Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by CATHY

Don't Be Fooled by the Website

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible old hotel. Our lights quit and never came back on despite being told an engineer would be around to fix them. The room was noisy despite the hotel website saying rooms are soundproof. Staff told us we "don't belong here" when we asked for a room on the top floor so we wouldn't hear people above us. Street noise ALL night. Mold in bathroom. NH should be ashamed of this place. Parking extortionists after you for money to park outside hotel in free areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location good. Easy to get anywhere eg the port and the town centre. Hotel well managed.
Location: See above....
Pleasant hotel with helpful staff. Faces the sea but with two lanes of constantly busy traffic day and night. Asked to be moved to the side of the building which immediately was politely arranged. The swimming pool and its surroundings are a welcome bonus.
5 out of 5
by Cristina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Viit to Palermo

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a very quiet position overlooking the sea but convenient for sightseeing and public/ free transport just a short walk away. Every member of staff was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
2 out of 5
by Kamalakar

Disappointed

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very old hotel. Had a 70s feel to it. Very disappointed with the room. Only one coffee cup, the safe did not work properly. Breakfast was chaotic. Understaffed and over crowded. Too many cats hanging around near the pool. Service was average. This hotel needs a major renovation. The dinner menu was very limited.
4 out of 5
by Sonia

City break

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
City break great hotel good breakfast great pool area .very rundown area at back of hotel.palermo is a great city some great restaurants friendly people and great hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton England

Lovely pool area. Generous and excellent breakfast

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The staff were so helpful. The pool and gardens were beautiful . Excellent and helpful staff. The rooms were adequate and the beds very comfortable . The rooms were clean and room service excellent . The decor in the bedrooms and the carpets in the corridors were rather tired and needed replacing . Our shower screen leaked all over the floor. We had a very pleasant stay and thought it was good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good pool, but otherwise tired hotel in rough area

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good, bed was comfortable.
Cons: Poor location, bordering on dangerous (red light district). Smoking and loud music by the pool. Non refurb rooms are small, very dated and worn.
Location: Poor location, although there is a good cafe around the corner and a reasonable gelateria approximately 250m from the hotel. Otherwise it's isolated.
This is a relatively large hotel located at the edge of the old town not too far from the docks. The hotel is beginning to show its age - the non refurbished rooms are small, very dated and worn and not particularly clean, however the bed was comfortable once we obtained extra pillows from housekeeping. There is a reasonable sized swimming pool at the hotel, which was relatively clean, however other guests chain smoking around it and loud music emanating from the bar spoilt our enjoyment somewhat. Staff are best described as indifferent - housekeeping entered our room without knocking on multiple occasions. The front desk were not particularly helpful either, in addition to which service in the restaurant and bars was very slow. Breakfast was the highlight of our stay and is recommended, if relatively expensive if not included in the room rate. There were plenty of options of local delicacies and great coffee. The main downside of this hotel is the area. The hotel feels isolated and appears to be in the middle of the local red light district - we noticed numerous prostitutes and drug dealers working in the area after dark. It is also a good 20 minute walk to the centre of the old town, down quite isolated streets and while this is fine during the day, I wouldn't recommend it after dark.
4 out of 5
by James

NH Palermo week in August

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
We booked a 'New Style Junior Suite" which was very nice. Modern, spacious with a lovely big bathroom. The room had two balconies overlooking the sea and Palermo harbour. The hotel pool was very nice with an excellent attendant/lifeguard. However, the bar and restaurant staff are so slow to provide service if you want o have lunch by the pool or to get a drink at the poolside bar. The few times we ate lunch by the pool the service was very slow, the waiting staff need to get much better at looking after the need of their guests. One lunchtime we sat down at a table, had to wait 15 minutes for it to be cleared, 10 minutes to get a menu and then had to chase any waiter for any service. That said, the food served was delicious. Please note - there are no ironing facilities at this hotel despite what it says on this website. Apparently it is NH Hotel Group policy not to allow guests the responsibility of using an iron running the risks of causing themselves personal harm by. Ridiculous, doesn't seem to be a problem in every other hotel I stayed in. WiFi was a bit slow at times - especially at night. The local area is typical old town Palermo - quite run down and dirty (lots of litter on the streets and piled up in the bins) but there is a wide choice of restaurants within 10-15 minutes walk of the hotel including the famous Antico Focacceria San Francesco which is fantastic.
3 out of 5
by Mary

Over priced

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived in the hotel a bit early for check in so we went to the pool area and ordered food while we were waiting. I thought I would have a pizza as it was the first meal we had in Sicily, when it arrived it was cold. I told the waiter this and he said "that is because it is a frozen pizza". This did not give me a lot of hope for the hotel. It was very over priced especially the drinks at the pool. The staff were not overly helpful. The first day we asked the best way to get into the city, the told us there were no buses that we would have to take a taxi, which cost €15. We then discovered ourselves that there is a free shuttle bus about 500 meters from the hotel that goes around the city, and they are every 20 mins. The pool area was lovely, there was an unsavory party of people around the pool for 2 days. The management came and warned them about their behavior but did little else, in my opinion they should have not let them stay as they were intimidating other customers, when this was reported there was nothing done about it. I would recommend this hotel as it is the only one with a pool but it needs a bit more management.