Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Close to all sightseeing. Very spacious room.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Very very noisy, elevator noise, street noise, runing water in piping system. If you are not so tired, hard to sleep. Very very basic breakfast. Bath tub, no shower, hard to bath, had to hold the shower head with one hand. No access to kitchenware, cabinets were locked. Staff very polite and helpful in some extand, but when asked for two single beds,they responded that since request not been done during booking online, nothing can be done. They could just say not available. AC contorl was set on 23 degree, and palermo is very very hot in Sep, no way to change it(just on/off). To be fair the price for such a large room in city centre is low.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by The Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Mahmoud, Thanks for your review. We are really sorry that you didn't like your stay with us. You should talk to the reception during your stay, we could fix all the problems. Regarding the noise: you booked an hotel in the centre of Palermo, so if you sleep with the windows open you can hear noise from the street. You should close the soundproof windows. Our rooms and our lift are not noisy, and there aren't any piping system close to the room. The kitchen is included just by payment, because it's an extra service. You booked an accessible room which has a bathtub instead a shower as you knew and accepted by e-mail. You didn't book a room with twin beds so we arranged a double bedroom, you should book the right room. We couldn't separate the beds in the room allocated for you and we were already fully booked so it wasn't possible to change room. Anyway the accessible room is a Triple room which has a single bed in the living room and a double bed in the master double bedroom, you could use the single in the living room if you would to sleep separate. Ac work correctly as it's a new system. You should ask to the reception to change the temperature lower than 23° Celsius. Kind Regards The Reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The description on your website said the rooms had a kitchenette which is why we chose this hotel but it wasn't included in the price. If you wanted this facility you had to pay 12 euros a day extra.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Reception Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First and foremost, many thanks for taking the time to leave your review for Residenza d'Aragona. We confirm that every room has a kitchenette, the use of which is for an extra charge of 10 Euros per night, as specified on all our portals including Expedia. We hope that nevertheless you enjoyed a comfortable stay at Residenza d'Aragona. Best regards and we send our best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The location of this little hotel was central to everything, but tucked away in a quiet area. The staff was outstanding! Professional and knowledgeable. Daniel arranged a tour of Cefalù and Palermo that turned out much better than what we were planning ourselves. The room was clean and spacious accommodating three of us comfortably. It even had a kitchenette that would have been perfect for longer stays. Breakfasts were served with a smile. In addition to the usual cereals, fruits and juices, there was a good selection of cold cuts, cheeses, breads, and some pastries. Great value for the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Gregorio, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. It is great to see that you appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of the spacious rooms and the quality of our service. Your kind words about the staff will be passed on to all departments. We look forward to welcoming you in Palermo again soon! Best regards
1 out of 5
by Peter

Awful service in face of broken A/C

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
In theory this would be a pleasant hotel. However, the A/C was not working when we checked in. We notified the front desk immediately. When we returned from our sightseeing nine hours later the A/C was still not fixed. There was no fan, and there were no alternative rooms (despite there being quite a few still unbooked when we left). We passed a near sleepless night in the Sicilian summer heat with mosquitos biting and buzzing around us constantly. The concierge expressed some very artificial sympathy but made absolutely no effort to rectify the situation. It was a very poor way to start a vacation and unexpectedly callous in what seemed like an otherwise nice hotel. Needless to say, we won't stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017
Dear Peter, Thanks for your feedback. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we had a maintanance problem with the A/C in your room and we couldn't be able to fix it. We were fully booked on the day when you notified to us this problem. so we couldn't be able to change room either. Apologize for this, we hope to welcome you again and show our real value! Kind Regards The Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Rezidenza d'Arogona

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms well equipped
Lovely hotel super room and very helpful and friendly staff. Buffet breakfasts offered a good variety of choice, were fresh and presented well. The staff were very helpful with maps directions and information.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Tara, Really thanks for your kind review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy also for the kind words regarding our staff. We hope to be your hosts again next time around and in the meanwhile we send you many greetings from Palermo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideally placed for central Palermo

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This is a well run, chic and handy hotel to enjoy all that Palermo offers. The staff are very friendly (Anna and Bernadette) and helped us during our stay. The rooms were spacious and very clean. All in all a great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, Really thanks for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay very much! Kind Regards The Reception staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manningtree, UK

Excellent Hotel PERFECTLY placed in Palermo

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location; size of room; cleanliness; quiet
Cons: A little dark in the rooms at the back of the hotel (a minus but also a plus if you wanted a siesta)
Location: So central; 15 min walk to train station. 5-10 min walk to all main attractions; Teatro Massimo; Quattro Canti; Cathedral; Shopping; Martorana
First and foremost this hotel is perfectly placed, very central, easy walk to all historical, memorable and social area's within Palermo. The hotel staff were generally very helpful and always happy to put themselves out to make our stay more pleasurable. The hotel itself is (in my opinion) well kept, clean and what i would expect of a good 4 star hotel. The breakfast is very typical of an Italian hotel breakfast, variety of meats cheeses, breads, cereals, yoghurt etc, Coffee made fresh, although the fruit juices weren't fresh squeezed (but I'm being a bit picky here and this didn't bother me at all). Our room was huge, the bed was perfect, medium hard I would say, which is exactly what I love, not too much give but not a board either. The room is almost like a small apartment and there was a kitchen area (cooker and fridge) cunningly disguised as a wardrobe; the fridge always available, the stove you had to pay a small additional fee for, but we ate out as we love the Palermo eateries :-) My only criticism, was that as our room was at the back of the hotel, it was fairly dark even during the day; great if you wanted to have an afternoon nap, but not so good if you wanted to read a book in your room as you had to use artificial light, but seriously, who stays in their room during the day when in Palermo? I would highly recommend to friends wanting to visit the area and would happily go back there myself. Excellent week in Palermo with a super base.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by Reception, Hotel Management
Dear James Thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Residenza D’Aragona. We hope to welcome you again in Palermo. Looking forward to meeting you. Kind Regards Reception – Residenza D’Aragona.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
A great property in a great location with wonderful staff highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Residenza D’Aragona. We hope to welcome you again in Palermo. Looking forward to meeting you. Kind Regards Reception – Residenza D’Aragona.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

A wonderful value!

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Close to the old city, port and 20 minute walk to train station. The front desk personnel were exceptional and made my visit very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Residenza D’Aragona. We hope to welcome you again in Palermo. Looking forward to meeting you. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Highly recommended!

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is in the heart of Palermo which is great for sightseeing but not great for driving/parking. Our 2 night stay was so enhanced by Bernadetta who was on duty when we arrived. She spoke English very well and assisted us with parking, directions, etc. We arrived at 5 and left our car in their unloading area until 8. We then snagged a blue parking space right across the street and she guided us on how to buy tickets to pay for parking. She reviewed a map with us and made many suggestions for sites, restaurants, etc. This hotel is very lucky to have Bernadetta, she is wonderful. Breakfast was excellent and wi-fi worked well. Our only suggestion would be to replace/ update the love seat, drapes and bedspread in our room as they were not in keeping with the otherwise outstanding location and décor of this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Residenza D’Aragona. We hope to welcome you again in Palermo. Looking forward to meeting you. Kind Regards Reception – Residenza D’Aragona.