Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Excellent location, superb breakfast

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location , excellent daily breakfast
Cons: Wi fi connection
Location: Airport shutlle bus dropped us off on the square in front of the hotel
Everything was supper, only. Wi fi was working on and off (unreliable )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Staff was excellent. However, room cleaning seemed overworked because room was not really cleaned each day, or it may be a cultural difference in expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location, great staff

Posted Jul 29, 2017
I had a small neat room at an excellent price. Politeamo is a transportation hub just a minute or two walk away from Palermo 's extensive pedestrian and market zones. The airport shuttle stops here. The breakfast buffet is extensive. There are many fine restaurants within easy walking distance. Staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. The exterior is undergoing renovation so it is not at all pretty from the outside, but inside it is comfortable if a little old-fashioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Third time at the Politema Hotel, Sicily

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: It is at a central site of Palermo. Many buses can be found at the footstep. It is near to the fashion stores and near the centre of the city, clean
Cons: For us it is the perfect hotel in Palermo. Hopefully it maintains its charm after the renovation.
Location: see text above
My husband and I stayed this time for 14 nights. As the previous years we enjoyed every day. The staff is familiar to us now and very helpful. Every morning we were looking forward to the delicious breakfast buffet. This time we were upgraded to a better room because of the length of the stay. We are wondering how the hotel will look like after the renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well kept older hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location, character
The Politeama Palace Hotel is a well kept older hotel, conveniently situated in the centre of Palermo with the airport bus stopping outside. The aircon was effective, the room comfortable and there is a good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More of a 3* than a 4*

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
The location of this hotel is great as there is a bus stop outside the hotel that has buses to take you all over Palermo. It is also next to the impressive Politeama. The hotel itself however has seen better days. The reception area is run down and the lifts are old and cramped. The room size was good but the room was tired and dusty. The bathroom was dirty and cramped and had a pervasive bad smell. The wifi was not working when we stayed and we were offered no alternative or compensation. The breakfast quality was mediocre and tasted stale. Overall, a handy hotel to stay in the day you get into/ night before you leave Palermo due to its location.
3 out of 5
by Jacqui

Scaffolding!

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is enveloped in scaffolding which was not disclosed on hotel description! Window view was blocked. Front desk staff said this should have been noted on the booking site (Hotels.com). I would not have booked here if I'd known. Air conditioning was not effective even at lowest possible setting. Shower handle was very stiff to turn on water. Staff was very nice and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Location: Shopping on your doorstep, restaurants galore, hop on hop off bus stop, local bus stops, and walking distance to major historic sites.
We stayed for four days, our room was comfortable spacious and quiet. The location is great close to transport, shopping and tourist sites. The breakfast buffet is excellent. It's a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely Friendly local hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: A good example was the care and trouble they took to help me when my wallet was lifted - contacting the police and helping me block my credit cards.
Location: Has a bar but no evening menu at the hotel and few local restaurants only - but they exist.On the open Piazza Politeama to sit and worldwatch
I cannot praise the hotel too highly! Politearma Hotel offers an exceptional local hotel for an enjoyable time in Palermo experience based on an extremely understanding and friendly helpful staff ever willing to help you get to the many interesting corners of Palermo and elsewhere in Sicily, an outstanding and included buffet breakfast that included bacon and eggs, locally made preserves, various fruits and a good selection of local bread and cakes including the infamous cannoli! Good standards in accommodation and comfort. Its location is right on the very regular 101 bus route that circles the city and links with other routes and a taxi rank outside. The Monreale tour bus also passes the door.. I cannot praise this hotel too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel is convenient for everything in Palermo. You can easily walk to all the attractions. Our room was quiet, even though it's on the front of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Check in and out was really easy and the staff very friendly. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Palermo.