Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and 1920's charm.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Great location right in the middle of all the shops and restaurants of Atlantic Ave. You can feel the history of this hotel as soon as you walk in as it was built in the 1920's...and most of it still remains. Free parking at the hotel and the cabana club with good access to the beach. Neutral: The amenities in the room are sparse, bathrooms are small, but clean. With so much to do down town though...does it really matter. Also, this is what one should expect from a 1920's hotel. Cons: The staff are neither nice nor rude. Not really accommodating, just there. Better management would help. Breakfast was weak but good enough. WiFi is on the weak side but also good enough unless you're there for business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Wonderful staff, as well as accommodations. Can't say enough about it. Will be back next time I'm in the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Florida Charm

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Location: Lots of restaurants and small shops. Beach a stones throw away.
Staff was very friendly and the old Florida charm of the hotel makes this a definite destination when visiting the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Classic Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2016
We really loved the experience of staying at the Colony. It's like being on a movie set of a film that takes place in the 1920's. It has a lovely porch just off the lobby and the bar. Everything is charming and exceptionally clean. The rooms have been updated and outs was very comfortable. The pool is part of a cabana club on the beach-just beautiful!!! The staff is great. They are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend the Colony an especially nice change from the cookie cutter bland chain hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Had a great time would stay there again. I specially liked the private beach and pool. The staff were all very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Key West, FL.

Absolutely Beautiful and Historic Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Don't change a thing!
Location: Great location, park and walk to everything.
The hotel was built in the late 1920's and brings you back to that bygone era. The lobby looks like something you would only see in a Carey Grant movie. It has so much character that you just want to drift away into your imagination while enjoying a cocktail at the lobby bar. Our room was very cute and the bed was very comfortable. Adorned with antique furnishings and modern amenities, like free WIFI bring the room into the 21st Century. The buffet breakfast was very good with fresh squeezed orange juice and served on real glassware. Overall our stay was great and will stay again if in the area. Perfect location on Atlantic Ave. with ample self parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of history in the heart of Delray

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Wonderful hotel, lots of history ! has its own private beach and pool which hotel residents have access to. Right in the heart of downtown delray easy walking to tons of restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Vintage hotel in town

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Location: Great in- town location, close to shops, bars, restaurants.
Fun, funky restored 1920's hotel. We liked the old Havana tropical feel. The lobby bar and street side patio was fun, although traffic can get loud and make conversation difficult. The beach and pool, though off- site, is lovely and private. The hotel is a geat bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
A bygone era! The hotel ambiance reminds me of the movie Casablanca. And the elevator is so old it requires staff to operate it (which reminded me of the movie Titanic). The only complaint I have is that we could hear our upstairs neighbors walking above us when they came in one night (which was so loud it woke us up). I would also recommend the owners stepping up to central air for all the rooms. Other than that, a unique hotel with very friendly housekeepers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on Atlantic Avenue

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: We love the old Floridian feeling. The open porch beckons to you to sit and relax. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Back to cabana on day 2.
Cons: We had a smaller room, but spent little time there. Nothing needs to be improved.
Location: Hotel is right on Atlantic Ave in the middle of everything, and within walking distance of Boston's and Cafe Luna Rose on Ocean Blvd.
My daughter was visiting from Cape Cod, I live in PBGardens, and we wanted a staycation of one night in Delray, an easy drive to and from the hotel. Weather was lovely so we went right to the cabana , enjoyed the pool and facilities, and checked in later. It was easy to park in the back of hotel before checking in. Breakfast buffet was very good in the am. Enjoyed eating on the open porch with the other guests. After a late checkout, we were able to spend the afternoon at the cabana club pool, the beach was a little too windy that day. My daughter said she had a "fabulous" time, so it was a hit for me!! The drive home was 35 minutes, but I felt we had been to the islands!! Will definitely return. Thank you to the wonderful staff who made our stay so enjoyable.