Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Martha

Recommended 100%

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel with lots of character staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend and would stay again
3 out of 5
by Ritchie

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was OK. Lobby area was messy and the man greeting us was not particularly friendly. It was on a quiet street, so no problems sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Extraordinary people, like family from minute one,

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly, overall outstanding service, familiar atmosphere.
Cons: I liked everything, nothing to report in this section
Location: Superb location, lots of restaurants and bars, cool atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Brimming with character & charm

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The staff and sweet vibes, definitely a unique & charming place. Just lovely.
Cons: Our stay really was perfect, highly recommend! The skeleton keys could be a little challenging to use but is part of the overall character.
Location: Walking distance from the Parque de Febrero 3--a gorgeous, sprawling greenspace. Rent bikes from Nataranja Bicicletas on Nicaragua round the block.
Traveling as a couple and spent one week in Buenos Aires in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood based on a trusted friend's suggestion. We were looking for original, yet clean, comfortable, and well-located lodging. We wanted to stay away from the city center and typical corporate hotel experiences. Rugantino Hotel was everything we hoped for and more. Books, guitars, plants, open terraces, and tastefully chosen furniture provide a chill yet cultured atmosphere. Right in the heart of a great area surrounded by quality eateries, markets, and drinking establishments. You can easily hop on the subte (subway) at Plaza Italia and get to San Telmo.
5 out of 5
by Katherine from Hawaii

great little hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
This was very much like a home away from home. The staff were so congenial, agreeable, helpful, enthusiastic. One left feeling as though one had some new friends. Breakfast was included and with a great selection of options. One could fill up water bottles in the kitchen from room temp or refrigerated water containers. there was a common lounge area for staff and guests, with wifi, computer, comfy chairs, sofas. One afternoon one of the staff was playing the guitar. The rooftop and ground floor patios were nice; area was safe and quiet.
4 out of 5
by Marcus

Good for solo travelrs

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in Palermo which is a neighborhood of restaurants and great shopping. Walk 3 blocks to Honduras and then turn left towards the plaza. I'll describe the hotel was quaint/bohemian. My room was a little on the small/narrow side but it was adequate for my purposes. Wifi was fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, California

Simple hotel in Palermo Soho

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: The helpful staff, the extensive library of travel books on things to do in Argentina and Buenos Aires, great AC, and the rooftop garden.
Cons: The building is old but that's part of its charm.
Location: Near to Plaza Italia, the subway, botanical gardens, parks, zoo, places to eat, Plaza Serrano street fair Sundays
Rugantino Hotel is a charming hotel in Palermo. The hotel staff was helpful and most of the rooms are nice. I would not recommend the single room #3. It is too small. Take the double room which is more comfortable even for a single person. The front has a locked gate so it is best to check in during the day when people are there. The front desk is not open late at night or early in the morning. The hotel is in an artsy neighborhood. I felt safe walking around even late at night. There is an outdoor cafe on the corner and a grocery store nearby. The generous breakfast includes medialunas (Argentinian croissants), rolls, toast, ham, cheese, lots of jams, cream cheese, dulce de leche, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice (squeeze your own), coffee, and tea. The attentive woman working there also offered to make eggs by request. It was fun to eat with other guests and discuss fun things to do and compare notes. I was there 2 weeks at the end of December and it was very hot. The air conditioning in the rooms worked very well and was necessary.
2 out of 5
by Marlyne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Estilo muito agradável e bem localizado

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente ambiente com estilo bem legal além de ambiente aconchegante e acolhedor. Muito bem localizado.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel assez branché mais un peu bricolé

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel assez bien situé dans un quartier calme avec des restaurants à côté