Ratings based on 1,069 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Awesome view great atmosphere

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Which we could usex both Riu hotels restaurants but overall very nice, fun trip
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whitehall, PA

Not as expected

Posted Sep 17, 2017
My initial check in started out bad so I knew it was the start of a downhill stay if I let it. We went on a family vacation where our children with their children were there and there are 2 sides to the hotel an adult only side and a family side so I called before we booked to make sure that we could go on their side and do everything with them especially meals and I was told yes but they couldn't bring the children on our side. That was not the case when we got there, we were only allowed in their buffet and not the 4 other restaurants. I also didn't have an ocean view that I paid for so they moved us to a higher floor that had a slightly better view but with all of this the attitude of the staff was unacceptable at the front desk. Also most of the staff was miserable no hello or good morning I never stayed at a resort where the staff where miserable. We did have many staff at the buffet on the family side that were terrific. They treated us very well and took good care of us one in particular during the daytime. Also the little time I spent at the pool on the adult side that staff was so nice and interactive with the guests, not so much at the family pool (miserable). I told the manager I was extremely disappointed in the Riu because I heard such great things about this hotel on other islands. The rooms are run down and in desperate need of upgrades. The plumbing is terrible I had to go stick my hand in the tank to flush it & the kids too nobody could fix right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia , pa

Great service

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The staff did an exceptional job ! They were all so pleasant and accomadating . The food was amazing ! Never had a bad meal ! The rooms could have been a bit nicer and more comfortable but overall the pool and the beach were beautiful !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not worth the money.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
First time at A Riu and a bit of a let down. Drinks were bottomshelf and caused us to feel sick. Only resort in high rise section without beach service. Food was average. Restaurants do not take reservations so be prepared to line up at 6pm or wait. However, the do give u a beeper that works throughout hotel. Best bar drinks were in lobby bar. Best staff and food was at krystals and aurubian restaurant. Celebrated my birthday and left after desserts, manager chased us down to elevator to make sure we got our special plate. Awesome staff in that regard. Also, liked the coffee bar and how it offered prepacked sandwiches and fruit if you were leaving for an excursion...great option! All beaches are public so it was cramped with kids despite being adults only. Check in was fast, but no one took the time to explain the resort or it's features. Didn't find out til end of our trip from other guests there were free floats and water activities is a smaller hut off the beach, not the ones selling you options on beachfront. Riu next door seemed to have the better facilities. All in all, Aruba is so safe you do not need the all inclusive option like other Carribean islands, we stayed off the resort the final 3 nights of our trip and had a better time. Loved Aruba and it's beaches, but next time would not stay at the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel. Awesome staff

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I was just at this hotel, don't understand why people are complaining, they're just unpleaseable pricks. Everything here is great, and staff is amazing. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Aruba hotel on beach

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: on the beach, All inclusive
Cons: Service
I stayed at the Riu Adults All Inclusive with a friend. I have been to Aruba several times, this is the first resort to have bad service. Having to ask more than one time for silverware to eat on consecutive days no less. The room had missing light bulbs and dirty floors. The one Pro was the bartenders were very good at keeping the drinks flowing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel and staff, right on the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Great hotel and staff. Great drinks. Alex at the lobby bar makes the best drinks around. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Hotel is walking distance to Señor Frogs and other restaurants and shopping areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, Tn USA

Lovely hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Truly enjoyed our stay. The staff and the food were great. Enjoyed the excursion too .The only negative would have to be the nighttime entertainment. The shows could be better and would attract a larger audience. Would return to this hotel again and again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Aruba is beautiful, just wish the resort was!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We arrived to the resort and the staff as amazing, acommodating and very friendly. We found this to be true of the entire stay. As for the hotel itself? It's old and needs major updating. The rooms aren't as clean as they could be. Mini fridge had mold, the bathrooms last had Mildred and mold. The adult bar pool full of mold in the tile cracks. Just gross. The food, just okat. Not worth the money for the condition. A few upgrades and renovations would go a long way. Very dated!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The room and hallways smelled like mold. The staff was friendly and the food was good. The best thing about the hotel is it's location.