Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Staff Very Helpful

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Hotel is located at city center and within walking distance to.historc district. Desk staff very helpful and gave use detailed information how to get to sites, good places to eat, and assisting with tour booking. Breakfast good and hotel clean. Room air conditioning adequate, but fan only worked on high. Hotel is well worn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

perfct location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Remove the scaffolding
Location: Great shops bars and restaurants close by
We were disappointed to find scaffolding all around the front of the hotel.Our room was overlooking the square but could not see out because of this!! Having said this the hotel had a perfect location,the staff very plesant ,the rooms were clean and spacious,the buffet breakfast was very good plenty of choices even prosecco to make a nice Buck's Fizz!! I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it.Hopefully the scaffolding will be gone soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, nice staff, a little tired.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice, good breakfast
Cons: Update rooms
Location: Walk to see everything
The hotel is ok, however, on a rainy night we woke up to a flood in our bedroom. Not good. Also, a lot of construction going on around the hotel, if you want a view, ask for another location. Staff is very accommodating, breakfast was nice. Don't know if I would stay again, but it wasn't terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buffalo, new york

great location to shopping and transportation

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: the breakfast and location of hotel...
Cons: nothing
Location: great
staff was great and informative.. the breakfast was satisfying.....rooms were comfortable..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ROCKAWAY, NY

NICE HOTEL

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, good staff.
Location: Airport shuttle bus drop off is right in front of the hotel, There are many good restaurants within walking distance, Lots of shopping nearby.
This hotel is very nice, it is undergoing some renovation at the present time but this did not interfere with our stay. The location is wonderful, central to everything. The staff was super helpful especially Gabriella, the conseirge. We asked questions several times a day and she was extremely helpful with her information and suggestions. One of the best things about the location is that the airport shuttle bus was available right on the corner of the hotel. Also Viator Tour van pickup was between our hotel and the store on the corner. The breakfast is fit for a king with an amazing assortment of cakes, cookies, pasties, a bread table, cold meats and cheese, fresh fruits and even scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. The breakfast also included Champage. This was not my first stay at Politema and it will not be my last. I totally enjoyed staying here. Lots of shopping and great restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hotel at the centre of Palermo.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The location, the size of the room, the design of the lobby, the breakfast room, the free water on the first night.
Cons: The building as a whole will be improved when the work is finished. The plumbing perhaps needs a bit of updating.
Location: Very near to Teatro Politeama (across the road!),Teatro Massimo (the guided tour is recommended), the cathedral & the Teatro dei pupi (puppet theatre)
This is a nice hotel in a great location - Piazza Politeama is right at the centre of Palermo. The bedrooms are spacious (at least mine was) and the breakfast room is very nice. The hotel is currently being renovated and there is a lot of scaffolding around the building - I imagine it will be even nicer when that is all done. Some things might be a dealbreaker for some (although they weren't for me) - the plumbing was a little bit noisy (especially when the toilet flush shuts off) and you will only find water in the mini-bar (not an issue for me as that's mostly what I use from the mini-bar). Although I didn't use them (they left a bit too early in the morning), the hotel offers trips to other parts of Sicily such as Taormina and Mount Etna - you pay extra for these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Excellent location, superb breakfast

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location , excellent daily breakfast
Cons: Wi fi connection
Location: Airport shutlle bus dropped us off on the square in front of the hotel
Everything was supper, only. Wi fi was working on and off (unreliable )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Staff was excellent. However, room cleaning seemed overworked because room was not really cleaned each day, or it may be a cultural difference in expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location, great staff

Posted Jul 29, 2017
I had a small neat room at an excellent price. Politeamo is a transportation hub just a minute or two walk away from Palermo 's extensive pedestrian and market zones. The airport shuttle stops here. The breakfast buffet is extensive. There are many fine restaurants within easy walking distance. Staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. The exterior is undergoing renovation so it is not at all pretty from the outside, but inside it is comfortable if a little old-fashioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Third time at the Politema Hotel, Sicily

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: It is at a central site of Palermo. Many buses can be found at the footstep. It is near to the fashion stores and near the centre of the city, clean
Cons: For us it is the perfect hotel in Palermo. Hopefully it maintains its charm after the renovation.
Location: see text above
My husband and I stayed this time for 14 nights. As the previous years we enjoyed every day. The staff is familiar to us now and very helpful. Every morning we were looking forward to the delicious breakfast buffet. This time we were upgraded to a better room because of the length of the stay. We are wondering how the hotel will look like after the renovation.