Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton, NY

Good location to downtown Delray and restaurants.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Vintage 1926 hotel in need of restoration and amenities. Hotelier should provide refreshments, lunch, dinner at hotel with 24/7 services. Beach club has potential but had very limited menu. Very thin walls and hardwood floors allow occupant to hear neighbors and be "heard". Friendly staff is stifled by Owner unwilling to improve the property's potential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

One of a Kind Hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We've stayed here a few times when there was no room at the inn at my sister's house nearby. The hotel is a gem. Right in the middle of downtown Delray, there is no better location - we love sitting out on the front patio and peoplewatch. The hotel is from the 20s and is not a modern hotel, but that is the charm. The decor is bright, colorful, and unique. Rooms are decently sized and nicely appointed, and with the new windows very quiet for downtown. Staff is super-friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a nice extra and good. The Cabana beach club is a short car or shuttle bus ride away and has a beautiful 25meter pool, open beach with loungers, a lunch grill, etc. So if you don't mind things a bit quirky, don't need everything to be perfect, and wouldn't mind staying in a hotel with a 90 year old manual elevator, this place is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Vintage charm

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Needs updates but the staff makes up for any shortcomings Great location that makes you feel special when entering or exiting or just sitting on the porch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NH

Special place to stay

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Ambience, wide open rooms and ceilings. We had a king room which was spacious. I did hear from one customer that the double and single rooms are not
Location: Atlantic street is incredible to wander along. Cabana club is a gem. Totally fine that it is not next to the hotel
Historic hotel is accurate. A throwback to 1930's in feel and warmth with enough of today's amenities to allow one to instantaneously decompress. My wife did yoga class in Sunday 930 which she said was magical
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

A Cut Above the Rest - You won't want to leave

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Parking was free, staff were warm and welcoming, the room was beautiful, the location perfect, breakfast was delicious and club access was awesome.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: The hotel is situated in the heart of Delray. Right out the door are bars, restaurants, shopping and entertainment venues.
My wife and I decided to stop for a night in Delray Beach on our way to our winter home in Weston, Florida. We looked on line for a well situated 3, 4, or 5 star hotel and several high end destinations showed up, None, however, offered the old world charm and unique characteristics of the Colony Hotel and Cabana Club. Based on the reviews, it was a no brainer. We booked. The hotel didn't disappoint. It was even nicer than we imagined. The lobby was colourfully furnished art deco style and made even more beautiful with the exciting Christmas decorations that adorned it. The front desk staff were warm and welcoming and eager to ensure that our stay would be memorable. We were given a beautiful room on the second floor. True to its description on-line the room was bursting with old world charm. The hotel is located in the heart of Delray close to restaurants, bars, shopping and entertainment. We spent the evening checking out all that Delray Beach has to offer. In the morning we were treated to a wonderful hot breakfast that was served in the lobby and complimentary to hotel guests. After breakfast we wandered through Pineapple Grove, a fun shopping area showcasing exciting galleries, boutiques and restaurants. Sadly, late morning we had to check out but our Colony Hotel experience wasn't over. As guests of the hotel, we were entitled to access to the Cabana Club on the beach. The Cabana Club is an exclusive members only must experience destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Very hospitable staff. Great location. Beautiful beach club.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Old hotel in decent condition

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: The beach club is very nice except there is no music and a lot of old people. If you like quiet and relaxing you will like. I was bored.
Location: It was on the Atlantic strip close to restaurants and bars
Staying here was my girlfriend's idea. She liked. I did not. It is a quaint, old and historic hotel. the room was small, the queen bed was small and the bathtub shower was small. I'm 6'3 and need space. The AC unit was in the window which I do not like. I got up a few times during night to adjust. The elevator was a billion years old and you had to ring a bell for someone to bring you up or come get you. Again she thought it was cool and I thought it was inconvenient and slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Old World Charm in Downtown DelRay Beach

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Nice breakfast, yoga in the morning, beach walks, beautiful pool, proximity to dining.
We stayed for three nights and enjoyed music on the front porch, yoga in the mornings, a lovely breakfast and beautiful facilities at the Cabana. Just about perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'm a big fan of the Colony

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second time staying at The Colony within a 4 month window. I really like the central location to shops and restaurants, the beach/pool club, and its historic feel. The floors are hardwood, the beds are super comfy, and the staff is Very helpful. Since I raved about all this in my Sept. review, I'd like this review to focus on the outstanding job done by the housekeeping staff. Every morning, they are busy making the place shine and they are Quiet as they go about their jobs. They also stop and greet every guest with a smile. They are the ones who make the place look so good, and I think they deserve the kudos this time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great old hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
great service and great location