Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila.

A lovely hotel, walking distance to everything

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, quiet setting, gardens, spacious comfortable rooms ,
Cons: Well like anything historic, there are always ways to bring it up to a more modern standard but you don't want to lose the historical atmosphere
Location: 1 block from Delray's main road and everything you could possibly want. Easy to walk but if walking isn't your thing Delray has a free trolley.
This is a beautiful hotel in the historic district built in 1900's very well kept. All the staff front desk, cleaning staff, yard staff, valet staff cudoos couldn't have been any more helpful! We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo very clean, very spacious, very comfortable. Nice comfy beds and nice fluffy towels. It is all set in a beautiful tropical gardens that are so beautiful and peaceful. It is very well known for its restaurant which unfortunately we were unable to try but there is always a next time. Would definitely recommend this to my friends and will definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delray beach, fl

Well kept secret

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We were forced from our home due to a termite fumigation. We are both native born Delray residents. I must admit for the price it was head and shoulders above the local competition. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Beautiful garden view and very private. It made our forced staycation better than we expected. Absolutely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Unique

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cons: A little spit and polish are due
This is truly a unique property. A couple of blocks from the bustle of Atlantic Ave. Its in a lush grove of palms and bamboo which is very unusual. The rooms are along a path winding through ponds and tropical forest. Room was good size, comfortable King bed and adequate bathroom. Very good internet. The restaurant was closed being Monday but looked interesting. easy free parking is a big plus in Del Ray as near beach or Atlantic Ave evening parking is nearly impossible in season. This is not your place if you are looking at impersonal Hilton/Mariott style accommodation. No pool or gym. We would stay again in future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beautiful and unique place. Feels tucked away yet close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cute place to spend a few nights

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The grounds, pond, restaurant.
This place is an adorable oasis within walking distance of great restaurants and nightlife. The best part about it are the grounds, which feel like something out of The Secret Garden. Worst part being that the walls between rooms are paper thin and if you have anyone loud next to you, you're going to hear it. Also, it's very close to the train, so bring ear plugs for when it blows by in the middle of the night for 10 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Make reservations for dinner should you choose strip stuff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Beautiful Romantic Botanical Garden

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Gardens and Garden view from balcony!!!!
Cons: Cleaning & a little touch ups in room & bathrooms.
Location: You have Atlantic Avenue just a block away which has everything on it. Restaurants....shops....entertainment. Beaches are not far either, about 1mile.
I have to admit more than any thing else the biggest appeal is the Sundy House's surrounding gardens. Very romantic & perfect for anniversary or wedding/honeymoon. I used this for our baby moon and my husband loved the atmosphere & overall ambiance. Only thing I will say for the room prices a little more attention to detail could have been given in rooms. Dusting high & low, and paint retouching of obvious suffs on walls and baseboards could be done. I lovedon't the room very beautiful and quaint , loved the vine painting on ceiling. But those little things I noticed & could be a distraction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sleeping surrounded by lush tropical forest

Posted Nov 27, 2016
This is a quiet retreat but within a 5 minute walk to all the action and restaurants. The rooms have comfortable beds and linens, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker and patios. Theme style rooms feel somewhat retro and can be dark but the outside gardens draw me back to staying again and again. Dinner at one of the tables located around the trees and ponds is a romantic experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Private, tropical oasis

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The hotel has a diffeernt atmosphere from large chains.It is very centrally located yet seems like it could be on a tropical island.
Cons: Better lighting is needed on the stairs. We had to check out early due to our flight. The staircase didn't have a light making it a little dangerous.
Location: You are able to walk to many restaurants and shopping places. There are many art galleries down PINEAPPLE section as well as a nearby theatre.
The hotel is a very short walk off Atlantic Avenue. The grounds are beautiful with lush tropical plantings and fresh water ponds. Other than the sounds of occasional passing trains, the room was very quiet. Our unit had a small balcony/deck equipped with a small table and two chairs. This area was screened from below with bamboo plants and was a great place to relax while reading or sipping a beverage. The hotel has a high end restaurant that seemed very popular. (we did not dine there). Tables are scattered on pathways around the main building. The tables are lighted from overhead lanterns as well as candles. It looked like a romantic setting for a special occasion. The lobby provides muffins, fruit and coffee in the morning. Our room also had a kitchenette and coffee maker. Please note that ice is readily available but one orders it from the desk as the hotel does not have an ice machine near the accommodations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical, quirky retreat with lush garden

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great get-away. The property made us feel like we were on a retreat, and I love the historical features of Sundy House. The property is lush however I felt that it was a little less kept than what I was expecting -- lights around trees weren't on, our balcony was a little dirty, but the rooms were quirky and old school Key West, and the concierge service was great. Will definitely come back. We love how close this is to Atlantic Ave where there are tons of restaurants, live music venues and bars!