Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Paradise in Aruba

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location is great.. Lots of shopping just down the street and 15 minutes from town. Clean and right on the beach. Swim up bar is fun!
Cons: Entertainment must get better!! You have people from all over the world and every nationality. Get some variety in the music!!
Location: There is shopping and Restaurants 10 minute walk. Very nice shopping near the port where cruise ships come in.
The Rio Palace is beautiful. We had a oceanview suite overlooking the GREAT pool on the 8th floor with a balcony. Every morning you see the sunrise over the ocean. Get up early to secure a spot on the beach under the shade! The room is very spacious with King bed and a sitting room. The room was very clean. The a/c worked very well and they had a ceiling fan. The shower is very spacious. The buffet was great! The specialty restaurants were not as good as I was expecting for the price we paid. We ended up going off property for our anniversary dinner. The hotel did send chocolate covered strawberries to our room and Champs for our anniversary night. Thanks Riu! I give the entertainment a epic fail. Nothing to do at night. There were 1 or 2 good shows but the rest were terrible. No variety in the singers. Average type Karaoke singing.. no real Wow factors the entire week. The one good thing was that you can enjoy both Riu properties with the wristband. You could eat and drink and swim at both. They are right next door to each other. Riu Palace is more family oriented and the other more lively. We went next door for Carnivale Show and Costume Party. Get your snorkling package on the beach. Its less expensive. Best snorkling day ever!! Saw a shipwreck and lots of fish!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
The staff was very friendly. Thank you Charlie for being awesome. The bar in the room is just what I needed on my honeymoon. Overall Great Environment and Great Time. The only thing is the floor are very slippery not sure what can be done about that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Oct 31, 2017
All the food and drinks you can think of. Great staff! Amazing shows every night! The pool wasn’t incredible and huge. I love the swim up bar and seats and loungers right in the water. I don’t think I would ever stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good and Not so good

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
GOOD: Most of the employees are very friendly, food was good especially the buffet & steak house. The outside grounds was very nice, so was the pool and beach. NOT SO GOOD: Our package included a $500 resort credit so we thought. What we got was 2 sets coupons for $20 off snorkeling, $5 liquid cruise, $10 romantic cruise, $10 dance cruise, $10 fun cruise, $10 pedicure, $15 stress message, $20 body wrap and back massage, $25 facial and finally $30 off spa combo. Now if you do the math that comes up to $310 not $500 the rest was a $5 casino each and the other $90 each was for the wedding package.....haha I've been married 27 years. Needless to say we didn't use any "resort credits". The service desk didn't seem to mind telling us about the resort credits were really coupons. Our room was big but not the cleanest and had cracked tiles that were filled in with some kind of filler that didn't look good. The toilet was leaking and had to be serviced 3 times. The hallway smelled of sewage every morning, I think some kind of problem was going on because my husband saw a big sewage truck out front one morning. Some outlets didn't work and lights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Honeymoon

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Had a great time on my honeymoon, room was amazing but its diclosed as ocean view.. it was more poolview with stepping out on the balcony and turning to look left at the ocean, was my biggest let down. Was hoping to wake up facing the ocean. Room service was quick, nothing kn the menu for room service, no top shelf liquour. When eatting at the restaurant food was delish! Servers were really sweet and were happy to see us the following day like greeting an old friend. Buffet had great food! Entertainment was good as well. Walked to the connecting hotel for their casino. Overall It was a great time, suite was beautiful, pool was awesome just had to add in some things we found on our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Great beach. Friendly staff and the staff was very helpful. Would recommend that s hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Very nice and friendly staff. Rooms were cleaned daily. Food was delicious with a wide variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Awesome, great

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Great hotel, some staff members were a little flighty but overall a great experience. Would go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, Virginia

Good quality hotel.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Good food. Friendly service. Very clean. Good variety of food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I had a great time I would recommend the hotel to anyone. The staff was great.