. Milk was not provided with the kettle, tea etc, so we had to go down to the bar every couple of days to get a jug of milk. 3. Accessories were not always replaced regularly in the bathroom. One day we ran out of toilet paper and had to call the housekeeper.
5 out of 5
by Terry

Thumbs up

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Melanie st front desk was very helpful. A classy hotel at a very reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

High quality hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Very well appointed and spacious bedroom - great bathroom. Efficient reception staff.
Cons: At breakfast, tables could be cleared more quickly as needed to wait for a table to be re-set on two mornings.
Location: Great location, with central city sites within a 15-20 minute walk. Hotel very close to a couple of public parks. Hotel also well placed for local bus
Mercure Excelsior is in a great location and offers high quality accommodation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
We had to ask 2 times for the room to be changed. We booked a premium room but the first one we were given was with no windows (skylight only), the second one was very dark looking to internal walls. some of the staff were very unfriendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
good location and enjpyed the atmosphere of the hotel, staff was very helpful when my luggage didn't arrive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a nice neighbourhood

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a fairly up market neighbourhood - nice room and a good buffet breakfast. The airport bus stops right outside so useful if you are flying in and out of Palermo. It's a good 15 min walk to get into the old town but it's a fairly pleasant walk and plenty of buses if you're not into walking. The bar area is lacking in atmosphere - it's more like a restaurant - we ended up taking the drinks back to our room.