Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Hotel needs updating

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
hotel is beginning to remodel, great location, room size is comfortable, balcony can see the ocean. Mattresses were bad, felt springs and the boards, the toliet was plugged, they can in quickly and end up replacing the whole toliet. Pool small but quiet. Live music Friday and Saturday night. Tiki bar ok. Greek/Mediterrain food upstair, nice view of ocean. Nice board walk to beach, very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by Claire, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We continue to remodel. We look forward to serving you again and make your stay more pleasant.
3 out of 5
by Brian from Richmond, VA

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel falls into the category of "you get what you pay for". The cost was about 1/2 of the other nearby hotels which made it affordable in season; however, it has a long way to go to make it a hotel that you would want to stay at. The staff are quite helpful and considerate and they do their best to accommodate with a decaying building infrastructure and amenities. For example the towels must be 20 years old, the bedding is old, there were no clothes hangars and the pillows are actually uncomfortable. Not much the staff can do about that, but the owners can if they are willing to pay attention to detail and make relatively modest investments in niceties. While the room was spacious and clean, the hallways smelled of what seemed like mold and gave off an overpowering odor. The overall appearance is run down with pool tables in the lobby which provides a less than desirable ambiance. Bottom line. I didn't want to pay for a place at a rate of ~$500 + a nite. I got this place instead for ~$250/night. Like I said, "you get what you pay for." In that sense, I have no major complaints. I would not stay here, however, if I was wanting to win the undying affection of the love of my life. Fortunately I already have that and so she was okay with this latest decision of mine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo, ny

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach, very friendly staff.
Cons: Update the mattress drapes on the Windows, paint the walls...
Location: Walk to the beach and small eating establishments.
Air conditioners very noisy had to change rooms because first roo air conditioners were not working. Beds were very uncomfortable, could feel the springs through the cover. Towels were fine for drying hands but less then adequate for drying after a shower, hot water in shower was barely warm.
2 out of 5
by Freddie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Denise from Troy, MI

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel accommodations were comfortable, food and service at the Taverna was wonderful! We love being right in the beach, location is fantastic!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Cons: The hotel needs to invest in new mattresses and new décor in the room &bath. We had a hairdryer, attached to the wall in the bathroom, but no outlet
Location: great location!
We were looking for a pet friendly hotel, and this fit the bill. Staff was wonderful. Very friendly.
2 out of 5
by Pam from Dawsonville

Poor

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
It was horrible. I requested two queen beds and instead got two double beds that were hard as rocks. The windows and balcony door rattled the entire time we were there. The wind was strong however; the windows and door were loose so they rattled constantly. Overall, we will not be staying there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016
Dear Pam Thank you for staying with us. I apologize if your stay was uncomfortable. As we are located on the ocean, the winds do seem to get stronger at times. The windows are sealed down in the entire hotel. We would have gladly moved you to another guestroom facing away from the ocean. The beds have recently been replaced in all the guestroom. We hope you enjoyed the close proximity to the beach and our clean, spacious and air conditioned guestroom. We would love to have you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from De

would recommend Hotel after renovation

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Perfect location , nice pool
Cons: needs a lot of remodeling
It is an old facility , needs a lot of upgrades -apparently the new owners are trying to do so. Service and was very good and friendly. We ate at the Greek Restaurant at the rooftop , looks like a Greek Taverna , nothing fancy ,but the food was very good and made to order . The Lamb- shank was cooked to perfection , so was the chicken . Just the wine was being served too warm :o( Beautiful view of the beach !!!
5 out of 5
by Juan from Orlando

Great beach stay.

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was excellent! Location was phenomenal, right on the beach. Our room had direct access to the pool deck. I only wish I could have stayed longer. I work for a resort company in Orlando, so I couldn't give it 100% on hotel condition only because of details that I wouldn't notice if I didn't work in the hospitality business. On a separate note: there was nothing that made us uncomfortable, however, this is not the most attractive option for families with younger kids.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You Pay for the Beach!!!!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: close the beach
Cons: upgrade the rooms wallpaper was peeling off and furniture was falling apart.
Location: Stay away from Jonny longboats!!! staff was very rude and people had to ask for service due to bartenders on there phones. over priced!!!
Kind of an oddball hotel. Defiantly need some upgrades and some work. The beach is very nice but the lifeguards don't let you swim 20 feet off of the beach in waist deep water. I think thy cant swim! haha! hotel staff was very nice and friendly as well as the locals at the pool bar.