Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

amazing beach, and hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The beach, the way the hotel is spread out and all the facilities at the beach, including several gazebos with barbeques counters with sink
Cons: more items on the menu, because this is the low season some of the theme nights with different foods did not take place
My husband wanted to take on a trip for my birthday and gave me the choice. After considering Jamaica, Punta Cana and Cuba, due to all the hurricanes going on, we chose to return to Aruba after being there 25 years ago. I was hesitant about booking this hotel as I was not familiar with this chain and we usually go all inclusive. I usually request a high floor but it never fails they put me on the first floor. This was the first time we didn't have to change room, not only we were on the 13th floor and up graded to one bedroom suite, we had the best view of the ocean and the city, we saw the sunrise from the living room window and the sunset from the bedroom balcony. The only little negative was the lack of more dining options, the breakfast buffet was Ok not great for the price and the main restaurant is only open for dinner if there is no private function or wedding. We definitely try to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, MD

For a great time in Aruba

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: We liked the fact that It is not a large resort. Everything is right there, you do not have to leave the resort if you prefer not to.
Cons: It would be nice for the resort to have non motorized water activities available; snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, etc.
Location: Great location on Palm Beach, walking distance to many shops and restaurants.
Our trip to St Martin was canceled due to Hurricane Irma. We made a last minute switch to Aruba. The Divi Phoenix Resort turned out to be perfect for us. It's right on the beach and the food at the restaurants was excellent. We never had a bad meal. Staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Close to the beach a plus but...

Posted Sep 17, 2017
One of the reasons I picked this hotel was for a promotion for kids to eat free and an adventures club that guaranteed activities for kids during the day. This was a huge perk for us since our daughter is 4 and this trip was for our anniversary. The website advertised the kids club specific to this resort. When we arrived I asked the front desk about the kids club activity calendar - she stated the resort did not have the adventure program. When we arrived at our room the front of the door was very dirty which concerned me about the interior. Overall it was a pleasant room that overlooked the pool but again, having a toddler the fact the our daughter could fit through the railings on the outdoor porch and the nuts and bolts that attached the railings to the side of the hotel had pulled away from the wall caused me concern and worry everytime she wanted to go outside. Not very relaxing. I looked through the resort directory and found two places were the kids adventure club was mentioned again specific to the Divi Phoenix - I called back down to the front desk and within the next 3 mintues was transferred 5 times resulting in a final transfer back to the front desk where I was told another Divi resort was the one with the club. I told her it was in the resort directory I was holding and she answered thank you and hung up. Overall we had a wonderful experience at the resort outside of a few grumpy staff members and what I had mentioned above.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff and beautiful beach and convenient

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The room we wanted was less money than you charged me and I should get a refund for the difference. The room we stayed in was very adequate and lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Was Great to be back Home

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Only that I could go more often
Location: plenty on site and plenty close by
Aruba and especially the Divi Phoenix has become our second home. This was an unexpected trip as we were escaping from Hurricane Irma and of course we were greeted by all our friends at the Divi Phoenix with open arms as usual. A special thanks to Thamara at the front desk for making us feel special once again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Undecided

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly
Cons: When families or couples arrive a little early make a better effort to accommodate there room stay
Overall our two day stay was okay. The problem I have is we arrived a little early and after a long day of traveling all we wanted to do is get out of our clothes, shower and sit in an air conditioned room. Unfortunately we had to sit in the lobby for 3 hours waiting for our room. I understand check in is at 4 pm. We seen couples check in early and go right up to there rooms. I don't know if it was an oversight but I will think twice about staying at the Divi again. Usually I am pretty fair about my reviews however after traveling all day long all we wanted to do is relax and cool down unfortunately that did not happen the way we planned it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort has direct beach access

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Best part of the resort is the direct access to the Palm Beach. Resort and has set up with chairs/lounge and towels if your staying at the resort.
Cons: All the issues were with the resort for which I filled out their survey with details.
Location: All resorts and hotel are not for away from each other since the island is only 20 miles long. There are a lot of water activities and several tours.
This was my first time using Expedia for a packaged vacation. No complaints with the processes. Alerts were a nice touch. Best part of the resort is the direct access to the Palm Beach. Resort and has set up with chairs/lounge and towels if your staying at the resort, and the Spa has great services and massage chairs for which I treated myself. The restaurants have tasty food. The don't offer any shuttle to the Alhambra Casino and mall as was printed. I had to take cab there and back which was $9 one way. Good thing a few cabs are waiting outside for fares. This was my first time to Aruba. I intentionally planned to enjoy myself despite the many the issues at the resort since I was vested in the trip I made the best of it.. I did enjoy the half day tour of the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Great hotel next to the beach with very friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nassau Bahamas

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Check in with fast Hotel was clean and nice Hotel staff was nice and friendly. Except one problem I had where is guess came to my room asking for some shoes never got a report on that.. but overall was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Nice hotel, directly at the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Directly located at the beach
Cons: The room was not prepared fro 3 persons, while the booking was for 3 persons
Location: Nearby Palm beach and Eagle beach. A car is advised if you want to go to the restaurant area,
Nice hotel between Palm Beach and Eagle beach with spacious apartments. Good breakfast. Unfortunately we were surprised that the room was not prepared for 3 persons, while this was indicated during our booking.